We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky Hotel in the City Centre”
Review of 42 The Calls

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
42 The Calls
Ranked #43 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We stayed at this hotel as part of a Red Letter Day. The reviews were good so thought we would give it a try. We are so glad that we did. From the first arrival, with the complimentary glass of wine through to booking out things could not have gone any smoother. The staff were so attentive throughout and were always on hand to answer any questions. They had a nice idea of an honesty bar, with a wide choice of drinks to choose from including wine which we ended up having. The room was very spacious and clean, with a lovely view over the River Aire. Breakfast was massive with a choice of ten different sausages to choose your two from. Booking out once again was so easy. Overall a wonderful experience and one that we will undertake again when we get the opportunity.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruskinboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MissHelenBradshaw, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

The team and I are very happy that you described your experience at 42 The Calls as wonderful and that you will return when you get the opportunity.

If you need any assistance with your next booking then please do not hesitate to contact the reservations team, who will run through the different offers.

Kind Regards

Helen Bradshaw
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (844)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

466 - 472 of 844 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2013

My wife and I stayed here as part of a visit to Leeds for the inaugral concert at the new Leeds Arena - Bruce Springsteen (and the E Street Band).
Ideally located by the side of the river, a short walk from the station and close to the many bars and restaurants near the Corn Exchange. A very pleasant welcome which included a glass of wine whilst our room was prepared. The room was extremely comfortable, with all the amenities one could wish for, plus a 7 foot bed with more than enough pillows.
Finally, the proverbial cherry on the top was the quality of the breakfast - sausage heaven!
If you're ever in Leeds, check this place out.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJohnson194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MissHelenBradshaw, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

Thank you for posting your review.

Wow, a lucky guest who got to see Bruce Springsteen at the First Direct Arena, tickets were like gold dust!! From what I hear it was a night to remember and Bruce loved the new arena.

With breakfast, the most important meal of the day, sausage heaven we are, with twelve different types to choose from, I am glad you enjoyed this breakfast experience.

If you are in Leeds again you know where we are, we would love to have you back.

Kind Regards

Helen Bradshaw
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Second time me and my girlfriend stayed in this amazing hotel. I booked a junior suite and was upgraded free of charge to the beautiful penthouse suite. From the second you arrive to the second you leave you are treat like an individual person and not like another number as you are in most expensive chain hotels. Nothing was to much bother for the lovely receptionist who greated us with a glass of wine upon arrival and organised a fan for our room. The rooms have so much character and are not just 4 walls with a bed and tv! This was our second visit in 5 months and I know we will be back atleast another three times this year!
My girlfriend absolutley adores this little place.
Oh and the breakfast Is beautiful too.
Thanks for another unforgettable stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisN_543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MissHelenBradshaw, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

Thank you for such a wonderful review.

We do like to make our guests feel very welcome and give a home from home feel.

We love the buildings features and history, it is a popular aspect of the hotel which we love to talk about.

The team and I are all very happy that you and your girlfriend keep coming back and look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards

Helen Bradshaw
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Lovely hotel attentive staff, beautiful room overlooking the river. great complimentary glass of wine on arrival. nothing too much bother. was particularly pleased to have an automatic upgrade when we arrived at the hotel. Only down side no air conditioning, but it is an old cotton mill not easy to add modern air conditioning. could consider providing fans although we were there in the longest heat wave for many years!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becksrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MissHelenBradshaw, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

It is always nice to read that a guest has really enjoyed their stay and I do hope we will be able to welcome you back on your next visit to Leeds.

We certainly have had some hot weather and although we do not have air conditioning we can provide fans upon request.

If you are due to stay again in the summer months and we have this brilliant, yet somewhat humid weather again, then please advise the reservations team to place a fan in your room.

Kind Regards

Helen Bradshaw
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013 via mobile

Perfect for 2 day shopping trip arriving by train. All within easy walking distance and can drop bags back during the day. We had riverside room which was very comfortable and quiet. Nice welcome with a glass of wine to take up to the room. Comfortable room and beds with spacious bathroom. Robes and usual comforts all there and free wifi
We chose not to have breakfast in the hotel but at the local Corn Exchange just as that suited us better. We arrived in Sunday evening when the attached restaurant was closed but we had good tapas in another adjacent establishment
I would definitely return to this hotel. We really enjoyed our 2 nights there

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MissHelenBradshaw, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

Thank you very much for your review.

It was lovely to read that you had an enjoyable two night stay with us and would definitely return.

We are in very close proximity to the shops, especially the new Trinity Shopping complex and the beautiful Victoria Quarter. We do have shopping packages, which include Prosecco, chocolates, shopping vouchers and breakfast; if you are interested in any of the offers we do then please contact the reservations team.

Kind Regards

Helen Bradshaw
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We have stayed here twice and it's such a lovely little hotel to have found - something different to the normal city centre hotels, and tucked away down a small side street overlooking the river to one side. The interior is so interesting, every room is different and unique based upon the hotel's history. The beds are comfy and all staff that we encountered were friendly and helpful. It is located about 10-15 minutes walk away from the main city centre shops etc, but there are restaurants and bars to be found closer by. Only small gripe would be that it's not cheap to stay, so would be nice to have breakfast included - the first time we paid the extra to try it, but the second time we opted to just check out and head for a coffee shop. Would still return for a third time though!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lollibobbins99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MissHelenBradshaw, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

Thank you for your review.

I am pleased that you enjoyed yet another stay with us and that you will be returning.

We do have bed and breakfast rates and offer alternatives to the continental and full English. On your next reservation I am sure the team will be happy to run through these with you.

Kind Regards

Helen Bradshaw
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Stayed here at the weekend, picked this hotel based on alot of favourable reviews on tripadvisor.

We really enjoyed our stay, there are cheaper options out there but we wanted something a bit different ... and also smaller so not full of huge hen and stag do's which frequent all city centres on a weekend ! Nothing against hen / stags btw !

Jessica was extremely helpful when i originally made the booking and also greeted us on arrival (with a glass of wine ... i could get used to that !). We had a Directors room with river view, it was a decent size and was lovely to see they had tried to retain some of the original features. It wasnt the absolute best room we've ever stayed in, nor did it have the flashiest bathroom / shower etc but it was very nice and they seemed to have thought of everything. Love the little touches like the fudge and the frog soaps ! What i will say is the bed was SO comfortable, actually probably one of the most comfortable ive slept in at a hotel. Really did sleep like a log !

There was some music on accross at the Tetleys wharf area and in the afternoon it was really pounding, but thankfully it did finish early. Despite the hotel being in an up and coming area for bars and restaurants its fairly quiet at night compared to some locations (we saw the malmaison and that really is in the thick of it and i'd imagine noisy at night). OK we had a river view room but it was very quiet when we went to bed, and we slept with the window open. Was lovely and tranquil the next morning.

Mini bar in the room is reasonable prices. Theres also an honesty bar (again not a rip off) which is a nice touch. Breakfast was lovely, very filling, the sausage menu great idea. Was a lovely breakfast room overlooking the river.

All in all we found this hotel to be excellent on the service front, very comfortable and a great location (its only 5 mins to the shops !). Ate at Brasserie 44 next door but will do seperate review for that.

Would definately return and highly reccomend !

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andycat17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MissHelenBradshaw, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Thank you for your lovely review.

It was so nice to read you appreciated different aspects of the hotel and I am especially pleased that you mentioned Jessica's service, as she has only been with the reception team a short time.

We always try to be that little bit different offering wine on arrival, 12 different sausages at breakfast and our much loved frog shaped soaps.

I am delighted that you will return and will be recommending us to other.

Kind Regards

Helen Bradshaw
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Quebecs
#8 of 87 in Leeds
1,119 reviews
Malmaison Hotel
#16 of 87 in Leeds
1,406 reviews
Roomzzz Leeds City
#4 of 87 in Leeds
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
The New Ellington
#17 of 87 in Leeds
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 42 The Calls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 42 The Calls

Address: 42 The Calls, Leeds LS2 7EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Leeds
#18 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
#23 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range: £65 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 42 The Calls 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 1991 a riverside corn mill in Leeds was converted into a refreshingly different designer hotel with exceptional service and modern English interiors. With just 41 bedrooms and suites, 42 The Calls is a unique and exceptional establishment. Handmade beds with luxury cotton linen, carefully selected paintings and drawings and friendly touches such as homemade shortbread and fudge make these spaces havens of relaxation combined with up to the minute technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your 42 The Calls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
42 The Calls Leeds
42 The Calls Hotel Leeds
42 Calls
42 Call Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing