We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A no-sleeping as well as no-smoking room”
Review of 42 The Calls

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
42 The Calls
Ranked #43 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Northumberland, UK
Level 6 Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A no-sleeping as well as no-smoking room”
Reviewed 23 February 2010

My 2nd stay here. The first one, in a room overlooking the river at the back was fine. This one, in Room 213 overlooking the side of the building including a walkway over the river which links the Saturday night drinking areas, was a nightmare. As soon as we arrived we knew it would be bad so we tried to change rooms for a river-view one but were told every room was full & all had checked in so we were stuck with it. And quite frankly it's a room that should NOT be sold on a Saturday night when the drinking crowds are out & about. Screams, shouts, foul language all night long - even when I'd finally dozed off, they woke me at 5.30am from outside with more of the same. So despite it being a lovely room in itself with a great bed, it was hopeless as a place to sleep. I recommend anyone staying at this hotel should ask to reserve a river-view room, that is if you want any sleep...

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frazers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    265
    149
    67
    23
See reviews for
57
444
42
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Yorks
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2010

We booked a double room and it was small. The bed was very soft. The windows were drafty and it was very noisy as our room was at the front of the hotel you could hear the road noise all night. The honesty bar is a nice touch but i'd rather be served by a person. The intial greeting at reception was nice as were the sweets left in the room. However i was expecting a special boutique experience and the room didnt match my expectations. I have stayed in much nicer hotels for the same price

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidaymaker183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincoln
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2010

Stayed at the calls last weekend and was very impressed on checking in, glass of wine and a porter took us to our room. Lovely room with huge bed. We ate next door at brasserie 42 and the food was fantastic.
The reason I wouldnt go back to the calls was the local nightlife and Taxi waiting seemed to be right at the back of the hotel and there was screeching and laughing until about 5am, I took my husband away for a quiet weekend break and we got no sleep at all. So until they get double glazing I would avoid the weekends!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaycopley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
Reviewed 31 January 2010

I would agree with all the previous reviews regarding the quality and service offered by the hotel. Our greeting on arrival was exeptional, the rooms were clean and luxurious, the staff were really helpful and polite and the location was spot on for sightseeing and shopping. The only downfall for us was the noise from the local nightlife. Our room seemed to look out onto the walk home for lots of revellers and the noise was unbelievable. Both Friday and Saturday night we were woken repeatedly between 12 and 3am. Me and my partner are both fairly young and enjoy the buzz of the city but even for us the noise was just too much. This could be solved simply by installing some double glazing but as the rooms are not air conditioned I couldn't imagine trying to sleep if you needed the window open in the summer months. It's a shame because the hotel is so lovely, but it would definately put me off staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minty28Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saltburn
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2010

I have just come back from an extremely relaxing and luxurious night away in leeds at 42 the calls!

It was the perfect get away for couples.
We were greeted with a glass of wine, and had our bags carried up to our deluxe double room, and shown around the room, which was beautiful!

Big Double bed with about 6 pillows, gorgeous decor, very french chic!! The bathroom was HUGE and spotless as was the bedroom. The bathroom had a decent sized bath tub with designer products and lovely hot water!!

very very chilled out day/night, could have stayed in the room all day!

Will definately be visiting again! 5****

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clem89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2010

Very pleased that I booked this hotel in Leeds, with a special offer. While my work colleagues paid the same price to stay in a miserable enormous bland chain, I was in this gorgeous little boutique hotel. Easy walk from the station and to the shopping area. Really ace bathroom with frog soaps and Molton Brown toiletries, while the bedroom was so nice that I texted my husband a picture of it to say I wished he was there! Some lovely touches like a free glass of wine on check-in, smarties with the turn-down service. No complaints about breakfast. Only thing I would say is that the hotel is in an area with plenty of nightlife, so I can imagine that the lovely view over the river and across to the bars might be a bit noisy on a Saturday night in summer if you like monastic silence. Also both of the clocks in my bedroom told the wrong time, which meant I was rather late for work the next day! (though I could also blame the lovely huge bed).

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicester
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2010

just came back from 42 the calls hotel in leeds - saturday - 1 night stay - absolutely fantastic!!!! would definately recommend this hotel to anybody looking for a great all round hotel............

* excellent customer service - friendly staff and made to feel very welcome - offered welcome drink - glass of wine on arrival and shown to our rooms with everything explained to us - about the room, hotels facilities and parking

* lovely clean, fresh spacious rooms , big bathroom , great comfortable bed, flat scren tv and basically everything u need down to a complimentary bath robe

* great location - right in the centre

* very personal feel and up market as only about 40 rooms therefore the staff have the time to make u feel valued and as welcome as u could be

Overall a very good quality 4 star hotel allround - clean fresh smelling warm comfortable hotel with everything u need on your doorstep - perfect

definately will stay there again

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlysingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Quebecs
#8 of 87 in Leeds
1,094 reviews
The New Ellington
#17 of 87 in Leeds
807 reviews
Malmaison Hotel
#12 of 87 in Leeds
1,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Roomzzz Leeds City
#5 of 87 in Leeds
516 reviews
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 42 The Calls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 42 The Calls

Property: 42 The Calls
Address: 42 The Calls, Leeds LS2 7EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Leeds
#18 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
#23 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — 42 The Calls 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 1991 a riverside corn mill in Leeds was converted into a refreshingly different designer hotel with exceptional service and modern English interiors. With just 41 bedrooms and suites, 42 The Calls is a unique and exceptional establishment. Handmade beds with luxury cotton linen, carefully selected paintings and drawings and friendly touches such as homemade shortbread and fudge make these spaces havens of relaxation combined with up to the minute technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your 42 The Calls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
42 The Calls Leeds
42 The Calls Hotel Leeds
42 Calls
42 Call Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing