We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice boutique city centre hotel”
Review of 42 The Calls

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
42 The Calls
Ranked #43 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Reviewed 3 August 2013

This is a lovely boutique hotel in the city centre on the River Aire. The reception area is quite small & there is no bar, there is a small area to sit in and an honesty bar. It is relatively limited but you just help yourself and complete a form with what you have taken.

I had an upgraded room that was nice & large over looking the River Aire. The bed was extremely comfortable & I had a great nights sleep.

We used the hotel for a meeting, the meeting room was a good size (there were 12 of us) with a balcony over looking the river. The food for the meeting was good quality & the service was very good as the staff were attentive & responded quickly to our requests.

I guess the only issue we had was the heat, there is no air conditioning & it was very warm when we were there. Maybe just worth noting if you are there in the summer

Stayed: July 2013
1  Thank Boosh12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MissHelenBradshaw, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

It was lovely to read your complimentary comments about both your meeting and bedroom, I have shared these with the team and they are delighted you had a comfortable stay.

On your next stay, in the summer months, I would be more than happy to place a fan in your room.

Kind regards

Helen Bradshaw
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (853)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

471 - 477 of 853 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2013

The hotel is in a great location overlooking the river within easy walking of the city centre. We had to be away by 8 in the morning so could park for free on the street outside. Staff were friendly and welcoming - a complimentary glass of wine on arrival was a nice touch - and our room had a view over the River Aire at the back of the hotel. The room was billed as a small double room but was light and spacious with nice furnishings, quirky touches and original artwork. Many original features from the former warehouse have been retained and well integrated into modern facilities, giving it a contemporary feel. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MissHelenBradshaw, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Thank you for your review.

I am delighted you found your standard room to be light and spacious with nice furnishings.

As a conversion, you will see all around the building the original features and I am glad you were able to appreciate these.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Helen Bradshaw
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Visiting Leeds for the Springsteen concert at the newly opened Leeds Arena I checked into this hotel for the night. The location is great, being on the banks of the River Aire and close to the Corn Exchange and the city centre shops. The room had what you might expect and it is a relaxed sort of place. One slight point was that there was some noise from late night revellers crossing the nearby footbridge across the river, but I don't want to overstate this. The inclusive English breakfast was more than adequate with a selection of English sausage types on offer.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raymond H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MissHelenBradshaw, Operations Manaer at 42 The Calls, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

Thank you for posting your review.

I am pleased that you got to see Bruce Springsteen; the first act to have played the new arena and that you enjoyed your short stay.

Should you be in Leeds again for any reason, we would be delighted to have you stay with us.

Kind Regards

Helen Bradshaw
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

What a fantastic short stay we had, from the complimentary glass of wine on arrival to a lovely river view room. I had booked the standard room and had to ask a member of staff whether we had been upgraded I was that impressed. Room 107, very quiet and well laid out.
We'll be back

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richleech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MissHelenBradshaw, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

Thank you for such a lovely review.

It is always great to read a guest has thoroughly enjoyed their stay and will return.

Room 107 is a standard room so I am impressed that you thought you were upgraded and enjoyed the view, this room is the closest to the river as it is located down the stairs.

On your next visit if you would like to request this room or another river view room then please do ask the reservations team on booking.

Kind Regards

Helen Bradshaw
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We stayed at this hotel as part of a Red Letter Day. The reviews were good so thought we would give it a try. We are so glad that we did. From the first arrival, with the complimentary glass of wine through to booking out things could not have gone any smoother. The staff were so attentive throughout and were always on hand to answer any questions. They had a nice idea of an honesty bar, with a wide choice of drinks to choose from including wine which we ended up having. The room was very spacious and clean, with a lovely view over the River Aire. Breakfast was massive with a choice of ten different sausages to choose your two from. Booking out once again was so easy. Overall a wonderful experience and one that we will undertake again when we get the opportunity.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruskinboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MissHelenBradshaw, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

The team and I are very happy that you described your experience at 42 The Calls as wonderful and that you will return when you get the opportunity.

If you need any assistance with your next booking then please do not hesitate to contact the reservations team, who will run through the different offers.

Kind Regards

Helen Bradshaw
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

My wife and I stayed here as part of a visit to Leeds for the inaugral concert at the new Leeds Arena - Bruce Springsteen (and the E Street Band).
Ideally located by the side of the river, a short walk from the station and close to the many bars and restaurants near the Corn Exchange. A very pleasant welcome which included a glass of wine whilst our room was prepared. The room was extremely comfortable, with all the amenities one could wish for, plus a 7 foot bed with more than enough pillows.
Finally, the proverbial cherry on the top was the quality of the breakfast - sausage heaven!
If you're ever in Leeds, check this place out.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJohnson194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MissHelenBradshaw, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

Thank you for posting your review.

Wow, a lucky guest who got to see Bruce Springsteen at the First Direct Arena, tickets were like gold dust!! From what I hear it was a night to remember and Bruce loved the new arena.

With breakfast, the most important meal of the day, sausage heaven we are, with twelve different types to choose from, I am glad you enjoyed this breakfast experience.

If you are in Leeds again you know where we are, we would love to have you back.

Kind Regards

Helen Bradshaw
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Second time me and my girlfriend stayed in this amazing hotel. I booked a junior suite and was upgraded free of charge to the beautiful penthouse suite. From the second you arrive to the second you leave you are treat like an individual person and not like another number as you are in most expensive chain hotels. Nothing was to much bother for the lovely receptionist who greated us with a glass of wine upon arrival and organised a fan for our room. The rooms have so much character and are not just 4 walls with a bed and tv! This was our second visit in 5 months and I know we will be back atleast another three times this year!
My girlfriend absolutley adores this little place.
Oh and the breakfast Is beautiful too.
Thanks for another unforgettable stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisN_543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MissHelenBradshaw, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

Thank you for such a wonderful review.

We do like to make our guests feel very welcome and give a home from home feel.

We love the buildings features and history, it is a popular aspect of the hotel which we love to talk about.

The team and I are all very happy that you and your girlfriend keep coming back and look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards

Helen Bradshaw
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Malmaison Hotel
#16 of 87 in Leeds
1,436 reviews
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Quebecs
#6 of 87 in Leeds
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Roomzzz Leeds City
#4 of 87 in Leeds
531 reviews
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
The New Ellington
#17 of 87 in Leeds
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 42 The Calls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 42 The Calls

Address: 42 The Calls, Leeds LS2 7EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Leeds
#18 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
#23 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range: £62 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 42 The Calls 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 1991 a riverside corn mill in Leeds was converted into a refreshingly different designer hotel with exceptional service and modern English interiors. With just 41 bedrooms and suites, 42 The Calls is a unique and exceptional establishment. Handmade beds with luxury cotton linen, carefully selected paintings and drawings and friendly touches such as homemade shortbread and fudge make these spaces havens of relaxation combined with up to the minute technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your 42 The Calls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
42 The Calls Leeds
42 The Calls Hotel Leeds
42 Calls
42 Call Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing