We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with a difference”
Review of 42 The Calls

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
42 The Calls
Ranked #43 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We stayed here early December 2013 for two nights and were extremely pleased with the hotel overall. Lovely welcome - hot mulled wine on arrival - fantastic room and lovely staff. The reception was maybe a little small to cope with the number of guests arriving on a busy Friday, but the staff there were extremely efficient and pleasant.
Loved our room and lovely view. A little further out than other Leeds hotels I've stayed in but I'd definitely go back.
Many thanks for a lovely, pleasant stay

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allison A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MissHelenBradshaw, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your review.

It was lovely to read that you really enjoyed your two night stay with us, from the service you received at check in to the room and view.

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to our return.

Kind regards

Helen Cooper
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (837)
There are newer reviews for 42 The Calls
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

399 - 405 of 837 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2013

This was my second stay here, my first review, it's is a good hotel with a great identity. Independent a little quirky, some parts feel very homemade, but that's ok. The food is excellent , the breakfast, with its speciality sausage menus is very cool. Nice welcome, honesty bar, again cool touch. First time I stayed I had a deluxe room, this time just a double, was a bit small, but ok. Views are good over the historic road or the canal/ river front. Parking is available outside, pay and display, quite expensive, however I think they have an arrangement with a nearby car park. PS Bed was really comfy, really..

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms are quite a lot bigger.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MissHelenBradshaw, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Thank you for posting your review.

It was great to read that you are a returning visitor and love our 'quirky' hotel.

We have five room types ranging from the Study Double to the Penthouse and all are individually styled. Our regular guests have their favourites and ask us to allocate this for them if available, so if you have a favourite then please do ask the team to check this is available on your next visit.

Kind regards

Helen Cooper
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

The place might be looking a bit tired now, but it is still an interesting little hotel, a bit different from the large chains that look the same in every town.
They have some personal touches and it feels like a boutique hotel, which for a city centre, is priced very reasonably.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JamesF76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MissHelenBradshaw, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Thank you for your review.

It was lovely to read that you find us interesting and enjoy our personal touches.

I do hope the team and I will see you again soon.

Kind regards

Helen Cooper
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We stayed here for one night , 29/11/13 , I booked it as a surprise for my fiancés birthday .We should have been able to check in at four, we arrived at 3.50 , we where told our room was not ready, we where given some mulled wine and waited, at 4.10 the lady on reception came over to say sorry but they where running late, due to the lady staying in the room only left half an hour ago...!!!!.we could do nothing but wait. 4.30 we got into room, it was an executive room, should have had bathrobes, we only got one , bottle of water, none, also slippers , when we complained we where given another robe, no water and told they don't provide slippers anymore..The room décor was dated with no light working in wardrobe, or bathroom, dirty carpets,and dust. Tea making facilities was located inside the wardrobe !! this had not been cleaned...the positive was the view. It boasts an amazing breakfast with the choice of twelve sausages on the menu. It was very average. At checkout the lady on reception apologised , we where very disappointed. We would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank joanne t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MissHelenBradshaw, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Thank you for contacting me with your review.

I was disappointed to read your comments regarding your stay.

The advertised check in time is 4pm so please accept my apologies that you had to wait 30 minutes after this to check in.

We are waiting on the delivery of our slippers and this is the reason they were not in your room, however you should have had the right amount of towels and robes for the occupants of the room. I have spoken to the housekeeping department regarding this lapse in service to ensure this does not happen again.

If you had made the Duty Manager aware of your concerns after checking in to your room, they could have looked in to re cleaning the room or moving you to an alternative room depending on availability.

I am sorry that this has deterred you from staying with us in the future, should you change your mind please feel free to contact me directly so I can personally oversee your stay.

Kind regards

Helen Cooper
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Staying here regularly. A charming little hotel on the riverside in a converted mill which gives it a fantastic atmosphere. Great staff and service. Walking distance to everything in the city centre. I don't go anywhere else now. The perfect antidote to the pressure of a business trip.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MissHelenBradshaw, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Thank you for your 5/5 review.

It was lovely to read your comments and the team and I are thrilled to be the perfect antidote whilst on your business trip.

We very much look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards

Helen Cooper
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We stayed here while on business in Leeds, The staff were friendly and could not have been more helpful. The services and little extra touches provided are a lovely addition to the stay! The rooms are beautiful and comfortable with everything needed and more! Breakfast was fresh and there was a fantastic variety! We would highly recommended this gem of a hotel!

Room Tip: If you leave your boots in the little cupboard next to your room door they are cleaned over night!!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MissHelenBradshaw, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Thank you for your 5/5 review.

I am pleased that you found 42 The Calls to be a gem of a hotel during your business trip.

Our privacy hatches are a great addition, which we use for our shoe cleaning service and to deliver morning newspapers.

The team and I look forward to your next visit to Leeds.

Kind regards

Helen Cooper
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Arrived at the hotel late Sunday afternoon after a few detours around Leeds. The receptionist was very friendly and directed us to a good car park. Once back at the hotel we were offered a glass of wine which was very acceptable. They ordered a taxi which took us to the new arena.
Arriving back after the concert we were once again welcomed by the receptionist. The bedroom was very comfortable and quite large and warm. The view was over the river very good. Those staff that we met were very approachable and welcoming.
I must add that they changed our booking as the concert was cancelled in September, there was no extra charge.
Thank you for a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MissHelenBradshaw, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Thank you for posting a review of your stay.

I am delighted that you had an enjoyable visit to Leeds and a pleasant stay at 42 The Calls.

We do hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards

Helen Cooper
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Quebecs
#8 of 87 in Leeds
1,106 reviews
The New Ellington
#16 of 87 in Leeds
817 reviews
Malmaison Hotel
#15 of 87 in Leeds
1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Roomzzz Leeds City
#4 of 87 in Leeds
522 reviews
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 42 The Calls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 42 The Calls

Address: 42 The Calls, Leeds LS2 7EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Leeds
#18 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
#23 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range: £63 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 42 The Calls 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 1991 a riverside corn mill in Leeds was converted into a refreshingly different designer hotel with exceptional service and modern English interiors. With just 41 bedrooms and suites, 42 The Calls is a unique and exceptional establishment. Handmade beds with luxury cotton linen, carefully selected paintings and drawings and friendly touches such as homemade shortbread and fudge make these spaces havens of relaxation combined with up to the minute technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your 42 The Calls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
42 The Calls Leeds
42 The Calls Hotel Leeds
42 Calls
42 Call Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing