We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely break away” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Corn Mill Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Corn Mill Lodge Hotel
Ranked #40 of 86 Hotels in Leeds
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A lovely break away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

This was a lovely spell away for a weekend, would never have discovered or even thought of looking in Leeds for a weekend had it not been for groupon. What a lovely accommodating place lovely staff, lots of parking, bus stop at the gate, 15 mins to the centre of Leeds and all that it has to offer. breakfast was good and plentiful, the toilet roll was the best I've ever had in a hotel. What made it were the staff excellent.

Room Tip: I think that they are all much the same but the bath in our room was shorter than normal
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimnfriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornmillLodge, Owner at Corn Mill Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
We are noted for our toilet rolls not any cheap old rubbish.

Thank you for your review.

Gordon Jowett M.D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    172
    76
    29
    27
See reviews for
74
180
22
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed for one night through a Groupon deal as we were having a night out in Leeds city centre & can't fault the place. Staff very welcoming & helpful, room was a decent size with an even bigger king-size bed! Breakfast was self-serve & you could help yourself to as much as you wanted. Cereal, toast, tea/coffee & every cooked breakfast item you could think of. City centre is a 10 minute taxi drive away & cost £8-9. Well worth it & would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulBrezo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornmillLodge, Owner at Corn Mill Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you

Gordon Jowett M.D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Booked via a Group On deal. Clean and tidy hotel, with friendly staff. The dining room looks a little dated and much like a holiday camp from the 1970's with a self serve for breakfast. We didn't have an evening meal as again it was very dated; prawn cocktail anyone? The bedroom was very roomy with two singles bed pushed together making a large double. Good value for money

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sfudgephotography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornmillLodge, Owner at Corn Mill Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Yes, the restaurant is being updated this year, this we do every 7 years and this is the year.

Thank you

Gordon Jowett M.D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

On Friday, we stayed at Jurys Inn in Newcastle. Typical corporate hotel. Personality-free welcome, corporately sterile service. £10 (extra, per person!) for a buffet-style breakfast with a limited offering. Oh, and £8 a day to park in their car park, quarter of a mile walk away.

On Saturday, we checked into the Corn Mill Lodge Hotel in Leeds. A family-run, modern hotel, just a short drive from Leeds city centre. We parked (free of charge) in the hotels on-site car park. The welcome was genuine and warm. The rooms and facilities therein were of similar quality to our stay at Jurys. The public areas and grounds were equally as clean and well-maintained.

Unlike our stay at Jurys, we decided to eat in the hotel restaurant on Saturday. The menu was varied, the prices were very appealing. My wife ordered the North Sea Dressed Crab starter. At £6.95 in a restaurant, it was more like a lighter main meal than a starter. A whole dressed crab, along with a side salad and prawns, appealingly presented and very 'meaty'. We saw similar dressed crabs on a Leeds market on Sunday for £5 on their own. I opted for the Button Mushrooms and Chorizo starter which was equally impressive and very tasty.

Our main courses, a Butterfly Chicken Breast and the Meat Feast Pizza (with a side order of the hotels proper chips) were cooked to order. The pizza was made with fresh dough, masses of quality toppings and to be fair, I really shouldn't have had the chips, it was overkill. Probably one of the best pizzas I've ever had, and that includes during trips to Italy.

We couldn't manage a dessert, so we took the remains of our bottle of wine back to our room and retired for the evening. We were so well fed that plans for a trip into Leeds were curtailed until the following day.

Sunday began with breakfast. After the Jurys offering, we were ready to have our faith in the Full English experience restored and, again, the Corn Mill didn't disappoint. Cereals are offered both in bulk and in branded packets. Normally, we're OK with 'bulk' cereals but my wife was recently advised to lay-off wheat for a while, so packets with ingredients listed were a Godsend. More choice than our inferior corporate breakfast the day before.

Leeds city centre is a few miles away. And driving into Leeds can be a nightmare if you don't know the roads. And then you'll pay to park. There are bus stops right outside the hotel and the service seems quite reliable and frequent. You can get a day pass for £3.90 which covers you for unlimited travel to and from the city centre until midnight. Or an £8 pass bought after 6pm on Friday will cover you until midnight Sunday.

One night at Jurys cost us £96.50 when two breakfasts were added to the room rate. To that you need to add £8 parking charge too.The rack-rate at the Corn Mill was £70 per night, including breakfast and parking! (We used a Groupon deal at the Corn Mill and got an even better deal, but it would be unfair to compare Jurys price against that.)

Corn Mill Lodge has changed our perception of 'family-run' hotels. In the past, when someone said 'family-run', I immediately thought of the hauntingly-bad grubby B&B's in Blackpool, not a relatively modern newer-build like Corn Mill Lodge. From reception to the restaurant staff, from the night porter to the house-keeping staff, they all always acknowledge you with a smile and a genuine greeting (what I would call a proper Yorkshire welcome!), even if they're just arriving for work, or on their way out after their shift. It makes so much difference.

The next time you're looking for somewhere to stay in Leeds, forget all the big, expensive, clinical corporate bee-hives of rooms where the service is so impersonal, or the lower-end inferior budget hotels. Corn Mill Lodge delivers on quality but with the warmth and personality that can only be given by people that have something of themselves invested in the business. Next time we stay in Leeds, we'll be back at the Corn Mill Lodge.

Room Tip: Even-numbered rooms are away from the road, quieter for lighter sleepers. We were in 125 and it didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rockliffe_Rover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornmillLodge, Owner at Corn Mill Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
What can I say, you must think I wrote this review myself but rest assured I didn't. It says all the things we feel is on offer at the Corn Mill Lodge.

Thank you very much for taking the amount of time you must have spent writing this.

Thank you.

Gordon Jowett M.D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Arrived staff friendly room clean nice food excellent you won't go hungry well priced good location for visiting other attractions we would definitely recommend this to anyone looking at this hotel.............







Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank bigtez123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornmillLodge, Owner at Corn Mill Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for your review.

Gordon Jowett M.D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Clean, comfortable rooms with friendly staff on reception who were happy to accommodate my push bike in a storage room for safety. The free breakfast for weekend visitors was an extensive help yourself menu and all the cooked food was hot and tasty when I came down for the 8 am start. Would definitely recommend it and plan to return here when visiting family in the area.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank jackieplan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornmillLodge, Owner at Corn Mill Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Hi, we look forward to seeing you again.

Gordon Jowett M.D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

We didn't actually stay here because the patient we were planning to visit in Farsley had been moved to the other side of Leeds, but despite the short notice I gave, the lady I spoke to was very pleasant and we stayed at the Britannia Hotel in Seacroft which provided a good evening meal, a good bedl and a good breakfat.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornmillLodge, Owner at Corn Mill Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Nothing wrong with the Britannia hotel at Seacroft, it does belong to a chain of hotels. Sorry we were unable to show you the difference in a medium sized family run hotel.

Hope to see you in the future.

Gordon Jowett M.D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds City Centre
Cosmopolitan Hotel
Cosmopolitan Hotel
#21 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
Weetwood Hall
#29 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corn Mill Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corn Mill Lodge Hotel

Property: Corn Mill Lodge Hotel
Address: Corn Mill Lodge Pudsey Road, Leeds LS13 4JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 86 Hotels in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Corn Mill Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your Corn Mill Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corn Mill Hotel Leeds
Corn Mill Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing