We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good at times but mainly frustrating!”
Review of Quebecs

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quebecs
Ranked #8 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good at times but mainly frustrating!”
Reviewed 5 October 2010

We booked a room here for a quick escape and some shopping in Leeds. Generally a good first impression with an impresive building in a good location for city centre. Parking...... basically parking is very limited so go by train.

Our room was nice, big bright window and very acceptable. Breakfast ok but the feeling is they are trying to save money on the provision as its fairly basic and very much a side line for profit. Staff are very mixed and some where excellent others bored or disinterested... House keeping was a real mixed bag and on one day we where not really sure if the room had been touched.

All in all an expensive place that does not really warrent the price.... some little things would make this Hotel soooo much better.

Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterCMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnweatherhead, Manager at Quebecs, responded to this review, 7 October 2010
Thank you very much for your review, here at Quebecs we value our customers feedback both good and bad.

With regards to your comments concerning the quality of our Breakfast produce, we have, since your stay reviewed and changed any items we considered below standard. I have also looked into the other points you raised and will action appropriately. We hope to welcome you back to Quebecs in the future.

Many thanks
John Weatherhead
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,095 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    564
    343
    115
    44
    29
See reviews for
93
587
58
182
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tring, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2010

Staying in the hotel for a birthday treat. Great location, comfy bed and really friendly staff who took the time out to show us the sites to see on a map.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willen123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnweatherhead, Manager at Quebecs, responded to this review, 4 October 2010
Thank you for your review, excellent customer service is something we strive to deliver to all our guests, I will pass on your comments to my team, thank you. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards
John Weatherhead
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2010

This was supposed to be a treat for my wife after a difficult few months, and turned out to be a continuation of them.. There is some good stuff here, and lets start with that :- Former Liberal Club, so coviered in 19th Century arts and crafts features, oak pannelling, stained glass, curved stiarcaes, and a beautiful breakfast room looking out over the city... but a hotel, like any of us! cannot rely on good looks alone.

Our room - a club - was miniscule, not big enough for two adults, with no surfaces or chairs on which to put bags, clothes and so forth. Teamaking facilities balanced worryingly atop the wardrobe. The window frame rotten, with a window sill covered in pigeon faeces. We wondered why the curtains were drawn at 3pm, so this was why..

The water got turned off with no warning for the whole hotel, no notice, no apology so we went out unwashed, returning later that evening, my wife turned back on the taps and was met with a gush of hot water all over her dress.

The night porter brought a filthy mop bucket to our room, covering the fllor in bits of dirt, and came back up alter to make a bothced attempt to clean the mess he had made.

The bed was too soft, and pillows offered no support for the neck, we were told we should have had a hypoallergenic pillow, but there werent any remaining, eventually they put cushions into a pillow case.

Breakfast the following day was dreadful, with disgusting sausages. We complained about all of this at reception and got a £10 discount.. well thanks for that, and were promised a call from the manager - still waiting for this... we wrote to them too and have had no response. Be warned.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Balding_Bon_Viveur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2010

The hotel had style and was very pleasant to stay in. The only shortcoming was that there was no wireless Internet and the cable was defect. Otherwise the staff was very helpful and friendly. The hotel has a distinctive old world charme. The salon was particularly pleasant and a nice place to sipp a glass over a good book.
The location is convenient for transportation but otherwise uninspiring. There are a few rather expensive restaurants nearby - some good options.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uniterra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2010

A last minute one night mid-week break led us to Quebecs .....A former Victorian Liberal Club in the heart of Leeds, circa 1890's. It has some magnificent features and is an impressive building in it's own right. This hotel was opened in 2002 and in 2003 was voted one of the top 80 hotels in the world by Conde Nast Traveler. Seven years on and I'd be surprised if not shocked that such an accolade were bestowed on them now. A pleasant welcome from the reception, however the first comment was "We are encouraging our guests to book direct , had you have done this you would have had breakfast included in the same rate". Just what you want here as you check in....how stupid you've been. The thought....Should we cancel with the agent , then ring you direct from the lobby crossed my mind briefly ?
The Hotel has limited parking I found out the following day having parked in the nearby Q Park,at £14 a day. I suppose I should have checked, but as this was last minute I did not have chance. My point is, we were not asked how we got there ? Did we have a car ? We have parking here. Lack of signage meant we had an exhilarating walk around the majority of the hotel before we found our room. An Executive Room which was large and tastefully decorated, with three tall windows offering a view of the side street and bins. Original features such as Victorian electrics and plumbing still prevail here, sometimes the lights worked and othertimes they refused with several just not bothering. The water in the large bathroom seemed heavily chlorinated, turning my wife's hair highlights a nice tint of green she discovered when we got home, look's quite fetching in a punk sort of way. Clean crisp Egyptian cotton sheets were tainted by an extremely soft bed , which felt like I was sleeping in a bowl of porridge. Nice if that's your thing, personally not me. All the other things you'd expect in an establishment of this calibre , Safe, Iron, LCD TV, Mini Bar ,Good Tea selection, etc. etc
We checked out, having not had breakfast ....Not wishing to compound our stupidity further. A 10 minute walk to the Q Park by the Station and drove to The Engine House Cafe in Foundry Square a couple of minutes away for a magnificent full english.
This was a nice centrally located hotel and for what it's worth,my advice ...Arrive early to park, get a deal by booking direct , bring your own matress & don't wash your hair and you'll be fine.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theskellys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
county durham
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2010

One overnight mid week stay at Quebecs. Picked it last minute as did not like the price popping up at preferred choice.

Hotel is well located near to train station and shops. It is down a side street and therefore was not subject to lots of noise.

On arrival receptionist was fairly friendly and check in was fast although limited information was given despite this being our first stay. We were in an executive room and it was a lovely big room, big comfy bed and big bathroom with very strong power shower. We did have to call reception for extra towels but this was quickly resolved.

Could not work air con or access safe so gave up. One set of sockets were not working.

There is no bar, wlthough there is an honesty bar on floor 3? Did go into this late in the eveving but all the cupboards were locked so could not understand what this was or how it worked and there were no instructions. We did feel this hotel is very much lacking something because there is no proper bar area.

Cooked breakfast is served at table and was good value. It was good to see fried bread on the menu but sauce is only available on request and waiter was surprised when we asked. Continental options were limited and below par.

Staffing appears very limited. reception is staffed but apart from the breakfast waiter we saw no one else.

the hotel describes itself as boutique. Well it certainly had a few extras and had a certain charm but lost out in that it lacked a bit of soul. We would stay here again but only if our preffered choice isn't coming out at a good price.

We would recommend this hotel if you like to stay in your room

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank truhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudersfield, West Yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2010

Booked day before arrival having been told they had just 2 deluxe rooms available and price would be £120 per room, no problem we booked it. Arrived Saturday afternoon to find both rooms were extremely small, dark and dingy and right next to lift on 2/3rd floor respectively also they were fitted out for disabled so lots of rails and alarm buttons etc, not befitting a romantic weekend away. Complained straight away that rooms were completely unacceptable but duty manager refused to refund our payment but offered to charge us £70 for each room. We had no option but to pay as they had our card detailsand duly left to seek rooms elsewhere. Manager also admitted these were always the last 2 rooms to be let and that they had had several complaints about them before, how incredible then that they still insisted on charging us £70 for each room. Eventually stayed at City Inn - club rooms slightly more than Quebecs but miles better and service excellent. Quebecs is NOT a deluxe Hotel far from it.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joethemanleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Leeds
Dakota Deluxe Leeds
#1 of 87 in Leeds
192 reviews
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Queens - Leeds
#11 of 87 in Leeds
3,253 reviews
Malmaison Hotel
#13 of 87 in Leeds
1,375 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
#10 of 87 in Leeds
1,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quebecs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quebecs

Property: Quebecs
Address: 9 Quebec Street, Leeds LS1 2HA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Leeds
#5 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
#12 Family Hotel in Leeds
#13 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Quebecs 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quebecs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quebecs Hotel Leeds
Quebecs Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing