We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
42 The Calls
Ranked #43 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Reviewed 27 September 2009

Stayed at this hotel for romantic weekend away , arrived early so room was not ready but this was not a problem, when we returned to hotel check in was quick and easy, glass of wine on arrival which was a nice touch and our luggage had already been taken to our room, was shown to room by porter , room was lovely, spotlessly clean, had a lovely deluxe room overlooking the river ( previouse reviews have said about noise from the bridge ) i can honestly say we heard nothink, tea and coffee making facilities and bowl of fudge also designer toiletries, had dinner in the resaurant next door on the first night which was part of our package and the food and servise was fab, breakfast on both days was well worth getting up for and all the staff were really friendly and nothink was too much trouble, i must say that the bed was so comfortable, would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michele1965Wirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (857)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

772 - 778 of 857 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2009

Checked on Sept 22nd 2009 and was upgraded to a suite, room 101. Nice bedroom with a separate dining/sitting room. Curtain was hanging off one of the windows and a fold up bed was in the middle of the dining/sitting room, but apart from that it was clean and tidy. Nice view across the canal. We did consider having a drink in the bar, but it was cramped, no windows and very warm. A shame really and it’s the only thing the hotel lacks, a nice lounge/bar area to enjoy a drink. Bedroom had lovely king size bed, all amenities, TV, Tea and Coffee making facilities, although I would say that the tray they are kept on is an accident waiting to happen. If you stay in this room you will see what I mean. Fresh milk delivered to your room on request. Nice large bathroom with bath and separate walk in shower. We had breakfast, which was included in the room rate in our room, luxury continental, very nice. Any member of staff we came into contact with was efficient and friendly. Yes the bedrooms rooms are a little tired and some of the furnishings could do with updating, but all in all it was for us a very nice stay.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank champagneboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2009

Delightful small hotel; attractively furnished and attentively staffed.

BUT, and it's a big one, Leeds city centre is an absolute human zoo on Saturday nights and the Calls is in the middle of it. From 5.00pm to 5.00am there are literally hundreds of groups of very loud drunks bellowing at each other as they make their way from bar to bar. The noise is pretty intolerable and there's not much the hotel can do about it. Great shame because there's little chance of a good night's sleep.

Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank DavidELondonEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2009

We spent 2 nights honeymoon in the Calls and were delighted to be told we had been upgraded from the deluxe room we booked to the Penthouse suite. FANTASTIC!

The suite was huge, beautiful decor, view and facilities. Quiet too.

The staff were friendly, breakfast nice and room service food lovely. Couldn't have asked for more - a delight & not at all faded or shabby as some of the others reviews suggest.

Brasserie 44 the restaurant next door is wonderful too - you can even order the food to your room there too.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jillatron15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2009

I extended a business trip to explore Leeds with my partner - 42 The Calls is very conveniently located near the city centre. A good little hotel in a converted mill, it has a lot of more character than any big corporate chain hotel. The welcome was friendly and the staff were pleasant and helpful. Although there was no hotel restaurant and the bar was disappointing, there were lots of great bars and restaurants just round the corner. We stayed in a pleasant studio room overlooking the river. The room was not spacious, but quiet and very comfortable. It was let down by the small flat-screen TV mounted high-up in a cupboard, which made viewing difficult. Breakfast was very good but expensive (£15); breakfasting out at a nearby bar/cafe is much more interesting. Car parking at the nearby NCP was also expensive (£14 for 24hrs). So a good base to discover trendy Leeds, but not to watch TV.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marx44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2009

Was booked in to stay at 'The Calls' in Leeds for three nights with my other half on business. After spending a total of six hours in a deluxe double we had no other option but to move hotel. The room was situated at the front of the hotel just of a busy main road known as the loop i.e. 24 hours no-stop traffic in a room that lacked suitable secondary glazing. Added to that the room contained no air conditioning therefore we were left with the option of lying in bed in a stuffy room with minimum back ground noise or opening the windows and lying in bed with constant traffic and pedestrian noise. Sleeping was not an option with either scenario... Hence we departed the hotel at 06:00 hours (we had to wait for the NCP car park to open or we would have checked out a lot earlier).

Now given that we were due to stay for three nights and we were checking out after around six hours you would have thought that would have alerted the member of staff that there was a problem... it didn't and we didn't even get a 'did you enjoy your stay or is there a problem'.

Added to the above the hotel bar is non existent, the car parking is a pain to access and find and the mini bar was not what you could call 'stocked' I really wouldn't bother.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheSpaceman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2009

We where looking for a central located hotel, that was clean and friendly, 42 The Calls ticked all these boxes. (It's 10 minute walk way from the train station.)

When we arrived we where greeted with a friendly smile and a complementary glass of wine which was a very nice touch. We stopped in the Study Room, facing the river, room no 107.

It was nice, it looked a little tired in places ie:- there was a stain on the carpet, and a couple of the tiles where chipped in the bathroom. But overall our room was very nice and the bed was comfortable.
The only problem i had, was that they have marked the water, as not suitable for drinking, but they have done this in black writing on black tiles this is not very noticable.

We got this room on a late deal, on the Calls own website. I found this was more competitive than late room, and last minute as the deal included breakfast which was nice.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SylB24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Malmaison Hotel
#16 of 87 in Leeds
1,461 reviews
Roomzzz Leeds City
#4 of 87 in Leeds
537 reviews
Quebecs
#6 of 87 in Leeds
1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
Jurys Inn Leeds
#21 of 87 in Leeds
2,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 42 The Calls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 42 The Calls

Address: 42 The Calls, Leeds LS2 7EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Leeds
#18 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
#23 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range: £61 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 42 The Calls 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 1991 a riverside corn mill in Leeds was converted into a refreshingly different designer hotel with exceptional service and modern English interiors. With just 41 bedrooms and suites, 42 The Calls is a unique and exceptional establishment. Handmade beds with luxury cotton linen, carefully selected paintings and drawings and friendly touches such as homemade shortbread and fudge make these spaces havens of relaxation combined with up to the minute technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your 42 The Calls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
42 The Calls Leeds
42 The Calls Hotel Leeds
42 Calls
42 Call Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing