We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, couldn't be faulted”
Review of Quebecs

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quebecs
Ranked #8 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Dorset, UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, couldn't be faulted”
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We went here for a mid week mini-break and we were not disappointed. We were able to park the car in the hotel carpark and it stayed there until we left as the hotel was perfectly placed for everything (city centre and train station).
We were booked in an hour early and we had a room just off the reception. We had no problems with noise and the room was very clean, well decorated and nice and cool (due to the air conditioning). The bed was so comfortable and the shower was lovely.
The food was excellent on both days but we preferred the breakfast on the first day (when the conservatory restaurant was quieter) as the food was better (eggs were cooked perfectly).
The amount of breakfast on offer was just right too.
The service we received from the reception staff was very helpful and they were very friendly but stayed professional. We would not only stay here again but recommended to anyone who wants a lovely independent hotel in a great location.

Room Tip: We stayed in the club room (the smaller of the rooms available and found it to be a lovely size for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    560
    343
    115
    44
    29
See reviews for
93
584
57
182
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

This was our 3rd stay at the Quebecs in Leeds and yet again we haven't been disappointed. The hotel isn't the cheapest in town but if you want to treat yourself then this is the place to stay. It's right in the city centre, 1 minute walk from the train station and a 3 minute walk from the shops. The building is beautiful and the decor inside is traditional and elegant. The rooms don't disappoint either. We always stayed in a deluxe room and they are nicely decorated with classic English traditional style without looking dated which I personally prefer over modern decor. Some people on Tripadvisor have complained that the furniture is a bit run down and I guess to some extent it can be true but I think it just fits with the old English theme and gives its charm to the room.
The beds are pure bliss! Very comfortable with a mattress topper that makes you feel like you sleep on a cloud. The only downside I thought was the air conditioning which is not working extremely well so it's hard to get the room to the ideal temperature. I hope the hotel will change that in the future. Also it's a quiet hotel inside but you can have a bit of road noise from the street, which I personally don’t mind. We haven't tried the breakfast so I can't comment about the food. There's an honesty bar on the 1st floor where you simply serve yourself and write down what you drink which is quite original. The service is on average good to very good. For my birthday my husband asked the hotel to have a bouquet put in our room before our arrival. When we arrived, a beautiful bouquet was waiting there. You can also arrange to have rose petals on the bed, chocolates, champagne… This hotel is a perfect setting for a romantic getaway! And we will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: I would avoid the cheapest rooms if you can as some are next to the elevator or the reception and ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ti_boo34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

I've always wanted to stay at Quebecs, and we booked it last Friday (very last minute) as a pay day treat (we live in Leeds!). I booked an executive room.

Check in was friendly and efficient - it does have the feel of an individual boutique hotel rather than a chain, and on entering the room we were very pleased - very spacious and we felt as though we got what we paid for. The bed was very comfortable and we had a very lazy Saturday morning which was just what the doctor ordered. We took full advantage of the lovely bathroom and toiletries, bathrobes and slippers.

Our room was street facing, but we weren't disturbed by noise (probably helped by us keeping the aircon on all night to drown out the noise).

We didn't have breakfast - I thought that it was expensive - but just typical hotel prices.

I would definitely stay at Quebecs again for a treat, and would recommend the extra £20 or so to upgrade rooms. The location is perfect, very central Leeds but away from all of the bars so no disturbance from noisy people at 4am!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JollyHollidayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Stayed one night on a business trip - very close to train station which was ideal - reception professional and courteous - room was excellent - didn't eat here so no comment - boutique feel to this place which gives it a great ambiance

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gert n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Booked this last minute to enjoy an evening out without having to drive home afterwards. Phoned the hotel directly who undercut website prices and gave me an upgrade to an executive room on arrival. Boutique but spacious, clean and an incredibly comfortable bed, the reception staff couldn't be more helpful. Good value for a city centre hotel. No restaurant in the hotel, but it's in the centre of Leeds! Very limited parking on site but Park Place, 50m up the road, has free on street parking overnight and you can buy a ticket the evening before if you want a lie in the following morning. I will definitely use this hotel again for overnight stops in Leeds.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DocJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
2,097 reviews
192 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3,818 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Got a cheap deal on website,so thought I'd give it a try as very central Leeds location.
First issue is that there is no hotel car parking & so a major trek from car, made worse by the British weather!! Torrential down pour in July!!
Our welcome was ok, but then we were lead to our room, literally a door just off reception on the ground floor. The room was well appointed as you would expect, but wow it was noisy! With the reception noise & traffic from the main road outside, it was not a good experience.
Actually left before breakfast to head home to bed. Won't be staying here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Leedsaway67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012 via mobile

The room was very nice, lovely bed linen and fairly clean! There was some cob webs on the ceiling and both lamps by the bedside could have been dusted a bit more carefully. The outside noise was quite loud with the constant sound of breaking glass - unlike Blondie I am not particularly fond of the sound! The morning quiet was broken by the sound of the clean laundry wagon being unloaded. The evening meal was fish and chips; there was no tartare sauce accompaniment and the fish was really overcooked. The only saving grace was the chips which were very chunky, however you only got a few of those but they were stacked beautifully! The cheeseboard was disappointing as the cheese was quite waxy and uninspiring. The biscuits however were very fresh and the grapes were lovely.

Breakfast was very expensive and the continental was the chosen option. On requesting for the granola to be replenished was told there was no more! This was at 9.45 - start was 9.00 - so those who chose to have a real lie in probably would have had to make do with toast and coffee.

Having said all of the above, the staff were very friendly and I am sure that if I had mentioned that the hairdryer had blown a fuse earlier they would have replaced it.

On the whole, a nice hotel, but do not eat in - there is no restaurant facility and it is served in your room (food smells linger) and if you do, don't expect large portions and be prepared to balance the wooden chopping board plate! on your lap while sitting on the edge of the bed.

It could do with an iPod doc as well.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tillydog72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
The Queens - Leeds
#11 of 87 in Leeds
3,218 reviews
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Leeds
Dakota Deluxe Leeds
#1 of 87 in Leeds
150 reviews
Malmaison Hotel
#15 of 87 in Leeds
1,355 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quebecs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quebecs

Property: Quebecs
Address: 9 Quebec Street, Leeds LS1 2HA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
#5 Business Hotel in Leeds
#12 Family Hotel in Leeds
#13 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Quebecs 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quebecs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quebecs Hotel Leeds
Quebecs Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing