We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel with fantastic service”
Review of 42 The Calls

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
42 The Calls
Ranked #43 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Charming hotel with fantastic service”
Reviewed 7 April 2013 via mobile

Our stay in the junior suite at this charming ex-cotton mill hotel exceeded our expectations. The staff were so helpful from the moment we checked in until the time we checked out. We were in a rush to get checked in, eat lunch and get dressed for a wedding with a young toddler in tow, and the staff all went out of their way to do everything they could to help us. The hotel was full of character, retaining many of the features of its former life as a cotton mill. The junior suite was very comfortable and well equipped but the thing that really made the stay memorable for us was the incredible helpfulness and friendliness of all the staff. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skillkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MissHelenBradshaw, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Thank you for your review.

It is always so lovely to read such amazing comments about the customer service that team offer and it means a lot to them to receive this feedback.

We hope to welcome you and your family back soon.

Kind regards

Helen Bradshaw
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    261
    145
    67
    23
See reviews for
52
440
42
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
high wycombe
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

It's chic, friendly staff, great location, rooms lovely also has a really nice restaurant next to the hotel , I would definitely stay here whenever I need a hotel in Leeds so weather your there on business, shopping , visiting family or friends this is the very best hotel in leeds 5 stars if I had my way

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yeartraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MissHelenBradshaw, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Thank you for your review comments.

The team and I are thrilled you love everything about the hotel and we all look forward to seeing you again, whatever the reason for staying maybe.

Kind regards

Helen Bradshaw
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

MY first visit to 42 the Calls was in 2000 when I went there for diner and was blown away, so having reason to stay in Leeds I booked a room, and looked forward to repeating the experience - but they closed the restaurant some years go.

The room was very comfortable and well appointed, but as I'd gone out for a curry the night before I didn't try out breakfast

Room Tip: All rooms are good so you should be OK
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigwordsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MissHelenBradshaw, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Thank you for your review.

I am pleased you found your stay to be comfortable.

Although we have never had our own restaurant, we do have a close relationship with many of the surrounding restaurants and would be delighted to reserve you a table at any one of them.

Brasserie 44 is just one of the restaurants, located directly next door to the hotel, you may have eaten at their sister restaurant in the past, Pool Court, which sadly closed quite a few years back.

We are launching our River Room for lunch very soon and do currently offer private dining in this room for evening parties and larger gatherings.

I do hope to see you back at the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Helen Bradshaw
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, South Wales
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

The only thing to say about this hotel is it is great. From the glass of wine on arrival, the chocolates on the bed and the fudge in the room - everything screams service standards
The rooms are very comfortable, the bathrooms spacious and all the expected mod cons are there. The breakfaat offering with its vast range of sausages is quirky but again offers something a bit different.
Would definitely stay again and would thoroughly recommend it

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeB1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MissHelenBradshaw, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I was delighted to read that you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed our service touches.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards

Helen Bradshaw
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

this is one of those places we have always "meant" to try but now son number two is at Uni in Leeds we have the opportunity! We like quirky hotels in interesting buildings and this one hits the spot. The location is absolutely brilliant. The staff were friendly and welcoming. The room (202 with river view) lovely. There was a little bit of noise in the early hours from revellers outside a club over the river but the view compensated. The bed extremely comfortable. Breakfast was very good - so good I ate too much and couldn't eat again all day. Will most definitely be back.

Room Tip: River view is lovely but you may have noise from the clubs etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmgLowFell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MissHelenBradshaw, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Thank you for your review.

I am glad that you finally had the opportunity to stay with us and it's great to know that you will be back.

If you would ever like your son to join you for breakfast, then please let the team know.

Kind regards

Helen Bradshaw
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eccleshall, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013 via mobile

I have been wanting to stay at this hotel for over 15 years since it always had a good reputation. I was lucky to get a cheap rate through Laterooms. I have to say that I would not want to have paid full rate for what I got. The room was tired, the bathroom jaded and the equipment probably not renewed since the place was opened. The whole place just seems tired and a let down. The staff are excellent but that does not make up for the mediocre surroundings.

What a shame. ..... Maybe it's because I was on a cheap rate?

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesNMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MissHelenBradshaw, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Thank you for reviewing your stay.

Although you thought the team were excellent, I was concerned to read your comments about your room, especially having wanting to stay here for a long time due to a good reputation.

Our public areas have recently had a refurbishment and we will be carrying this on to the bedrooms over time.

If you are returning to Leeds, please do contact me so I can take care of your reservation.

Kind regards

Helen Bradshaw
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013 via mobile

This hotel was a random find as I've never stopped over in Leeds before. The hotel is very quirky and has a lot of nice touches. For example, newspapers and breakfast are left in a hatch that is accessed from a cupboard in your room. Quite unique. On arrival I was offered a glass of wine. A small point but welcome nonetheless. The room was luxurious. The be was a little unusual in that part of the head of the be was effectively a wooden shelf. Odd to describe, but it did detract slightly.

Breakfast the following morning was a bit of a let down. Yes the sausages were lovely, but the rest was a little disappointing. It seemed like design over substance. The croissants for example were extremely stale. At over £14 you expect better.

All in all I'd come here again, but Id' skip breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Radioheadkiduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MissHelenBradshaw, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Thank you for your review.

Our privacy hatches are very quirky and solve the problem some other hotels have where room service trays and newspapers are often left on corridors. You can even leave your shoes in there when you go to bed and when you wake we will have polished them for you.

Overall it seems you did enjoy your stay, however, I was concerned to read your comments regarding the breakfast.

Please accept my apologies for the lapse in service and I have addressed this with the breakfast team.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly on your next visit to Leeds.

Kind regards

Helen Bradshaw
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Quebecs
#8 of 87 in Leeds
1,091 reviews
The New Ellington
#15 of 87 in Leeds
801 reviews
Malmaison Hotel
#16 of 87 in Leeds
1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds City Centre
Cosmopolitan Hotel
Cosmopolitan Hotel
#22 of 87 in Leeds
1,415 reviews
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 42 The Calls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 42 The Calls

Property: 42 The Calls
Address: 42 The Calls, Leeds LS2 7EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Leeds
#18 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
#23 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — 42 The Calls 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 1991 a riverside corn mill in Leeds was converted into a refreshingly different designer hotel with exceptional service and modern English interiors. With just 41 bedrooms and suites, 42 The Calls is a unique and exceptional establishment. Handmade beds with luxury cotton linen, carefully selected paintings and drawings and friendly touches such as homemade shortbread and fudge make these spaces havens of relaxation combined with up to the minute technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Ebookers, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your 42 The Calls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
42 The Calls Leeds
42 The Calls Hotel Leeds
42 Calls
42 Call Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing