We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Beehive

The Beehive
Ranked #439 of 1,808 Restaurants in Leeds
Price range: US$13 - US$32
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Beehive bar and restaurant is nestled in the picturesque village of Thorner just outside Leeds city centre and provides an outstanding dining experience in a relaxed environment away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Our menus provide something for everyone to enjoy whether it's a casual dining experience, a business lunch, a quick catch-up or a celebration with family and friends. Join us at the bar or relax in the lounge area to unwind with your choice from our extensive variety of beers, ales, spirits and fine wines. Open from noon seven days a week, we offer a la carte dining as well as a lunchtime menu, daily specials and bar snacks. We also serve a superb traditional Sunday lunch from noon right through to 8pm every Sunday. Alfresco dining is available for those who choose to dine in one of the The Beehive's stunning beer gardens.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Pleasant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

A rating between 3 (average) and 4 (very good) would probably be fairest.

The location is pleasant, the service friendly and quite efficient, the atmosphere inside lively enough when busy, the food good, if mixed, and the pricing fair.

Food arrived an hour after we did, 50 minutes after ordering (steak and burger so no huge preparation required) but the time passed OK with drinks and bread and the hubbub from other Sat evening diners. The portions were fine for us - I didn't want any more than the 8 fat chips served. The steak was tender and delicious, the peppercorn sauce had a strange taste (not of pepper); the burger was pleasant, the bun was as tasty as it was firm (it was soft - a couple of bites were enough); the coleslaw was nice.

The price of around £30 seemed fair value.

The Beehive seems to be improving, custom seems to be picking up and we would happily visit again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    76
    43
    17
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great staff & nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

The staff here are fantastic, friendly, attentive and helpful.
The menu was good, and the portions were of a good size and well priced.
Our main course took nearly an hour to arrive after the starter but it was Saturday night so i wasn't too worried, and it just gave us more drinking and chatting time ;)
The food was good, not amazing, but it was very well presented and for the money was well worth it.
In summary, a very nice little place, and very local to us so we would defiantly return.
PS the Malbec (No 17 on the wine list) is excellent :)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beaniesmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Some hits but a couple of misses”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Setting is gorgeous and if it is a nice day I would recommend sitting on the terrace which is a real sun trap. Restaurant is modern and stylish. Menu has a few old favourites (fish and chips/homemade pie) and some continental and Asian favourites (chicken satay). Menu is resonablly priced and the portions were good. Things I didn't like, we waited quite a while for our starter (chicken satay and fish pate), the salad garnish was decorated with thickened basamic vinegar and the chicken satay had fennel seeds and the peanut sauce could have been spicier, also the chips with our main courses were rather over done. That said the pies were really good (pies change daily) with a rich gravy (beware the large pie is large!). All in all I will give the restaurant another try as it was late lunch (2pm) on a Monday.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PojeManx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good food, great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We have been here a couple of times and have never been disappointed, we have been as a a family, as a big family group and as a business meeting with colleagues. The food is really good with the usual favourites but definitely a step up from the average pub grub establishment, the portions are generous and the food always taste fresh. The staff are always brilliant, we have a 1 yr old and they are always excellent with her and nothing is too much trouble.
I would definitely recommend this whatever the occasion it's a great restaurant to have on our doorstep

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris108Knave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Buzzing and fizzing with a multicplicity of excellencies”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

I can think a few bee-related things that I ain't too keen on: Bee Movie, for exampel, in my view was not the best film ever made. But this place, the Beehive in deliciously greeny and oh-so rural Thorner, the cutest of villages, strung out along a two-mile windy roadlette, ..... was great. I mean it.

So: generous portions at a very reasonable price are served up in a very well appointed, stylish and comfortable indoor or outdoor environment, by a team, of young, extremely well presented and efficient, not to mention, bright, ethusiastic and altogether perky team. Chatty, friendly and yet also bang on the nose service wise, they impressed even this hardball reviewer.

Food quality: superb. Lamb and pork were enjoyed followed by a creme brulee. This with two drinks came to under £40! Very reasonable.

Parking is easy, views tremedous, choice fo drinks wide. Need I say more - get there. And Bee Happy!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveBoyWonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Beehive also viewed

Tadcaster, Selby District
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
Wetherby, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Beehive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing