We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Boutique hotel”
Review of 42 The Calls

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
42 The Calls
Ranked #43 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Charming Boutique hotel”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I have now stayed here a few times through work and I love it!! From the most comfy beds and pillows to the White company toiletries, not forgetting the best cooked breakfast around!! It has close by parking, bars and restaurants right on the river.....perfect setting! Reasonably priced too!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovelyshoes888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    261
    145
    67
    23
See reviews for
52
440
42
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bromsgrove
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This is a nice boutique hotel, with quirky furniture, beams and charm. It was the first time I have stayed in a hotel where someone has used a fishing rod as interior decor! The converted factory/warehouse has been done to good effect.

Lots of this is great and is appealing. The "White Company" squirty soap, large double bed, views of the pedestrian bridge and River Aire, wifi, ground coffee & cafetiere (no pungent instant coffee here, thank goodness), and the unusual innovation of a collection hatch for newspapers and room service - all great.

But the risk with "boutique" hotels is that they concentrate on being distinctive from the crowd at the cost of covering the basics adequately. That is the case here. There is no gym, spa or pool. The free glass of wine on arrival is a lovely idea, but why give out only cheap stuff? They give it to you as you clutch your bags, credit card, lumpy room key and lurch towards the lift button. Why have a selection of mueslis but not say what they are (and the staff don't know either)? Why have hand soap in the bath, not the hand basin? Why have a shower fixed so low that only children can stand under it?

All these are dead easy to fix (perhaps not the pool!), and involve some management with an assiduous eye. It's not in the Malmason/Hotel du Vin league yet, but it easily has the potential to get there.

Room Tip: Room 311 has excellent corner river views, with windows on two sides, and a large double bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Funtraveller007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stayed here because my wife and I were decorating our son's apartment around the corner and did not want to sleep in a paint-fumed bedroom. The hotel is ideally situated for anybody who wants to be close to the action. Our bedroom was on the front of the building which faces the Inner-Loop road system but must admit that we did not find traffic noise to be any problem. Did not use the catering facilities as we dined at my son's apartment or local restaurants. Would recommend this Hotel for a reasonably priced quality weekend stay in Leeds.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley-in-Arden, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I can remember staying here around 20 years ago when it first opened and the rest of the area had not been done up. At that time it was very good, loved the fact the rooms where all different and excellent service. Can still remember a table in the reception that was a wooden hippo and the glass top looked like the water with its eyes above the service.

The table was gone and internally it now looked slightly tired but still has great service and offered an excellent breakfast. I had a last minute deal at a very reasonable price for a hotel of this quality. So nice not to be in a big chain where every room is the same

Dropped the 1 star as not as good as I remember it when it opened but would definitely use again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NigelP99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I live only a couple of hours from Leeds, so don't often need a hotel. An early morning business meeting meant that I needed to stay over the night before, get a good night's sleep and be ready to go first thing.

At least that was the plan.

As it was I got next to no sleep thanks to the merrie folk of Leeds - off their noggins on the local swill and shouting, screaming and urinating in the street until 0348am, and this on a week night.

The hotel can't change its location, but it can fit double glazing. I would suggest it as a priority.

Room : ok. Bed : ok. Breakfast, ok if pricey.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank blerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

As someone who carries out 'mystery visits' for a living I'm not easily, or often, impressed at the service I receive at some establishments. My stay at 42 The Calls this bank holiday weekend was not a 'mystery visit' but purely social on my part - and I could not have been more satisfied. I read various reviews before I made the booking and as the majority were pretty positive - usually a good sign - decided to give this hotel a try and myself and my partner were glad we did - as we had a great stay.
We stayed 3 nights (at a special discount rate found on the hotel website) and found all the staff efficient, knowledgeable, helpful and friendly. It wasn't perfect but the few little niggles (e.g. only one bath towel instead of two and no hand soap - only wall mounted - which we hate!) were quickly rectified and with a smile too. All the parts of the hotel we saw were clean, in good condition and nicely decorated. Also, we loved the fact there was an 'honesty bar' downstairs - something we hadn't seen for a really long time - and the free glass of wine on arrival and sweeties left in the room each day were nice little touches. Our room was a deluxe so was a good size and we also had a view of the river. That's something we appreciated, staying for 3 nights, and it also meant there was very little noise outside at night.
The 'full English' breakfast was excellent and how nice to have full cream milk (had forgotten how nice that tastes), real butter, and lovely freshly baked bread. It should be said that the bacon on our breakfasts was a bit over-cooked - and that was pretty much the only thing we had to complain about - so on that basis top marks to 42 The calls!

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view of the river as it's a nice view and quiet too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank virtanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

A fabulous weekend has been had based at 42 The Calls. Great venue, comfortable room, and friendly staff (especially the 'Smartie lady' who leaves smarties on the end of your bed after turning the bed down for the night). We will definitely be returning!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Quebecs
#8 of 87 in Leeds
1,091 reviews
The New Ellington
#15 of 87 in Leeds
801 reviews
Malmaison Hotel
#16 of 87 in Leeds
1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds City Centre
Cosmopolitan Hotel
Cosmopolitan Hotel
#22 of 87 in Leeds
1,415 reviews
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 42 The Calls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 42 The Calls

Property: 42 The Calls
Address: 42 The Calls, Leeds LS2 7EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Leeds
#18 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
#23 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — 42 The Calls 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 1991 a riverside corn mill in Leeds was converted into a refreshingly different designer hotel with exceptional service and modern English interiors. With just 41 bedrooms and suites, 42 The Calls is a unique and exceptional establishment. Handmade beds with luxury cotton linen, carefully selected paintings and drawings and friendly touches such as homemade shortbread and fudge make these spaces havens of relaxation combined with up to the minute technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your 42 The Calls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
42 The Calls Leeds
42 The Calls Hotel Leeds
42 Calls
42 Call Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing