We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect bijou hotel in good location”
Review of 42 The Calls

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
42 The Calls
Ranked #42 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Perfect bijou hotel in good location”
Reviewed 26 February 2011

Almost 20 years since my last visit. Amazing that service was still good, rooms delightful and the glass of wine on check in a nice touch. Ordered room service food from brasserie 44. Was good but a bit Luke warm on arrival.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richb0510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    262
    145
    67
    23
See reviews for
53
440
42
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nice, France
Level 6 Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2011

Just returned from a lovely 2-night stay. The hotel is elegant, yet very homey and cozy. Staff are friendly and efficient, the cooked breakfast is very good (the rate I got from the hotel's website included breakfast), and the fine brasserie is welcoming and reasonably priced. Loved the bathroom with its waterfall shower, too. My room looked over the canal, was comfortable, and had every amenity I could think of.

A couple of things to note: my mattress was rather soft (it felt like it was time to replace it, as it wasn't entirely even), and the high-tech television/radio/computer system took a little getting used to. There is a sign that isn't immediately noticeable saying that the tap water isn't for drinking, but the hotel provides free bottled water. I wasn't offered a complimentary glass of wine the evening that I checked in, but I received it the following day when I came back at the end of the day. The hotel offers free wifi, which I appreciated.

I visit Leeds from time to time for both business and pleasure, and this will certainly be my hotel of choice from now on.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theartgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2011

We stayed here for just one night and never wanted to leave. I'd move in permanently if I could! The staff were so helpful and pleasant when I booked and really went out of their way to accommodate our uncertainties about when and how long we'd be staying. When we arrived after a gruelling day - oh that complimentary glass of wine! - we were hugely impressed. The whole design of the building is beautiful. We had the penthouse suite and it is wonderful! So much space, such comfortable beds, fabulous bathrooms. The staff were superb. I know it's their job to be nice to guests - but they all came across as genuinely caring and helpful, unlike the robots you find in some hotels. I can't wait to go back there. Food at the bistro next door was fab too.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VMB76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2011

A recommended location by local friends, so we booked it.

We flew in very early and the rooms are not normally available until 4pm! So, we had breakfast. A super choice of foods, nicely presented and they pride themselves in a very good choice of sausages - compliments the full english nicely and good coffee too!
Lovely views over the fast flowing river in an old and much restored part of the city. Some new staff in the kitchens did create a few small service issues, but didnt have much negative impact.

Having still several hours to wait before our room should have been available, we were very happy to be shown into at room by 11am! Very nice room - big too - good size bed, bathroom, bath robes etc .. all quite plush and again, those same views of the river.

Very pleasant and attentive staff - good room service (21 hour availability) too - and interesting vanity closets, whereby the staff can leave your breakfast etc in your room, via access from the hallway's, without having to enter the room - neat!

Having a late flight back on the Sunday, we negotiaited the use of the room until 6pm on the 2nd evening .. so the value we got from our 31 hour stay was excellent.

A very tastefully refurbished and calm hotel. Well kept and a pleasure to be there. We are already planning a return visit.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rossbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2011

Tucked out to the way, this lovely Boutique hotel has service levels that some 5 star hotels could only dream of. The rooms were exactly like those shown on the website, quirky and individual in style, but full of those little touches that help make it a great hotel.

Breakfast was delicious, all freshly cooked to order, and I loved having a choice of homemade sausages.

All in all this hotel somehow manages to be trendy, quirky and out there, but still friendly and homely….. A balance not many hotels can mange at twice the price.

First Class, 42 the Calls, keep up the fantastic work!

Places like this deserve to do well.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattDrewry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, UK
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2011

This place is so, so different to other chain hotels. It's rooms are spacious (the bathroom is bigger than some hotel rooms!!) the bed was comfy and the whole place felt different to a chain hotel. I was really happy with the room, the location and the facilities within. You could not have asked for more.

For £100 I doubt we could have done better. The only thing I would complain about is the price of the breakfast and the Car Parking. £14.95 for a full english is silly. If you stay here and agree with me, walk to the Corn Exchange and visit the Cafe which is across the road from the Bus Stops on Vicar Lane. £4.95 for a full english with all the trimmings!! Nice!! The Car parking is at the NCP near the markets and the hotel has negotiated a reduced rate of £14.75. This is a whole 25 pence saving on the normal rate of £15 for 24 hours! If you are going to negotiate a discount, please save me more than 25p!!

Apart from this the hotel is excellent and really worth a visit.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k599rag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2011

This hotel was exactly what we wanted, but even better!! We arrived to a warm welcome and a complimentary glass of wine, we were shown to our room and a very pleasent man carried our bags. The room was lovely, exactly as it was seen on the internet and in brochures. Thoroughly enjoyed use of the bath robes and the view over the river was just perfect! Breakfast was enjoyable and the service throughout was spot on. The TV was a little complicated to work out, but it didnt matter as we had lots of other things to enjoy in the area. Great location, situated right on the doorstep of classey bars and restuarants. We particularly enjoyed Las Igunas, food was fantastic!! All together it was an amazing New Years Eve at 42 The Calls and we didnt want to leave. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lubylu2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Quebecs
#8 of 87 in Leeds
1,091 reviews
The New Ellington
#12 of 87 in Leeds
803 reviews
Malmaison Hotel
#15 of 87 in Leeds
1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Roomzzz Leeds City
#5 of 87 in Leeds
512 reviews
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 42 The Calls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 42 The Calls

Property: 42 The Calls
Address: 42 The Calls, Leeds LS2 7EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Leeds
#18 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
#22 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — 42 The Calls 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 1991 a riverside corn mill in Leeds was converted into a refreshingly different designer hotel with exceptional service and modern English interiors. With just 41 bedrooms and suites, 42 The Calls is a unique and exceptional establishment. Handmade beds with luxury cotton linen, carefully selected paintings and drawings and friendly touches such as homemade shortbread and fudge make these spaces havens of relaxation combined with up to the minute technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Lastminute, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your 42 The Calls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
42 The Calls Leeds
42 The Calls Hotel Leeds
42 Calls
42 Call Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing