We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night of luxury”
Review of Quebecs

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quebecs
Ranked #8 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Crosby
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One night of luxury”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

I chose this hotel to stay in for one night for my husbands birthday as a special treat to get a way from the kids! We felt thoroughly spoilt from the moment we arrived. After trudging through all the various chain hotels in Leeds on the Internet I chose this one and I'm so glad I did. The rooms are spacious with high ceilings and really tasteful quality furnishings. The bathroom was again spacious with an amazing high pressure shower and large bath. The location is spot on as it was not at all noisy yet you could walk there from the station, walk into town and it was very close to a couple of lovely restaurants (blackhouse on the square) did the most amazing steak frites I've ever had. The barman - Dave- deserves a mention for being so friendly and attentive. I don't think I've ever heard an employee gush so much about where they work! He'd worked in. Few hotels and could eloquently explain what made the difference at quebecs - that all the owner wanted was for the customer to be happy- such a simple thing but many hotels forget this bit. The breakfast was delicious- try the eggs benedict. The only thing I would have liked was a digital radio in the room so I could have found the radio stations I liked- had trouble tuning in the CD player.

Loved it. Will be back.

Room Tip: Executive rooms are worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bebeCrosby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    560
    343
    115
    44
    29
See reviews for
93
584
57
182
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

Great room service building and in the city centre fantastic don't waste your money on the chain hotels this is fantastic. The building is an ex liberal club and it is classy privately owned hotels used to be like this !

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickAWebster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Nice hotel but the welcome could be better. We arrived just after 2pm following a two hour plus journey from London. After arriving at the hotel with large cases and staggering up the stairs we were met with one of the most unpleasant greetings ever. The woman at reception gruffly told us to not bring our bags any further and to leave them there; she went on to say check in is after 3pm. We had no problem about the 3pm check in but the service manner was most unpleasant. There was no hello; no welcome to Leeds; no welcome to Quebecs etc. It was very disappointing. Later, once in our room we can confirm that the executive room is spacious, well appointed and clean. The room included wifi, which worked well. I notice some other comments about the additional pre stay deposit. This was the case with us as well – unlike many hotels they seem to charge the full (three nights) room rate plus an additional 100 pounds on check in. Maybe this is an English thing but we were a bit surprised by this. Overall this was a good stay with a quality room and efficient breakfast service. Our deluxe room (402) is recommended. Some staff (breakfast and bar) were really helpful. Overall good hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BSGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Stayed this weekend for one night to celebrate our 2nd wedding anniversary! upon hearing it was a special occasion the staff upgraded us to a beautiful room on the 2nd floor! The hotel is in a stunning building and our room perfectly complimented the style, huge bed and lovely spacious bathroom! The hotel is perfectly located to walk to all the major attractions in the city! we would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emilyboo30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Quebecs is a beautiful hotel in the centre of Leeds. We stayed for one night but, despite the positives would not go again. Our room was a fifth floor one which essentially was too small to be a hotel room. Nowhere to sit; no bedside table on one side and the bathroom was so small we could not stand up straight to clean teeth and using the toilet meant banging your knee on the towel rail! We were just staying after work for the theatre and didn't complain as we were rarely in the room. However we were going to report this when we checked out but the receptionist was swift and uninterested in us. When we returned we emailed, rather than put a negative review on TA but didn't get a reply - so here's the review. Do not stay on floor 5, particularly if you are over 5 ft 8!

Room Tip: Refuse floor 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faulkners_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John W, Manager at Quebecs, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear Faulkners_10,

Thank you for your review, I am very sorry to read that you were disappointed with the size and shape of your bedroom, a small number of our Club rooms on the 5th floor are indeed a quirky shape which does appeal to many of our guests, please accept my sincere apologies for the discomfort this caused.

I personally receive all emails sent to the hotel and have now searched throughout all mail folders including deleted items but unfortunately am unable to locate your message, we very rarely receive negative feedback via email and I can assure you this would have been taken very seriously and dealt within a timely manner.

With the hotel being an old listed building all our rooms differ in size and shape, I am confident we do have the perfect room for you, please contact me directly for your future reservations and I will ensure that you are very well taken care of. johnweatherhead@quebecshotel.co.uk 0113 2448989.

Kind regards

John Weatherhead
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2013

First class all round:
Very kind and quietly attentive staff could not be better and there is nothing they will not
do or provide for you quickly and with a smile. They even helped us to the station;

Location ideal;

Facilities great;

Breakfast and bar meals etc.excellent;

Building beautiful;

The only place to stay in Leeds in future as Quebecs
could not be surpassed for us.
Go book it!

Room Tip: Ask Caroline when booking as her advice and information about the rooms is genuine and accurate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J0R03LL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John W, Manager at Quebecs, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear J0R03LL,

Thank you so much for your kind comments, it was great to read you were looked after so well by our staff and that you had such an enjoyable stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

John Weatherhead
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We stayed 3 nights in this hotel & woken up early each morning with a lot of noise both inside the hotel & out at 6.30am! No bathrobes or slippers as said we would get & the tv remote didn't work. We told reception but nothing was done to sort it. The minibar was unplugged as the extension it was plugged in was broken & had leaked water. The in room coffee wasn't replenished which would have been nice with us staying for a few nights & that we couldn't keep anything cool with the fridge out of action. Good city centre location but overall very disappointed especially when this was part of a celebration weekend for us & the hotel let it down. We'd expected so much more from the reviews but I wouldn't recommend or stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John W, Manager at Quebecs, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear worldytravel,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor.

I was very sorry to read of the issues you suffered in your room and that these were not rectified during your stay, please accept my sincere apologies for this.

Unfortunately I am not able to gather any further information regarding details of your stay here on TripAdvisor, I would very much like to investigate this further, I would be most grateful if you could find the time to contact me directly, johnweatherhead@quebecshotel.co.uk 0113 2448989.

Kind Regards

John Weatherhead
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
The Queens - Leeds
#11 of 87 in Leeds
3,218 reviews
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Leeds
Dakota Deluxe Leeds
#1 of 87 in Leeds
149 reviews
Malmaison Hotel
#15 of 87 in Leeds
1,355 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quebecs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quebecs

Property: Quebecs
Address: 9 Quebec Street, Leeds LS1 2HA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Leeds
#5 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
#12 Family Hotel in Leeds
#13 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Quebecs 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quebecs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quebecs Hotel Leeds
Quebecs Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing