We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic location a great place to stay with a dumb waiter in every room”
Review of 42 The Calls

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
42 The Calls
Ranked #40 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
kings lynn
Level Contributor
112 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“fantastic location a great place to stay with a dumb waiter in every room”
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Situated on the canal it has a fantastic location that is close to great night life, restaurants, retro and designer shops.
It is a little shabby chic and in need of a little money spending on it but the overall impression is still really good. Honesty bar, great rooms and bathrooms, a dumb waiter so as not to disturb you when they drop your paper or room service off and the best shortbread biscuits ever made by Nigel.

Parking on road and metered so best to do long stay multistory £15 a day.

Fantastic restaurant next door part of hotel. Good room service too.

Highly recommend

Room Tip: canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Legallez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MissHelenBradshaw, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this review, 14 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

Your comments are much appreciated, I am glad you 42 The Calls, a great place to stay.

Kind regards

Helen Bradshaw
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    257
    143
    66
    22
See reviews for
51
433
42
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Welcomed by friendly and efficient staff. As the building is a converted warehouse not surprised to find a room with beams and a window converted from a loading door. Room was full of character and spotlessly clean. Nice touches like freshly baked biscuits with the tea making equipment. Dinner taken in the adjoining restaurant was excellent and good value. Only small let down was a problem with my breakfast but then it was taken off of the bill. They couldn’t have done any more! When back in Leeds will be returning.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this review, 1 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We are very lucky to work in such a beautifully converted building that offers our guests something different and is a popular talking point for our guests.

I am sorry there was an error with your breakfast, but it seems this was all taken care of efficiently by our team when you brought this to their attention.

We all look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards

Helen Bradshaw
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Ive been coming to 42 The Calls for a number of years & really love the place Indeed I usually come to Leeds for work & yet the hotel always seems to melt all stress away The staff are fantastic Judging by my occasional stays at other hotels in the area, I can only suggest 42 The Calla either have some extraordinary effective Training programme or a mold in the basement producing these wonderful staff During my most recent stay in early June 2012 I arranged a small college weekend reunion there with 4 other couples All reported how lovely the hotel is and how special the staff
The breakfast is superb and has been for the years I have going there I will back in Sept My advice is if in Leeds stay at 42 The Calls

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this review, 1 July 2012
Thank you for your 5/5 rating of 42 The Calls.

It was lovely to read that you come back time and time again as you love the hotel and the team.

We have a wonderful team at the hotel, who care and take a genuine interest in all of our guests, I am very proud of them all and I will ensure your kind comments are passed on.

The team and I look forward to your next visit in September, if not before.

Kind regards

Helen Bradshaw
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

This is a fantastic hotel, the rooms are beautiful, classically and simply decorated. Service and breakfasts are great. I would go back based on these points and the excellent location, five minutes walk to the city centre shops and sandwiched between top notch restaurants.
However, the only bad thing was the proximity to a nightclub which drunken revellers exit between the hours of 12 and 4am.

Room Tip: Always ask for a room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NM777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this review, 1 July 2012
Thank you for your review of your stay in April.

It was lovely to read that you have rated us for an excellent location and as a fantastic hotel.

The team and I very much look forward to you visiting us again soon.

Kind regards

Helen Bradshaw
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We booked with friends for one night as we were in Leeds for a concert.

The staff were friendly and helpful, liked the quirkiness and charm which sets this hotel apart from some of the generic chain hotels that I have stayed in many times.

Decor stylish and the beds comfy and linen of high quality. Breakfast great choice and lovely view worth taking your time over.

Parking was a little tricky, traffic wardens very vigilant need to be down before 8 am or feed the meter the night before.

Overall would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this review, 1 July 2012
Thank you for posting your review.

I am glad that you and your friends enjoyed a relaxing stay at 42 The Calls, whilst attending a concert.

The team and I would love to welcome you to the hotel again in the future.

Kind regards

Helen Bradshaw
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We had high expectations before staying at 42 The Calls and first impressions as we walked into reception were favourable. The Receptionist was friendly and efficient and we were both offered a complimentary glass of wine or juice. The same Receptionist was also really helpful when we asked for directions to the restaurant we were going to dine that evening.

On entering our room we were impressed with the layout, size and the old working of a hoist in the beams above our head. The view from our deluxe suite over the River Aire towards Brewery Wharf was very pleasant. But on closer inspection, the room was far from clean. The carpet which was well worn and dirty had not been hoovered that day as we had to pick up a plastic tag and a chocolate sweet off the floor. The bed although large was covered with a mattress topper and the mattress underneath was not at all clean. The bed was also very saggy and not at all comfortable. However the sheets, duvet and (plump) pillows were all spotlessly clean.

Other comments are that the furniture was dated, the paint on the outside of the windows was peeling and we were only provided with one small bottle of water (a large bottle from the courtesy bar in the lounge would have cost £4.75!!), which didn't really matter as we had taken our own orange juice into the room. Other causes for concern...there was a small dish of fudge on the occasional table which only had five pieces in it, the old tea and coffee box had the sachets just scattered in, there was no ipod docking station which you would expect these days. The seal at the bottom of the shower screen was hanging off, the plug hole was dirty and there were hairs on the wall.

We stayed in room 304 and at night we were awoken by quite a bit of drunken shouting and the constant echoing of footsteps across the bridge which linked the The Calls to Brewery Wharf.

We would possibly return, but only if a programme of modernistaion had been carried out to the rooms and the attention to detail improved. It's a pity in many ways as clearly this could be a stunning hotel but it is probably relying a little too heavily on reputation of days gone by and we would say that time for 42 The Calls is running out if it is to stay at the top.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatandSte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this review, 1 July 2012
Thank you for your review.

I was delighted to read you had a warm welcome and your overall first impressions of the hotel; however, I was concerned regarding your comments about certain areas of your room.

I have already discussed the points you have mentioned with our Housekeeping and Maintenance teams and please accept my apologies for the lapse in service.

We would be more than happy to supply you with extra water should you require this during your stay.

With redecoration works already being carried out on our public areas, we are planning to carry this work on to our bedrooms at the end of 2012.

If you do find yourself in Leeds again, please do not hesitate to contact me so I can personally oversee your stay.

Kind regards

Helen Bradshaw
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 10th wedding anniversary. Have been in most of Leeds's hotels and this is one of the better hotels. Nice, spacious rooms ( Deluxe) with big bathrooms. Excellent location and very friendly, helpful staff. You can get great deals for this hotel in LastMinute.com.

To improve I think they need a serviced bar similar to what the Malmaison offers. The honesty bar lacks any sort of atmosphere.

In general, I think this is more of a luxury B&B rather than a hotel but that's exactly what we wanted and as a result really enjoyed our stay.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rkw234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this review, 1 July 2012
Thank you for your compliments.

I am honoured that you would choose 42 The Calls to celebrate such a special occasion, especially as you have experience most of the hotels in Leeds.

The team and I would love to welcome you back again soon and we currently have some amazing offers which we will be happy to email or talk you through.

Kind regards

Helen Bradshaw
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Quebecs
#8 of 87 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
The New Ellington
#16 of 87 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malmaison Hotel
#13 of 87 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
Roomzzz Leeds City
#4 of 87 in Leeds
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
The Queens - Leeds
#11 of 87 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 42 The Calls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 42 The Calls

Property: 42 The Calls
Address: 42 The Calls, Leeds LS2 7EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Leeds
#18 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
#21 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — 42 The Calls 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 1991 a riverside corn mill in Leeds was converted into a refreshingly different designer hotel with exceptional service and modern English interiors. With just 41 bedrooms and suites, 42 The Calls is a unique and exceptional establishment. Handmade beds with luxury cotton linen, carefully selected paintings and drawings and friendly touches such as homemade shortbread and fudge make these spaces havens of relaxation combined with up to the minute technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your 42 The Calls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
42 The Calls Leeds
42 The Calls Hotel Leeds
42 Calls
42 Call Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing