We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plenty of potential, just needs some tlc”
Review of Malmaison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Malmaison Hotel
Ranked #15 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 January 2012

First time to experience the Malmaison brand. First impression OK. Professional staff, but quite corporate. My room was quite tired and needed freshening up. Too many promotional messages.....sell,sell,sell. Not sure if I would pay full rate in peak season. If you can get a deal below £100 then worth it

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oz1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,390)
There are newer reviews for Malmaison Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,120 - 1,126 of 1,390 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2012

Stayed here on 11th Jan for 1 night. I am not a moaner by nature - promise, but......!! I arrived quite late , hungry and tired. Room seemed ok and went straight down to restaurant - menu was not very wide ranging and quite pricey , as was the wine. One of the cheaper wines was a Gavi at £26 a bottle - which, despite the cost, did go down well, as did the £16 lamb shank. Was going to try the £9 cheese board but after the waiter who had just cleared various tables of dirty dishes and had hands and nails resembling a mechanic, brought it over and then proceeded to handle each and every cheese on the board as though he was a spin bowler caressing the ball , I decided against it - disgusting!
Anyway back to room, lights out and ready to sleep.....10 mins later a noise from the switched off air conditioning unit kicked in- a constant squeaking noise that just wouldnt go away, i led there about 45 mins but it didnt stop so at 1am I rang reception and to be fair was in another room in about 10 mins, which was fine.
On checkout, there was a robotic apology regarding the inconvenience the night before,but when I was presented with my bill they had charged me a higher rate- based on the fact the
room I was transferred to was a higher grade room!
All in all a bit of a hit and miss experience - good food and wine but at a premium - and not the best night ever spent in a hotel

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Backwell5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We stayed at Malmaison in Leeds just after New Year with the main aim of going shopping.

Malmaison is perfectly positioned in the centre of Leeds, the shops are a 5 minute walk away and the train station is also nearby. The only downside of it being in the centre is that it makes it a nightmare to drive into as Leeds city centre traffic is notoriously confusing.

The hotel was lovely and the room had a massive comfortable bed which meant that we slept well. Excellent filter coffee was provided in the rooms and they provided us with more when we asked.

Breakfast at the hotel was good, but expensive, £13 for a cooked breakfast. I am not sure that quality quite matches the price but it was good.

We booked hotel in LateRooms so got a good deal and I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Apparently the rooms at the back of the hotel overlook the canal. We didn't ask for this as they...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaGuernsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

One night stay - business trip. Friendly and courteous service on arrival (probably the best I have ever received), very nice room, albeit that I had to wait for around 30 mins for it to be made ready (even though I checked in at an appropriate time).
Bar extremely busy with Christmas parties, etc., but service still good, even though the staff were clearly under pressure.
Dinner also very good - although service was a little slow due to the restaurant being totally booked. Quality of food was excellent.
All in all - superb.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAR1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

We normally stay at Quebecs, but stayed here as we wanted DB and B without having to venture out into the cold (we'd been outside all day). I wouldn't say it had the pzazz of the other Mal's we've stayed at (I love Manchester and Oxford in particular), but the room was comfortable, staff were lovely and the food was excellent, despite it being completely rammed with people. Wine list is good, although I think their Prosecco is vastly overpriced. Their chocolate fondant was exceptional. Excellent breakfast - the best in the business in my humble opinion. We'd stay again just for the breakfast, but only if they had a deal on as its a bit expensive for the quality of the room you get really. Its well within walking distance of Leeds city centre and the railway station. There is a car park directly opposite or you can park on the road overnight. I miss the iPod docks - they needs to put them in every room like they used to!

Room Tip: Get a deal on an upgraded room if you can - they are more spacious and have a few added extras that...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherbertlemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

My partner and I stayed here on 30th December and we were very disappointed.The room was basic, run down and very very small as it was on the corner on the hotel. Stayed in the past in the travel lodge over the road and that hotel was far superior. We usually stay in Hilton hotels and will stick to them from now on, will definately not return.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trevor R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

I've stayed here before and can say standards have definitely not slipped. In fact I'd say the staff have become friendlier. We needed the pillows & duvet changing for feathers (i'm allergic) - no problem, one call and 2 minutes later they were changed. I miss the plug-your-iPod-into-the-sound system they used to have - tho there are Blu-Ray players in the rooms now but that's a minor grumble. My only issue was why room service were knocking on my door at 9am asking if they can come in to clean the room. Sure, I should have put a do not disturb sign on my door but...

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christianuncut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Leeds
Dakota Deluxe Leeds
#1 of 87 in Leeds
240 reviews
Quebecs
#8 of 87 in Leeds
1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
The Queens - Leeds
#11 of 87 in Leeds
3,283 reviews
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Hotel

Address: 1 Swinegate, Leeds LS1 4AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
#14 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
Price Range: £75 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Malmaison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing