We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel... But”
Review of 42 The Calls

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
42 The Calls
Ranked #43 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Overall enjoyed my stay - however comments about water, lack of air con and hotel wear are valid .

Our room on the third floor was of a very good size and quiet. We stayed on probably the hottest night of the year and the lack of air con meant the room was very hot indeed - a fan was provided but this was of little use - the room was well appointed however signs of shabbiness had started to creep in - wallpaper marked and torn, poor electrical socket access and a very outdated shower. We didn't have breakfast as there are literally stacks of cafe/restaurants on the hotel doorstep and the 30 pounds saved on that was better spent on shops in the Victorian quarter. Hotel staff were helpful enough but nothing out of the ordinary.

A little bit of a revamp would do this hotel the power of good. It reminds me of the malmaison chain, thinks it's a little better than it is and living on its past reputation too much.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Bouncy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (844)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

335 - 341 of 844 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

I stayed here whilst visiting friends in Leeds. The location is excellent, being about a 10 minute walk from the train station. The welcome upon arrival was friendly, and I was offered a complimentary glass of wine. The room was very well appointed, with a good sized comfortable bed, armchair, desk and coffee table. The bathroom was lovely - deep bath, very big basin and with White Company toiletries. Service was always friendly and efficient. Breakfasts and room service were delicious.

The only point that would make me hesitant about staying here again was the noise from nearby bars. I was in room 203, which overlooks the river. Across the way is Brewery Wharf and next door but one to the hotel is The Calls, which has outside space. This unfortunately meant that it was very noisy at night and I didn't sleep well on either the Friday or Saturday night. It also meant that opening the windows wasn't an option, which was less than ideal given the current heatwave!

It's such a shame as everything else about the hotel was very good - I wonder if alternative rooms would be quieter?

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank AkireH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Brilliant hotel in the heart of Leeds! The staff are so friendly & can't do more for you to make your stay comfortable as possible. We all had breakfast here & wasn't just standard buffet breakfast you ordered off a menu & could tell the bacon, sausage was great standard of quality. Highly recommend this to anyone wanting a nice stay for a weekend in leeds!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Emily-Jayne-x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

My wife has always wanted to stay here and we had the opportunity given we were in Leeds for a night at the Leeds Arena. We got a good rate from laterooms. Good location, walkable to a lot of places (from the station (@10-15 mins), we were at the arena and that was a 20-30 min walk ).

We found the front desk staff helpful, appreciated the wine on arrival, and the walking to the room. Thought the room was impressive - if starting to show signs of being a little tired (a lick of paint, replace the coffee table for example). Very comfortable bed. Clean bathroom. Free wi-fi, plenty of plug sockets. Good coffee in the room from an small local producer: nice. Liked the idea that if we did want breakfast they could put it in a small side cabinet. Views over the canal were great. We did have a problem with noise from the next room when they got back, but it'd be hard to fault to hotel for other guests lack of consideration. Outside was quiet. There was a perk of a "free breakfast" if we booked again directly.

That said, didn't stay for breakfast (which looked pricey). Plenty of places to eat nearby. No aircon in the room so on the rare instances Leeds warms up, that might be a problem. While the wi-fi was free, having to connect each device individually was a faff. Taking a £50 swipe used to be a thing, but is much less of a thing now and seems an unnecessarily high charge that I'll have to keep an eye on.

Still, lovely inside and I thought it a very comfortable stay. Couples rather than families I would have said. Would definitely go back if staying in Leeds, but I'd be savvy about the room price. Possibly they'll review their dining/breakfast prices.

Room Tip: Want a room overlooking the canal - 3rd floor was very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andymwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This boutique hotel could and should be excellent. Apparently nice location, next to the canal. Good, spacious, well furnished rooms. Very nice and big bathroom. Lovely bed and furnishings.

So....the negatives:

1. You can't drink the tap water. But this is the UK?! It's apparently not connected to the water mains? Curious for a so called luxury hotel. And it was a hot day. They do supply plenty of bottled water, but still very odd and inconvenient.

2. No air con. We opened the bedroom window and went out. On return we realised that the room faced onto a bridge that became busier at night as it feeds a pub / nightclub across the canal. We heard the revellers walking and talking at 3.45 a.m. despite having closed the window and been too hot in bed as a result.

3. Staff not very receptive.....would you like a fan? The fan rotated very noisily so kept us awake also.

All in all really disappointing as the real reason for a hotel is to sleep comfortably and it was too hot and a bit too noisy sometimes. Maybe it would be better in cooler weather midweek?

Room Tip: Away from the footbridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank yugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

On business - great room / great breakfast / great bed - great glass of wine on arrival . Am staying again on business but would do so out of choice too if visiting Leeds . Ask for a room overlooking the river as it's quiet and calm

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank Griffblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Applied for upgrade on the Calls website as instructed. Asked if many rooms booked and told no so cant understand why we werent upgraded. More concerning was off hand reception - there is a big difference between service with a smile and service with indifference.

So onto the hotel itself - carpet in main corridor fraying and needs replacing and chairs in room very worn.

Unfortunately42 The Calls seems tired and perhaps an overhaul rather tha upgrade. Such a shame as this was one of the first boutique hotels we stayed in 15 years ago and it had the WoW factor then but now.....?

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank firsteducation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Quebecs
#8 of 87 in Leeds
1,118 reviews
Malmaison Hotel
#16 of 87 in Leeds
1,403 reviews
Roomzzz Leeds City
#4 of 87 in Leeds
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
The New Ellington
#17 of 87 in Leeds
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 42 The Calls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 42 The Calls

Address: 42 The Calls, Leeds LS2 7EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Leeds
#18 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
#23 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range: £65 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 42 The Calls 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 1991 a riverside corn mill in Leeds was converted into a refreshingly different designer hotel with exceptional service and modern English interiors. With just 41 bedrooms and suites, 42 The Calls is a unique and exceptional establishment. Handmade beds with luxury cotton linen, carefully selected paintings and drawings and friendly touches such as homemade shortbread and fudge make these spaces havens of relaxation combined with up to the minute technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your 42 The Calls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
42 The Calls Leeds
42 The Calls Hotel Leeds
42 Calls
42 Call Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing