We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Very Noisy rooms!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Malmaison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Malmaison Hotel
Ranked #12 of 86 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very Very Noisy rooms!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel last night. Yes it was New Year's Eve however the night life / music from near by bars is no louder or busier than any other Friday or Saturday night. We were on the 4th floor over looking the main road and all we could hear was music all night and people shouting. We are from the area and as a young couple we were more than aware of the hotel proximity to the nightnife which suited us, but never in a million years did I expect it to be so noisy up in our room. Even after we had plenty of drinks ourself it wasn't enough to knock me out! I have stopped in quieter club 1830 hotels. Im presuming it must be as the windows are so thin. If you are staying over a weekend make sure you get a room that is not over looking the road, you will get no sleep what so ever. Really disappointed!
The reception area and bar is stunning and the staff were by professional. Our room Was comfortable. The furniture is worn and old and could do with a re vamp. The Bed velvet covers had a stain on it and the bathroom could do with re sealing around the tiles. Bathroom products supplied are lovely and smell Devine. The hall ways are also worn and tired. It reslly does need a re furb! The mini bar and wine in the room was very cheap at £14. The malmaison bar is a little expensive at £9 a cosmopolitan but very tasty at that and worth the treat. We stay over in Leeds quite a lot , I wouldn't stop in this malmaison again as it doesn't live up to the standards I had of it. I'm a travel agent and don't think twice about paying for luxury , which I feel we didn't receive here. I would stop in other mals however. Overall a Stunning building and reception. Just very very noisy rooms, such a shame and let down.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sunshine_Worshiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    539
    495
    154
    61
    38
See reviews for
93
609
43
275
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

Great rooms, Great Bar and a nice classy atmosphere! A great hotel whether that be for business or for pleasure! Next time I'm in Leeds on business I will be staying here!! (And for dinner.. the Mal-burger was the best choice!)

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MGZW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012 via mobile

An amazing christmas. We were made to feel at home. Great food! Fabulous rooms. Expensive but well worth it. Staff were amazing from start to finish. 10 of us for lunch. The best christmas ever was has by us all! Champagne cocktails all round! Brilliant!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kinz38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincs
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2012

This was the second time we have stayed here. The staff are excellent, happy and very helpfull. Rooms great, very clean, lovely extras. The breakfast was fabulous. Really enjoyed our stay would come again for sure.

Room Tip: Round the back away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshinelincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaham harbour
Level Contributor
127 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2012 via mobile

We have just returned from the excellent Malmaison in Leeds having been part of a group of 59 colleagues celebrating a Christmas party. It was a delight to encounter pleasant and professional staff who were at ease in providing an attentive service. The surroundings were luxurious and the private room was festooned with seasonal decorations and party treats on each table.
The food was the best I had experienced at a large event. The vegetables were fresh and perfectly al dente. Great pride was taken with presentation. As is always the case a number of issues arose with the requirements of our group all were attended to by Adam and his team with good grace and manners.
I can't praise the team enough who worked front of house and behind the scenes to make the Leeds University Business School PGR Christmas meal a roaring success.

Many thanks

Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mick_and_Jules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sowerby Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2012

Having previously stayed at Mal Manchester. Leeds was a disappointment. All fur coat and no knickers to be precise! The reception and bar area impress but the rooms felt very functional, bland,beige and more suited to business travellers. The only splash of colour/ personality in the room was a purple satin throw on the bed. This was stained. As this was an anniversary treat, not the best ambience. The service at the bar was also pretty slack. Despite it not being particularly busy, the waiter clearly forgot that we existed after taking our drinks order. We eventually gave up and used the mini bar instead. There are much nicer places in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonnaMFriendly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorks
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2012

We stayed here as an anniversary treat after enjoying a break in the manchester branch a few years ago. Compared to Manchester, for me, Leeds Mal is a disappointment. Although the reception area and the bar area meet expectations, the actual rooms were bland, beige and more suited to business travellors, not for romance!
We also attempted to use the bar area in the evening but despite the fact that it wasn't especially busy for a Saturday night. The guy who took our drinks order must have forgotten we existed and after waiting for about 15 minutes, the drinks failed to materialise. We retired to the room and used the mini bar instead. All in all, a let down and certainly not worth the room rate.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank soulmanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
The Queens - Leeds
#10 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,095 reviews
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quebecs
#8 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,051 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Roomzzz Leeds City
#3 of 86 in Leeds
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Hotel

Property: Malmaison Hotel
Address: 1 Swinegate, Leeds LS1 4AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
#14 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Malmaison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing