We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprised at the great location”
Review of 42 The Calls

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
42 The Calls
Ranked #42 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
North Wales
Level Contributor
95 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Surprised at the great location”
Reviewed 26 April 2010

Stayed at the Calls by accident. The hotel in which I was originally meant to stay was overbooked and it was they who put me into 42 the Calls. What a result!..after walking into the charming reception I was met by a friendly lady on reception. after checking in I was shown to my room by a porter who took time to explain the workings of the room..(a rare thing these days). My room was on the side of the hotel so probably not one of the better ones if you are after 'views'. However, as I was only staying one night..arriving late and leaving early this was not a problem. I would describe my room as quaint & quirkey just to my taste..not at all the usual corporate/franchise type. The hotel is only 5 mins walk to the rail station and is just far enough away from the main centre to avoid all the vehicle access problems associated with Leeds. This will be my first choice Hotel when I return to Leeds.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mudgedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    259
    144
    66
    23
See reviews for
52
437
42
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, England
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2010

Just getting over a night at 42 The Calls. I won't repeat the contents of previous review. We loved the service, delicious food and attention to detail, but I just couldn't sleep in the super soft bed with it's squashy pillows.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrentTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 28 March 2010

We've stayed on over 5 times in the last 8 years. The overall quality,friendlness and service are very good- particulary the cotton sheets and the braissere at 44 The Calls. Unfortunately the lack of double glazing leads to a very disrubted nights sleep!!!!!! Probably the most disrupted nights sleep ever (apart from Christmas party season in a Travelodge) Would only return again if better sound insulation was provided

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wzyszy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2010

Stayed here since hotel usually stay in when in Leeds was full. Had had a tough day at work but when I walked through the revolving door of 42 The Calls, my mood lifted... was greeted by a very friendly receptionist and offered a complimentary glass of wine. Was then shown to room right at the back of the hotel, overlooking the river. The room was best described as "shabby chic", the decor was perhaps a little chipped and scuffed here and there but the room was spotlessly clean and full of little touches that made you laugh - a world away from your typical hotel chains. For example, the handsoap was a novelty frog-shaped soap. The door key was a carved animal. There's a fishing rod in the room, in case you want to try your hand at catching your dinner from the river outside your window.There was a fun-size box of smarties left on your bed. You have a handy "privacy hatch" next to your door (basically a 2-way cupboard, so you can get your breakfast/paper etc delivered without having to answer the door (and if you leave your shoes in here at night they take them away and polish them, returning them to your hatch in the morning - just like elves!).

You can order hotel room service or can order from the menu of brasserie 44 next door. The hotel forgot part of my order, but were very apologietic about it and both tthe receptionist and the waiter came to say sorry and see if anything they could do instead. Actually this incident made the stay more personal too - was nice & refreshing to feel you were talking to real people who did make mistakes but genuinely wanted to put things right again, not some mechanical 2D staff like you can get in other hotels.

Was nice having the river outside - when on the phone at night, I noticed lights coming through my window and looked round only to see a barge full of tourists navigating upstream right outside.

Only downside was the noise. I could hear the TV from either an adjacent or above room very loudly - insulation between the rooms was poor, but luckily the occupant didn't keep this on too late. Would be annoying, though, if you wanted peace & quiet (I could hear the words of the programme)...either bad sound insulation or the occupant was deaf and had the volume on max! The windows are single glazed too, and don't close very tightly, meaning you can still hear outside noise. Luckily I stayed midweek, so heard the soothing flow of the river outside but from what I've heard from taxi drivers, there are bars nearby and a busy footbridge at the back which make it very noisy at weekends, so probably best avoiding then if you want a relaxing night's sleep.

In the morning, had an amusing moment when found myself throwing the crumbs from my breakfast to the ducks right outside my window - the quirkiness of the hotel brings out the child in you! Was then time for serious stuff again so checked out and got a complimentary chauffer-driven ride to work in a leather-upholstered jag.

Am still smiling about my stay!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank midgemagnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2010

On arrival at the hotel we were greeted by a very friendly receptionist who offer us a complimentary glass of wine, which was a nice touch. A porter was on hand to carry our luggage to the room and provide us with a quick run down as to where everything was and how everything worked. The initial welcome was above and beyond the norm. We stayed in a deluxe room which had plenty of space, nice bathroom and river view. The bed was very big and comfortable. One minor complaint about the room was that it was a little warm. There were a few quirky things like smarties in the room on arrival and frog shaped soap. The mini bar was stocked. The hotel had an honesty bar but we didn't go there. Breakfast was nice and there were plenty of things on the menu to choose from. The hotel doesn't have a car park but there is on street parking in front of the hotel, which you have to pay for. We really enjoyed our stay and would certainly go back.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShellGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
112 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2010

We stayed for two nights to celebrate my mid-week birthday.

We both work in Leeds so it was convenient to arrive after a hard day at the office and check in with a complimentary glass of wine.

We booked a "Love at 42" package which included champagne, chocolates (big box of Thorntons), large bottle of lavender bath foam, rose petals on the bed and full breakfast. It is certainly excellent value and we were upgraded to "Director" room.

We settled down with our champage in our lovely bath robes and decided to order a room service meal. Unfortunately, when it arraived, the potato wedges were burnt yet soggy, the fishcakes were dry but chewy and the best thing about it was the crispy lettuce with a delicious dressing! That's the first and last time we'll order room service!! There are plenty restaurants close by but we had wanted to stay in for a romantic and relaxing evening.

We've stayed here a few time before and love the individual rooms, helpful staff, privacy hatches and handy location. There was some noise on both nights from drunken revellers crossing the bridge (as others have mentioned). We had river view rooms but I left the window slightly ajar for ventilation and we were both woken up at 3am.

We will still be back, I'm sure. The positives certainly outweigh any negatives.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chocgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Newfoundland
Level Contributor
321 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2010

I chose the hotel based on reviews at TripAdvisor, and took advice from others who suggested asking for a room facing the river. My room was perfect for my needs, quiet for a great night's sleep, had free wifi, and gave me wonderful comfort. I was welcomed with a glass of wine when I arrived (nice touch) and given another glass when I returned back to the hotel my second night (very civilized). The staff were friendly and helpful and the hotel itself was different from ordinary. I had a deluxe room that was more than enough space. The room had teabags and a teapot (free), a free bottle of mineral water, and a small dish of caramel candies (which I didn't need, but did take advantage of). I had initially thought about staying at a hotel closer to the train station (42 the Calls was about a 7 minute walk away), but was glad I chose to stay here -- I saw a part of town that was interesting and that I may not have explored had I stayed elsewhere. Leeds is an easy city to wander around and this hotel is a comfortable distance from everything I needed in the downtown and university areas.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAKlein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Quebecs
#8 of 87 in Leeds
1,077 reviews
The New Ellington
#15 of 87 in Leeds
794 reviews
Malmaison Hotel
#14 of 87 in Leeds
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds City Centre
Cosmopolitan Hotel
Cosmopolitan Hotel
#21 of 87 in Leeds
1,403 reviews
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 42 The Calls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 42 The Calls

Property: 42 The Calls
Address: 42 The Calls, Leeds LS2 7EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Leeds
#18 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
#22 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — 42 The Calls 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 1991 a riverside corn mill in Leeds was converted into a refreshingly different designer hotel with exceptional service and modern English interiors. With just 41 bedrooms and suites, 42 The Calls is a unique and exceptional establishment. Handmade beds with luxury cotton linen, carefully selected paintings and drawings and friendly touches such as homemade shortbread and fudge make these spaces havens of relaxation combined with up to the minute technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your 42 The Calls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
42 The Calls Leeds
42 The Calls Hotel Leeds
42 Calls
42 Call Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing