We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very accommodating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Corn Mill Lodge Hotel
Ranked #43 of 86 Hotels in Leeds
West Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Very accommodating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

My husband & I stayed here while visiting family in the area. They took care of us as if we were part of their family and I would highly recommend staying here. We are from the United States and I have not found any place that had been as friendly as Gordon (the owner) and his staff.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mimi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornmillLodge, Owner at Corn Mill Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Your review was very kind, thank you.

I do remember you coming to us and your luggage followed the next day or so (via Amsterdam).

It would be nice if on your next visit you could stay with us again.

Gordon Jowett M.D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    175
    78
    29
    29
See reviews for
75
185
23
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

We stayed for a Saturday night as we were visiting family in Leeds. Having read the mixed views I was a little apprehensive. However all turned out well! A very clean , quiet and comfortable room which was very good value as breakfast was also included. Considering the hotel was full on the night we stayed, we were not disturbed by other guests. Easy, swift taxi service into Leeds and back. Would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank antano2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornmillLodge, Owner at Corn Mill Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Mixed reviews, you know the old saying that you cant please all the people all the time as long as you please most of the people, most of the time. I think our reviews on the whole are pretty good.

Thank you for your review.

Gordon Jowett M.D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne
Level Contributor
189 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

I was visiting Leeds on business, arriving early-evening, so I was looking for a hotel with restaurant, parking, quiet room with internet access...this hotel ticked all the boxes for me at an excellent room rate to boot!
I booked a twin-bed room online, but when I arrived it was quickly switched to a double with no fuss. Reception and restaurant staff were friendly and professional. I opted for chicken liver pâté followed by fillet steak and both were well-presented.
Breakfast was copious; what was especially good was that I was shown all the choices, including that they cook eggs on demand to your liking!
My room was well-appointed, good condition, clean, quiet and comfortable.
Wired internet was fast and free (I think the wireless internet needs to be badly fixed though - SSID strong but impossible to join); free parking too.
Recommended!!

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Whirob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornmillLodge, Owner at Corn Mill Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Thank you for staying with us during your visit to Leeds - I have passed your comments about the SSID on to the members of staff that looks after our internet /Wi-Fi.

Gordon Jowett M.D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

had an overnight stay at this hotel.
I found the staff very friendly and made you feel at home,
The rooms were clean and although near a main road, very little sound penetrated through.
We ate at the restaurant and found it very good and reasonable, the rib eye steak melted in my mouth!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rugbyleaguefanLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornmillLodge, Owner at Corn Mill Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Thank you for your kind review.

Gordon Jowett M.D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

Overall you get what you pay for a very reasonable rate for an average hotel, staff a little bit surly but not rude either, breakfast quite good but no fried or poached eggs on Saturday or Sunday, Also toast already cooked so cold when you get it. Rooms cold no central heating but warm up fairly quickly when you put the heater on. Taxi into city centre 7.50, can arrange this at the hotel. Drinks in bar reasonably priced but beware doesn't open till six and closes at 12.

If you are looking for somewhere cheap to sleep and can't afford city centre prices aren't too fussy about a dated hotel with limited customer service then book this hotel.

If you want a hotel that is modern efficient and focused on customer service this probably isn't the hotel for you

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornmillLodge, Owner at Corn Mill Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
As you would expect I disagree in general with the tone of this review. We are not a cheap hotel we are a purpose built hotel only 15 years old and we think you get more than you pay for in the way of service and standards.

Gordon Jowett M.D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

We stayed here as an alternative to driving into central Leeds to stay (I always get lost and annoyed in the one-way system).
It was extremely easy to get to from the motorway - in the middle of an ordinary housing estate - and we saved so much on the cost of a decent central hotel that it paid for the taxi several times over (about £7 each way). Parking is free.
Rooms were clean, warm, a fair size, and the bed was reasonably comfy. There's tea, coffee and stuff, and the busy staff were pleasant.
Breakfast was nice - plenty of choice of hot and cold - and we also ate in the restaurant in the evening and it was appropriately priced, decent pub grub.
We'll be doing the same the next time we have a night out in Leeds.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DuRiechstSoGut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornmillLodge, Owner at Corn Mill Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Thank you for your review. It does make us sound as if we are in the middle of a housing estate which we are not, the only things we are surrounded by are trees and shrubs etc. There are no pubs around here that serve to the standard that our 5 chefs offer.

Gordon Jowett M.D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

We stayed following a works Christmas meal at the hotel. The staff were polite and appeared to be being worked hard by the management. (just like our management!). The 3 course Christmas meal was well cooked, tasty, and well delivered. (Bit tight on the roast potatoes though).
The hotel was built in 1998 according to the external brickwork carving with barn style architecture. Our room was on the 2nd floor in the roof area and was the cheapest of those on offer. It was quite adequate for our needs and had TV and internet (wired and wireless) available, as well as freeview TV (including the remote), hot drink making facilities, a reasonable comfortable double bed, and a "take care" sloping ceiling as we were in the roof. The suite was only let down by a poor shower over bath and a shower curtain that couldn't really contain the water from getting on the floor (following by avid mopping from this guest!). As the hotel is situated on a busy main road there was some traffic noise all night but with the window shut the majority is drowned out. As with most hotels, the soundproofing probably wouldn't pass building regs these days. Overall, as good as expected for the price paid.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZacFraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornmillLodge, Owner at Corn Mill Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you - i had to smile about the management comment.

Gordon Jowett M.D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Weetwood Hall Hotel
#29 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds City Centre
Cosmopolitan Hotel
Cosmopolitan Hotel
#21 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corn Mill Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corn Mill Lodge Hotel

Property: Corn Mill Lodge Hotel
Address: Corn Mill Lodge Pudsey Road, Leeds LS13 4JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 86 Hotels in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Corn Mill Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Corn Mill Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corn Mill Hotel Leeds
Corn Mill Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing