We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Away from it all, peace and quiet ”
Review of 42 The Calls

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
42 The Calls
Ranked #43 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
283 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Away from it all, peace and quiet ”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

42 the calls is a great location, feels like you are away from the city rush in a character place which has nice staff, individual rooms overlooking the river mostly. Great breakfast and a nice change from the larger hotels, nice treats in the rooms!.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank paulbe39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    260
    144
    66
    23
See reviews for
52
438
42
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed at 42 The Calls some years ago and it is just as good, if not better, than ever. We had a "deluxe" room, on the second floor, overlooking the canal for £68 plus breakfast. It's double-glazed, as are all the rooms, so I can't understand the comment about noise. You can't hear anything if you keep the window shut. In fact we had a very quiet Friday night, even with it open! The room we had (210) was very quirky, with two large girders, and three RSJs across the room, reminding one that this was formerly a grain mill, converted into a hotel. Very comfortable bed, though a slightly softer pillow would have suited me better- my husband was very happy with his! Spotlessly clean. Lovely bathroom with soap in the shape of little frogs and a wonderful shower in the bath tub. Great breakfast, though the kipper that my husband had was undercooked (? from frozen) and the waitress immediately took it off the bill without being asked. Very friendly and helpful service. We dined next door at Brasserie Forty 4, which I think is attached to the hotel. There is also a tapas restaurant on the other side, so plenty of choice and it's a nice, upcoming part of town. I would choose to stay here rather than one of the soulless chains.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsSaunders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night and were disappointed. The little touches such as homemade shortbread and glass of wine on arrival are lovely but this is not a boutique hotel. It has potential to be but the rooms are in need of refurbishment and the noise is exceptional! We expected it to be a bit noisy due to the location but it is genuinely awful. Such a shame but because of this we wouldn't recommend or return.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cely250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield
Level Contributor
73 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This was our first visit to 42 The Calls. We usually stay in large corporate type hotels, but this time we decided to stay in this boutique hotel overlooking the river Aire in Leeds.

The hotel from the outside doesn't look much, but this should not deter you from trying it. Check in was quick and easy and we were offered wine on arrival before making our way to our room on the second floor. This was a large director room overlooking the river as requested on booking. The room had two easy chairs and a table with plenty of glasses to sample the mini bar!! The bathroom was very spacious and was spotlessly clean with good quality toiletries. The frog soaps are a nice touch and made us smile. There were towelling robes and plenty of towels.

We ate out at Brasserie Forty Four which is next door and so convenient. Incidentally, we can definitely recommend this restaurant. Afterwards we went back to the hotel and found that there is an honesty bar below the lounge area which we sampled! On arrival back in our room after drinks the beds had been turned down and two small boxes of Smarties had been left at the bottom of the bed. Thankfully, our dog hadn't eaten them!

The huge breakfast was delicious with 12 different sausages to choose from with the full English breakfast. This set us up for the rest of the day and we didn't need anything else to eat until the evening.

All in all we had a lovely overnight stay at this hotel and our dog enjoyed his stay too. They even provided a dog bowl with bottled water too!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river Aire as its worth it. Also choose a larger room as its worth pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbiegirlWakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I recently stopped here for two nights, the hotel is lovely and the staff are faultless, unfortunately I can not recommend it, If you want to sleep at night. The hotel is next to a canal crossing bridge it has a bar close by and we heard shouting and loud noise from mid night to around 4.30 am, what a shame, if you book here you must ask for quiet rooms, we were not told about the noise issue until we complained after our first night.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grandmachris1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Spotless room, but looking a little tired, very comfortable room, nice linens and toiletries. The hotel is in a nice part of town with good bars and restaurants. Downside is no onsite parking but there is plenty in nearby NCP. Very nice, helpful staff and very nice cooked breakfast

Room Tip: Ask for rooms overlooking the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Lovely room, lots of lovely quirky features - frog soaps so cute !!
Reception staff very friendly and welcoming. Definitely recommend it. Bathroom huge, good quality bed linen & towels. Thoughtfully designed spotlessly clean

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneNorthallerton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Quebecs
#8 of 87 in Leeds
1,077 reviews
The New Ellington
#16 of 87 in Leeds
794 reviews
Malmaison Hotel
#14 of 87 in Leeds
1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds City Centre
Cosmopolitan Hotel
Cosmopolitan Hotel
#21 of 87 in Leeds
1,403 reviews
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 42 The Calls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 42 The Calls

Property: 42 The Calls
Address: 42 The Calls, Leeds LS2 7EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Leeds
#18 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
#22 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — 42 The Calls 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 1991 a riverside corn mill in Leeds was converted into a refreshingly different designer hotel with exceptional service and modern English interiors. With just 41 bedrooms and suites, 42 The Calls is a unique and exceptional establishment. Handmade beds with luxury cotton linen, carefully selected paintings and drawings and friendly touches such as homemade shortbread and fudge make these spaces havens of relaxation combined with up to the minute technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your 42 The Calls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
42 The Calls Leeds
42 The Calls Hotel Leeds
42 Calls
42 Call Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing