We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location and good room”
Review of Malmaison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Malmaison Hotel
Ranked #15 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2011

Malmaison is perfectly situated for short walk from station and easy access on foot to shops etc. The room was spacious and had everything we needed. Breakfast was well presented and tasty.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank algal15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,389)
There are newer reviews for Malmaison Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,186 - 1,192 of 1,389 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2011

My friend and I stayed at Malmaison Leeds on Friday evening and booked the Girls Night In package. It was excellent value for money, lots of food and a bottle of wine, the website doesn't do it justice. The hotel was of a high standard, rooms were nicely furnished and the beds comfortable. The hotel staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough for you. Would def go back and would certainly try other Malmaison hotels

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tinah210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2011

Only stayed for one night but again the Mal Maison delivered good service a good quality room of a decent size. The cocktail and breakfast deal was great and the breakfast was of a high quality.

The only let down was the size of
The shower. In a bathroom of such a well thoughtout style and tiny cubilcle shower was a bit of a disapointment.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Touringexperience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2011

We stayed for 1 night to celebrate our wedding anniversary. On arrival our room wasn't quite ready (we arrived around 1230) so we left our luggage and went for a walk around the city. The city centre is literally on the door step. Only a few minutes walk and you are in the heart of the shops, bars and restaurants.

When we went back to the hotel our luggage had been taken to our room which was a nice touch. The room was lovely. We were in an end room which had floor to celing curved windows overlooking the river. There were rose petals on the bed and an anniversary card from the hotel, a really nice gesture.

The room facilities were great: iron, ironing board,tea and coffee makkng facilities, hairdryer, tv, DVD player, mini bar. The shower was amazing, it was so powerful and hot! The toileteries are great too and you are encouraged to take them home.

The staff on reception were very pleasent and knowledgable. I had a string of questions which were answered well.

We were booked on a package that included an evening meal and a bottle of wine in the Brasserie. This was a disapointment compared to the rest of the hotel. The menu selection was not vast, the service was pretty slow and the wine was nasty. I wouldn't recommend the Brasserie.

We added on breakfast to our stay. The deal was £30 for 2 breakfasts and 2 cocktails in the bar. A great value deal. A wide selection of cocktails to choose from and the breakfast was good too. The hot food is cooked to order and you help yourself to the continental side of things.

Jimmy Carr was in the hotel while we were there too!

All in all a lovely hotel that I would recommend and return to.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LLA07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2011

Check-in was efficient and friendly. The room was spacious, clean, ticked all the boxes. No wi-fi, but I coped with plug in connection. I paid for an 8 hour connection, thought that would be timed over my stay, didn't realise it was one hit. When I went to connect on my second day my connection had expired, so i do think there should be a better explanation both in the room and perhaps on the website just what you are getting.
I used the restaurant for both dinner and breakfast. I do wish hotels would actually toast the toast. The toast for my poached egg was only crisp on one side, and in the toast rack the bread was tinged on the edges and nowhere else but I was in a hurry so I ignored it.
Previous reviews have commented on the service, I have no complaints on the staff - they were attentive, pleasant and keen to persuade me to have more than I wanted. No my problem was the amount of salt on the meals. I couldn't finish the meals on either night.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fromlincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2011

malmaison excel at fittings and quality - but lose sight of the service and facilities. The room was exquisite, but tiny. The service in the restaurant was dreadful ( we had to ask several times where our food was at dinner.). Dont have breakfast if you need to be somewhere- we waited 40 minutes for food. We were booked on government rate - but they didn't allow us free wifi( free in every other Leeds hotel) as they stated we were not business. government rate is not a leisure break. its work. Dont stay here if you need internet access included, or faster than a snails pace. . Dont stay here if you expect food within 40 minutes of asking. Little things like a choice of pillow do not exists. its soft soft, or soft. dont stay here if you have a bad neck.
in a nutshell, Dont stay here. some of our party were at the Raddison blu, and it was leaps and bounds above the malmaison. Be smart. choose the Raddison. Every time.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nachooooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2011

Just come back from a very enjoyable one night stay in the Malmaisson in Leeds. Lovely decor with the most fantastic staircase entrance. The water pressure in the bathroom I have to say was the best ever- really powerful shower and bath filled in minutes! Beds really comfy and the room was really clean. Well worth a visit!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hetty65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Leeds
Dakota Deluxe Leeds
#1 of 87 in Leeds
240 reviews
Quebecs
#8 of 87 in Leeds
1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
The Queens - Leeds
#11 of 87 in Leeds
3,283 reviews
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Hotel

Address: 1 Swinegate, Leeds LS1 4AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
#14 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
Price Range: £75 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Malmaison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing