We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smelly cold but clean and cheap”
Review of Glengarth Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Leeds
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glengarth Hotel
Ranked #12 of 25 Leeds B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Smelly cold but clean and cheap”
Reviewed 25 September 2012 via mobile

Basic somewhere to kip. One step up from doss house. Not professional hoteliers ! Room clean£38 for double room but only me staying
Cold! Needs heating. Bathroom and tv ok. Adequate. But stinks of mothballs and I need to keep my clothes on on bed!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Escort1600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    39
    21
    4
    7
See reviews for
20
10
17
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Confirmed booking, 4 days later turned round and said it was unavailable. Then when I phoned them up to try and sort somethign they hung up on me! Absoloutely shocking customer service.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Leeds hotels

Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Dear Sir,

Last Tuesday I found I had to visit the university early on Wednesday morning and found the hotel on the internet. After emailing and getting a rapid response to my requirements, I phoned and booked a room for the night. On arrival we were warmly welcomed and shown the room, which was very clean, smartly decorated and comfortable. We were told all the necessary instruction for maintaining the heat, security and breakfast times, then bid a good nights stay. In the morning on entering the dining room we were greeted and served quickly and your staff ensured we had all we needed and left us to chat. We needed to leave the car while attending the University and you kindly offered us to leave the car in the car park until we returned later in the morning. The manner and welcome ensured we were successful in our mission and I thank you for your attention to detail during our visit. I hope to stay again when returning to Leeds.

Thanks,

David Waugh.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

i should wants to say here my excellent experience i have booked a single room when i need before 11 am the receptionist is very good warm welcome me and i preferred english breakfast and the gentle man was took me and showed the room excellent tidy attached shower room, lcd tv, tea,coffee,milk on the table very polite room really i had enjoyed that night sleep. nextday morning breakfast its really lovely wonderful 3 piease of bacon sosage egg tea coffee orange juice.the staff was very friendly and helpful the location was good near the uni and town center when i will be in leeds i wanna defently come back at glengarth im highly recommended its based one of the cheepest and worthfulness

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LIMFO L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2012

My wife and I stayed here when our daughter came to look around university halls.
The university campus is literally on the other side of the road so you couldn't find a hotel any nearer. With such good value room rates I wasn't expecting more than a bed for the night. I was pleasantly surprised.
Both of our en suite rooms were spotlessly clean and the staff were welcoming and courteous. Both bathrooms were brand new and there was loads of hot water for us all.
Breakfast was very nice and served promptly as we arrived in the breakfast room.
We were absolutely delighted and would definitely stay again.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GWA_Russell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

A very nice clean b & b staff very friendly and accomodating, they even had a charger for my I phone , will stay here again for sure!!! Bed was real comfy bathroom was immaculate . Room of decent size with flat screen towel , tea making facilities , hair dryer . Close enough to walk into Leeds fifteen minute walk. Very pleasant stay
Thanks
Sam

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Samwea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

I was visiting Leeds to attend at the Yorkshire Archaeological Society (a short walk from the Glengarth) and the Leeds Archives. I chose the Glengarth after seeing previous reviews, and was glad that I did!

The price was right, and the guest house, while basic, was clean. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Wireless in the room was free and always fast. Breakfast was fine. The bus to the city centre was one street away and only a 5 minute ride.

Nothing was a problem for the Glengarth. As a single traveler, it is important to me to feel safe, so the location next to the university, and the fact that it seemed that I was being taken care of by the hotel were very much appreciated. I ended up having to travel by train to other archives, both north and south, but the proximity to the centre and the rail station meant that I could access the trains without delay. And when I had to leave Leeds earlier than planned, it was with regret on my part and a friendly goodbye from the Glengarth.

I would definitely stay again if my research or other plans take me to Leeds.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catsitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Ibis Leeds Centre
#29 of 87 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
The Queens - Leeds
#11 of 87 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glengarth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glengarth Hotel

Property: Glengarth Hotel
Address: 162 Woodsley Road, Leeds LS2 9LZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Glengarth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located next to Leeds University and Leeds City Centre with FREE onsite parking and FREE WiFi the Glengarth Hotel is perfect for those on a budget. Our rooms are kept to the highest standard of cleanliness with HD Flat screen digital televisions, Complimentary Tea & Coffee making facilities & Full English Breakfast included in all bookings, we make sure our customers receive value for money and a pleasant stay. We look forward to welcoming you to our family run B&B. Kindest Regards, The Management. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glengarth Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing