We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Great Location”
Review of Malmaison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Malmaison Hotel
Ranked #16 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Passed this hotel a few times on the way around the loop as it is a little hidden - well not obvious!
Prior to booking i found the price varied drastically from site to site, ended up booking a single B&B for £99
Was in room 401 (which turned out to be next to and adjecent boyband One Direction) It was small but clean and fully equipped and had the comfiest bed in the world. Had the fulll English for breakfast and it left alot to be desired - would deffo suggest trying something else!
It is city center location and ideal for weddings, romantic nights and nights out.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sammielollipop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,092 - 1,098 of 1,434 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2012

Always reliable, a super litlle hotel in a lovely conversion. Perhaps a bit dated now but still understated urban cool. The staff at the mal in Leeds are simply great.- friendly and helpful. Breakfast is individually cooked - a rarity that beats the usual dreadful buffet by a long way and the restaurant is good, as is the bar. Shame they don't do any decent lager on draft.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012 via mobile

I've stayed at this property on a number of occasions but have noticed standards slipping of late. The rooms offer all the usual niceties expected from such a high quality brand and are very comfortable. The quality of rooms differs markedly depending on location - some are quite badly affected by street noise but the staff will move you if you ask. The bar and restaurant areas provide great places to meet and socialise.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonnyUKtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

we stayed at the mal for my wife's 40th birthday and had booked into Brasserie Blanc for our evening meal. The location of the Mal meant we could wander around Leeds all day and only ever be 5 mins from our hotel. the restraunt was also just round the corner as was the train station. I also had rang a few days ahead to arange flowers and champagne for the room . the staff didn't let me down and were very helpful through out our stay.

Top marks!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights during the week for some mother & daughter time away from home. Reception staff were very welcoming, helpful with attractions and directions etc and couldn't be faulted at all. First room we checked into was a bit weird ... It had no real windows! But we requested a room change and again reception were wonderful moving us straight away. Continental breakfast buffet was included in price which was fine and the location is fairly good too for getting around Leeds - the main attractions you can walk too even though the area the hotel is in is in itself not great. We had cocktails in the hotel bar one night which I would give a miss if I went again! The cocktail list was extensive but the drinks themselves very weak and tasteless. The manager gave us another drink on the house and said he'd get them made to a different recipe - to be honest they were better but not great. Having Sid that you really couldn't fault the customer service and i'd say here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vodkagirl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Give me a Premier inn over these type of hotels any day because at least
you know what you getting room wise and the cleanliness is always the same . This was Not the cleanest of hotels very dark and dingy looking corridors very very dark lighting and paintwork what probably hides a lot of the muck . Paid for a superior room and the blinds were wick with dust ,bedside lamp dusty was really ready to be re done very tatty looking room. wasn't impressed at all and that was even before ventured into the town. Ugh stag and hen parradise ,no thank you won't be returning to either? After being woken at 7am Sunday morning road works (no fault of hotel but still very annoying) we went and had Breakfast . Girls waiting on were polite and breakfast was quite tasty couldn't fault that and then i was happy to be on my way x Had a giggle to ourselves whilst checking out as the girl asked what room we stayed 406 my husband replied ,she looked up and said oh what a lovely room to stay in ha ha ha I wouldn't of liked to of seen state of the rest of them then .

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cowls-cams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Very luxurious hotel with very polite staff and fantastic showers. Right by Leeds gay scene, so staggering distance back to the hotel. Very clean and minibar was well stacked and reasonably priced. Had cocktails in the bar before going out and eggs benedict for breakfast, what more can you ask for. Will definitely return once my hangovers gone.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Leeds
Dakota Deluxe Leeds
#1 of 87 in Leeds
325 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quebecs
#6 of 87 in Leeds
1,126 reviews
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#23 of 87 in Leeds
2,138 reviews
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Hotel

Address: 1 Swinegate, Leeds LS1 4AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
#14 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
Price Range: £76 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Malmaison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing