We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stayed spoiled by room being too hot.”
Review of 42 The Calls

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
42 The Calls
Ranked #45 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

We had two choices - window open and get too much noise to sleep or window closed and it be too hot to sleep.

Not being able to sleep was really disappointing because apart from that it's a nice hotel with a comfy bed and a decent bathroom. Alas, needing to sleep is pretty crucial. May try again in winter but not in summer.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MissHelenBradshaw, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Thank you for your review.

Having found your bed comfortable and liking the hotel, I was concerned to read that due to the hot weather and external noise you were unable to sleep.

If you do stay again in the summer months we would be happy to provide you with a fan.

I do hope we will see you again very soon.

Kind regards

Helen Cooper
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (871)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

468 - 474 of 872 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2013

Sent to wrong room. Small rooms. Bathroom taps spurt out (hot) Wifi didn't work
Noisy room overlooking a brick wall

TV has very limited channels
For the price expected a lot more.
Won't be staying again. The glass of wine at reception was a nice touch. A bribe to make you stay May be !!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MissHelenBradshaw, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Thank you for your review.

I was concerned to read your comments regarding your stay and please accept my apologies for an inconvenience caused.

All feedback is important to us, but had you made the manager on duty aware of your concerns at the time they would have been able to assist you.

Kind regards

Helen Cooper
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as an anniversary treat. The hotel is a great location for Leeds centre as it's only 2 mins away from lots of bars/restaurants. The room we had was quiet but overlooked a busy street from a 2nd floor which I can imagine could be noisy at weekends. Check in was a breeze and a glass of wine was a very nice touch! The room was very pleasant if not looking a little worn & dated, it's due a refresh in my opinion. Bed is very soft, I usually prefer a firm mattress but I slept well so I'm not complaining! Overall a great stay & I would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mightymadders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MissHelenBradshaw, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Thank you for review.

We love a celebration here at 42 The Calls so it was great to see that you stayed with us as an anniversary treat and think we are an excellent boutique hotel.

The team and I would love to have you stay with us again.

Kind regards

Helen Cooper
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

42 The Calls. A small boutique hotel very close to the centre of Leeds. Situated on a quite road, the building is a superb conversion of a historic warehouse overlooking the canal running through the centre of the city. Everyone of the bedrooms is of a unique design and layout. The bedrooms are tastefully decorated each with their own high quality bathrooms. Communal space is limited. Only breakfast is available in the hotel. The breakfast is top notch with a remarkable selection of sausages to choose from. Service is discrete and efficient. A polite request to turn off the piped music in the breakfast room was readily agreed to without fuss. There are a number of eateries within a few minutes’ walk of the hotel. If you are arriving by train the walk from the station is about 7 minutes along some dingy alleyways and steep stairs – best to catch a taxi. There is no car park.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MissHelenBradshaw, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Thank you for posting your review.

It was lovely to read your comments regarding the building and decor.

Our chef Nigel is delighted with your comments regarding the breakfast which he has been cooking for many years.

We look forward to your return visit.

Kind regards

Helen Cooper
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Lovely conversion, with so many unique touches. Loved the decor. Stayed in a room at the front of the hotel, the rooms at the back overlooking the canal must be amazing. Beautiful bathroom, extra large bathrobes and towels. Glass of wine on arrival a nice touch. Fantastic position, close to trendy restaurants ( the "Stew and Oyster" place next door is well worth a visit), 5 minute walk to cbd and market. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladyfifi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MissHelenBradshaw, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Thank you for your 5/5 review.

I am delighted you love the hotel as much as we do and will recommend us.

On your next visit if you would like to try a river facing room, then please request this with reservations team.

Kind regards

Helen Cooper
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

I went to 42 the calls on a business trip and found it to be in a great location if you want to get out and see Leeds . The rooms are very comfy but a bit small in my case but the bathroom was very nicely decorated and quite roomy .
The food was of a good quality with a very good hearty breakfast in the morning . The only down sides were that the wifi did not work properly and the hotel has no car park being on the river front which made parking outside on a meter a bit of a task making sure your credit didn't run out .
Also can be quite noisy when your trying to sleep . From the sounds of drunken revellers .

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MissHelenBradshaw, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Thank you for your review.

It was nice to read your comments regarding the location and the good quality of food.

There was an issue pointed out with the Wi-Fi in August, however we have since had a technician on site and this has been rectified.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next business trip.

Kind regards

Helen Cooper
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Every one has expectations some met some not leading to disappointment, and after reading a few mixed reviews about this quirky venue we were prepared to go with an open mind. It is very quirky venue with nooks and crannies and ups and downs, and our room was no different. It had a nice ambiance and feel and the bed was very comfy. Good range of this and that within the room short of nothing you would want for a stay, fridge ironing board, hair drier etc.

We were greeted with a complimentary glass of wine from very friendly and professional staff i would have loved to have tried the breakfast here but it was a bit on the expensive side but by all accounts an excellent breakfast.

The only down side to the experience, again quirky, was the tv service, nice little touch as it came out of the wardrobe on a shelf but too high and too small.

Would i stay here again ? in 217 yes definately would during the week it was quiet on a weekend hmmmmmmm don't really know see other reviews for that.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uktravellerYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MissHelenBradshaw, Opeartions Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay and will return.

Currently there are a number of rooms that have a smaller 15'' TV, we are in the process of changing this, but it will take time. If you would like to request a larger TV please let the reservations team know on booking.

Kind regards

Helen Cooper
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Quebecs
#8 of 87 in Leeds
1,158 reviews
Malmaison Hotel
#17 of 87 in Leeds
1,529 reviews
Roomzzz Leeds City
#3 of 87 in Leeds
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
The New Ellington
#31 of 87 in Leeds
877 reviews
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 42 The Calls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 42 The Calls

Address: 42 The Calls, Leeds LS2 7EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Leeds
#18 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
#23 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range: £69 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 42 The Calls 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 1991 a riverside corn mill in Leeds was converted into a refreshingly different designer hotel with exceptional service and modern English interiors. With just 41 bedrooms and suites, 42 The Calls is a unique and exceptional establishment. Handmade beds with luxury cotton linen, carefully selected paintings and drawings and friendly touches such as homemade shortbread and fudge make these spaces havens of relaxation combined with up to the minute technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Stayforlong S.L., Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your 42 The Calls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
42 The Calls Leeds
42 The Calls Hotel Leeds
42 Calls
42 Call Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing