We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Calls Review”
Review of 42 The Calls

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
42 The Calls
Ranked #45 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Reviewed 23 November 2011

We stayed here for two nights in the summer 2011. The hotel oozed quality from the very start, with a warm friendly greeting and a glass of wine. The room was faultless, clean, well proportioned, well specced and nice exposed beams giving it that feel of character. Our 9 month old baby was well catered for too. Room overlooked the river, which proved picturesque. On top of all this I felt it was a very good price too.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking river look great - can get some noise from the bars over the other side though
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovestocycle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MissHelenBradshaw, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay.

It is very rewarding for all the staff to read that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay at 42 The Calls this summer.

We all hope to see you and your family again in the future.

Kind regards

Helen Bradshaw
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (865)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

668 - 674 of 866 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2011

A fab hotel, lovely sized deluxe double room with little added extras such as complimentary wine on arrival and very yummy shortbread in the room.... Lovely big bathroom and a really comfortable bed for a great nights sleep!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJRiches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MissHelenBradshaw, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2012

Thank you for your review.

I am thrilled that you think 42 The Calls is a fab hotel and that you enjoy our little added extras.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.

Kind Regards

Helen Bradshaw
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

This stay was an awesome experience. Loved the interior, the service and the little touches like the yummy shortbreads by Nigel and the daily boxes of smarties. Great location, loved the stay. Will be back.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DABACAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MissHelenBradshaw, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2012

We value all feedback, so thank you for taking the time to post your review.

It is great to hear that you had an awesome experience staying at the hotel and our chef Nigel is especially happy that you enjoyed his homemade shortbread.

We look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards

Helen Bradshaw
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

firstly, I find it really silly that other people have been negative about the noise, the hotel is in the city centre and I am 100% sure you were aware of this when booking! I can say its not noisy at all, just the slight buzz of people enjoying themselves in a cosmopolitan city (I know, how dare they). In the mornings its very peaceful to look out onto the canal.
Its a beautiful hotel, we stayed here on the 18th/19th of November, this is our third visit and we can't fault it. Booked two double rooms and both were lovely. In fact the rooms are stunning, when booking we always ask for the canal side and every time we have been put in one. The rooms are clean and have a great extras like bottled water, hairdryer, ironing facilities etc. Fluffy bathrobes are awesome and bed is outrageously comfy! service fab, very friendly and wine on arrival...perfect get away.

Room Tip: request the canal side if you can, and room 104 and 204 are beautiful, the views are just stunning l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bumblebee03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MissHelenBradshaw, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2012

Thank you taking the time to write a review of your stay.

It is lovely to read that on your third visit, you still find the hotel to be that perfect get away and enjoyed every aspect of your stay.

The team and I very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards

Helen Bradshaw
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

We've stayed at 42 The Calls a number of times due to it's central Leeds location. The rooms are reasonably priced and very comfortable with good bathrooms. They offer a free glass of wine when you check in and an honesty bar for evening drinks.

Breakfast is good with a particularly large selection of sausages. Service can be a little slow so leave yourself lots of time to enjoy it.

The only downside is due to it's location the hotel does suffer from late night noise when the clubs close. The rooms can also be very hot. Our way of dealing with this is to turn off all radiators and open the windows as soon as we enter the room, when we go to bed we then close the windows firmly to cut out most of the noise. In this way we sleep very well.

Room Tip: Room 101 is a very reasonably priced suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lagomaggiore2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MissHelenBradshaw, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2012

Thank you for your review.

I am pleased that you find the bedrooms reasonably priced and comfortable.

I was concerned to read your comments regarding the service at breakfast; I have of course spoken to the staff regarding this and please accept my apologies for this lapse in service.

As you have stated, you can turn off the radiators in the rooms with the fitted thermostat and if you would like to inform us of your next visit I can have all the radiators turned off completely in your room for your arrival.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards

Helen Bradshaw
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

on arrival we were checked in quickly and offered a glass of wine to take up to our rooms good start. our room was on the second floor with a window looking out onto the canal all the old features of the mill were still in the rooms giving the rooms a up market industrial look our room had everything you would need for a short city break COMFY BED , as it was sunday we had a lay in and went down for breakfast at 1015 (breakfast served until 11am on sunday)there was a good choice for breakfast including a selection of locally sourced sausages the only let down was the the service we had to ask for coffee after ten mins then again we had to wait for another ten mins to order breakfast i then asked for two full breakfasts one arrived and mine was given to someone else i was told they were sorry but they had no more of the sausages i had asked for i was let down by the service in the breakfast room but not by the breakfast when it arrived would still stay here again as the hotel and service apart from this was very good

Room Tip: get a room away from the bridge at the jurys inn end of the hotel as we were told they were noisy th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BradfordKronka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MissHelenBradshaw, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am glad you were able to appreciate the historical features of the building and you feel we are a great city hotel.

I was concerned to read about the service you received at breakfast and that the sausage you had ordered was out of stock.

We did have a new member of staff in the breakfast room that morning and I have of course ensured further training has been given.

The team and I very much look forward to your return visit.

Kind Regards

Helen Bradshaw
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

This place is always exciting for its quirky design and attention to detail. Be warned that they no longer have frog soaps - I nearly cancelled our booking on hearing this, but one look out of our window at the peaceful inner city scene of the canal and the delightfully restored buildings won me over.
Breakfasts are fabulous.

Room Tip: Directors' rooms are sometimes discounted and are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MimiYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MissHelenBradshaw, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2012

Thank you for your review.

It was wonderful to read that you always find the hotel exciting, appreciate the location and found breakfast, fabulous.

We are trying to resource the supply of the frog soaps and do hope to have them back soon.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards

Helen Bradshaw
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Quebecs
#7 of 87 in Leeds
1,143 reviews
Roomzzz Leeds City
#4 of 87 in Leeds
540 reviews
Malmaison Hotel
#17 of 87 in Leeds
1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
Jurys Inn Leeds
#20 of 87 in Leeds
2,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 42 The Calls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 42 The Calls

Address: 42 The Calls, Leeds LS2 7EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Leeds
#18 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
#23 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range: £62 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 42 The Calls 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 1991 a riverside corn mill in Leeds was converted into a refreshingly different designer hotel with exceptional service and modern English interiors. With just 41 bedrooms and suites, 42 The Calls is a unique and exceptional establishment. Handmade beds with luxury cotton linen, carefully selected paintings and drawings and friendly touches such as homemade shortbread and fudge make these spaces havens of relaxation combined with up to the minute technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your 42 The Calls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
42 The Calls Leeds
42 The Calls Hotel Leeds
42 Calls
42 Call Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing