We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great night”
Review of Malmaison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Malmaison Hotel
Ranked #12 of 86 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great night”
Reviewed 9 May 2012

We often travel with our two little dogs and Malmaison allows you to enjoy a nice break with little fuss around the dogs with a small surcharge. We stayed on one of their deals, dinner, wine and overnight stay- great value for money. Hotel easy to find, we asked for a quiet room which was accommodated. We had a really big corner room, blackout curtains were fantastic. Dinner was the best, I have food intolerances which were easily accommodated by a very helpful and inventive chef which made all the difference as a lot of places can make me feel like a pain, alternatives to the menu were quickly whipped up and absolutely delicious! A great stay, really relaxing with great food.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor as on weekends it could be noisy from the busy bars nearby
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickie_lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    552
    504
    157
    61
    39
See reviews for
95
619
43
285
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rainham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

I stayed here with friends in May in one of the wettest weekends of the year. From the moment I arrived, I was greeted with warm and very efficient staff. The room was quiet, with decent amenities (inc. free wifi) and decent coffee in the room, something many places are starting to lose! The mini bar was well stocked, and I have never seen taps in the bath run so fast!

The bar was good, and stayed open late which was useful when popping in for the occasional night cap

Overall, it would be my first choice every time visiting!

Room Tip: I stayed in room 310, which was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012 via mobile

Leeds Mal is the other place referred to in a review submitted about 42 the Calls.

We have stayed here on numerous occasions and basically just love it. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, the bar is excellent and they turn out a mean Bloody Mary. The restaurant is fresh with professional and competent staff and local produce on the menu which is always a must.

The breakfast is up there in my top three with a massive choice which will just leave you wanting to slide back upstairs and lie down till 5 minutes before check out time.

Can't recommend Mal enough for just getting it right in every aspect.

Stayed January 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Jus592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Stayed here for one night with my husband. We found this to be a lovely hotel, nicely furnished, in a good location and with friendly efficient staff. We did not eat in the hotel in the evening but we did visit the bar which had a nice (not too noisy) atmosphere. The breakfast was very enjoyable and it is the first hotel that we have visited where the chefs managed to cook my husband's bacon to his somewhat fussy satisfaction (crispy)! We would definitely recommend this hotel and will definitely re-book if re-visiting Leeds.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dizzy-wife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Having experienced the decadence that is Malmaison a couple of times before, our experience in Leeds was as good as expected.

ROOM: The room, a superior twin, was large and comfortable; we were glad to have upgraded from the standard size as you get a bit more space and chairs/coffee table.

SERVICE: Always excellent at Malmaison.

FOOD: Breakfast was a real treat, with so much choice from the continental spread and then a choice of cooked breakfast. The only negative of our entire stay was that the poached eggs one morning were solid all the way through, which I wouldn't even bother mentioning if we hadn't heard a woman complaining about the very same thing the morning before - so once the egg chef fixes that it will be absolutely perfect! We also had dinner on one evening and did the Three Tenners menu - 2 courses each and a bottle of house wine for £30 - which was great value and excellent quality. The house wine, a Spanish Tempranillo, was surprisingly good and drinkable, and the cost of the meal was far less than if we had gone a la carte.

LOCATION: Very close to the High Street, but far enough away that there is no noise at night. A five minute walk to the station as well.

OVERALL: In summary, another excellent, relaxing and luxurious Mal experience. Not exactly cheap, but well worth it.

Room Tip: Upgrading to superior is definitely worthwhile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reindeerman83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

My night at the Malmaison Hotel in Leeds was fantastic. The hotel is very close to the main shopping areas, and transport.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful, I arrived a little early for check in but it was easy to store bags..in fact, my bags were in my room once I got back to the hotel later in the day.
The decor is very funky, rooms are small but as a solo traveller more than enough for me.
The free and generous size toiletries pack was a real bonus..I think they would have been sad if I had not taken my pack!
I stayed here on a Saturday night and had no issues with noise levels from other entertainment areas.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

I stayed here only for 1 night and have to say that out of all the places I have stayed in the world Its one of my favourites. The room was quite expensive and the bathroom quite small however it was very clean and the location is fantastic both for travel off the freeway and train station and also for getting about by foot. The decor is really quirky and modern and I think this adds to its unique factor.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephanie101photo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
The Queens - Leeds
#11 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,149 reviews
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quebecs
#9 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Roomzzz Leeds City
#4 of 86 in Leeds
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Hotel

Property: Malmaison Hotel
Address: 1 Swinegate, Leeds LS1 4AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
#14 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Malmaison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing