We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location. lovely hotel”
Review of 42 The Calls

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
42 The Calls
Ranked #43 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
leeds
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great location. lovely hotel”
Reviewed 19 June 2011

we really enjoyed our stay. the room was lovely and well presented. the location was great and the service was faultless.
there were only two things that could be improved-air conditioning the room got a little hot so had to open the window, which meant was a little noisey., Occasionally you could hear upstairs walking around.
this would not put us off staying again. had a lovely time!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucykath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBradshaw, Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this review, 14 July 2011
Thank you for all your comments and I am delighted you had a lovely time.

Unfortunately we do not have air-conditioning, however, when you next stay with us, please let me know and I will arrange for a fan to be placed in your room.

Kindest regards

Helen Bradshaw
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    260
    144
    66
    23
See reviews for
52
438
42
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

A friendly welcome awaits. Nice rooms, although slightly tired on places - comfortable bed, homemade shortbread, selection of teas... all good. The instructions on how to use the kettle and accessories were a bit odd, and strangely, given the nature if the task, completely wrong!

Breakfast was superb.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank busman77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBradshaw, Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this review, 14 July 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay with us and your wonderful comments regarding breakfast.

I will of course ensure that the tea/coffee instructions in your room are corrected and would like to thank you for brining this to our attention.

Kindest regards

Helen Bradshaw
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, UK
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2011

Decent hotel, could do with a revamp especially the bathroom which looked tired. lovely spread at breakfast!!! Very good range of choice and well cooked breakfast with lovely array of sausages. Only fault was that the tables had not been cleaned and the staff were slow, I had to ask for several things to be refilled, water, orange juice, cutlery. It was not busy enough for these details to have been overlooked. Could do with more conscientious staff.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielleNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBradshaw, Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this review, 14 July 2011
Thank you for your review of your stay at the hotel.

I am pleased that you thought there was a good range of choice at breakfast and that your breakfast was well cooked.

I was concerned to read that tables had not been cleared and that you had to ask for items to be refilled, I can assure you that this is not standard practice and the staff have been made aware of your comments.

We do hope to have a refurbishment in the future, in the meantime if you are planning a visit to Leeds again, do contact me directly to make your reservation.


Kindest regards

Helen Bradshaw
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 May 2011

Wonderful hotel in a perfect location. I received a personal recommendation to try this hotel a few years ago, and only recently had the opportunity... I wish I had made the visit sooner.
Bliss, there is simply no other word for it!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmsLeeds_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBradshaw, Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this review, 14 July 2011
Thank you for your very complimentary comments.

I am pleased that you finally had the opportunity to stay with us and that it was bliss for you.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.


Kindest regards

Helen Bradshaw
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2011

This was a very nice hotel, i can not fully put my finger on why, but it just had that "nice feel". On check in we were given a complimentary glass of wine which is a nice touch. The room was spacious and comfortable. We faced the road at the front of the hotel, and yes it was a little noisy around 2-3am as people went home, but it was not as bad as some hotels in city centres. The bathrooms are very big and have both bath and shower. One tip is to take some bottled water. The water in the hotel is from a tank rather than the mains so they suggest it is not for drinking. They do give you a complimentary bottle, however it is not enough to last 2 for the night. Not a critisism though - just a tip.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhoebeHuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBradshaw, Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this review, 14 July 2011
Thank you for posting your review, it is very much appreciated.

I am pleased that you found the hotel has a "nice feel"; we always like to make everybody feel as welcome and as comfortable as possible.

We are in the city centre; therefore, sometimes there can be some noise outside the hotel from passers by.

Some of our guests have commented that they find the river side rooms quieter, so I would suggest that on your next stay, you request for a room overlooking the river and we will do our up most to allocate one for you.

If you ever run out of the complimentary water or require more than one bottle, please let the reception team know and we will replenish for you.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kindest regards

Helen Bradshaw
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincolnshire, England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2011

Great Room, really comfy bed. Lovely frog soaps :), bathrobes provided. Lovely views from hotel window. Fab breakfast.

Everything and more that you would expect from a trendy boutique hotel.

Honesty bar for drinks late at night.

Really enjoyed stay and will return when we stop over in Leeds again.

Room Tip: I would think they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maltababy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBradshaw, Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this review, 14 July 2011
Thank you for your complimentary comments.

I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and will return when you’re next in Leeds.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kindest regards

Helen Bradshaw
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2011

42 The Calls is an excellent boutique hotel in a great location in Leeds City Centre. The hotel is on The Calls, next to the River Aire. It is around the corner from Leeds best bars on Call Lane and around a 10 minute walk into the city centre.

Although it isn't cheap, our room with breakfast cost £140, you get what you are paying for. The room was huge, with fantastic original features such as the wooden window shutters and a great 'shabby chic' style. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom very large. We purposely booked a more expensive hotel for our visit and I was not let down by the room or the service. The front desk were friendly and helpful.

If you are looking for something a little special for your trip to Leeds and you don't mind paying a bit more then 42 The Calls is well worth the extra!

Room Tip: Ask for a river view when booking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBradshaw, Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this review, 14 July 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us.

We are very fortunate to have such fantastic, original, features from the hotels origin as a working Corn Mill and I am glad you were able to appreciate these.

I have ensured that your comments have been passed to the team, who I know will be most appreciative of your very positive comments.

Kindest regards

Helen Bradshaw
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Quebecs
#8 of 87 in Leeds
1,077 reviews
The New Ellington
#16 of 87 in Leeds
794 reviews
Malmaison Hotel
#15 of 87 in Leeds
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds City Centre
Cosmopolitan Hotel
Cosmopolitan Hotel
#21 of 87 in Leeds
1,403 reviews
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 42 The Calls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 42 The Calls

Property: 42 The Calls
Address: 42 The Calls, Leeds LS2 7EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Leeds
#18 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
#22 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — 42 The Calls 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 1991 a riverside corn mill in Leeds was converted into a refreshingly different designer hotel with exceptional service and modern English interiors. With just 41 bedrooms and suites, 42 The Calls is a unique and exceptional establishment. Handmade beds with luxury cotton linen, carefully selected paintings and drawings and friendly touches such as homemade shortbread and fudge make these spaces havens of relaxation combined with up to the minute technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your 42 The Calls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
42 The Calls Leeds
42 The Calls Hotel Leeds
42 Calls
42 Call Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing