We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently good!”
Review of Malmaison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Malmaison Hotel
Ranked #17 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 February 2013

I've stayed here a few times now and consider it for the price we paid to be one of the best value in Leeds. Our room was on the small side but an extremely comfy bed made up for this. We ate in the brassserie and we were happy with the choice and service. We returned to our rooms with a bottle of wine to watch tv and relax. I do think the hotel is lovely and the bar is very dark and sumptuous however I do think a Little redecorating is needed in parts and maybe updating of TVs and toiletries. We got a deal off last minute and would def stay again as its convenient location to shops etc.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,489)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,084 - 1,090 of 1,489 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2013

When this hotel describes itself as located in the city centre, it isn't kidding, normally I would avoid this sort of location as it usually means a very disturbed night with very little sleep. However the Malmaison deals with this problem very well. The character of this building makes an impression as you walk up the enterance, and this in enforced in the Lobby / Reception area. Check in was quick and efficient and first impressions was very favourable. You have to admire the interior design as they seem to have achieved a mix of old world style with new world contemporary. Not easy to get right. The room can best be described as 'quirky!' The room was a good size and the high ceiling also helped make it appear bigger than it was, it was also spotlessly clean. It is worth looking through all the cupboards and draws as many of them contain little surprises. The amply stocked minibar had a good range of drinks and snacks and prices were in general similar to those charged in most pubs. I don't know if it was a special promotion but when I was there they were offering a standard bottle of red wine for £13.95 - almost super market prices!
The room service after 10.pm was a little basic, and prices were certainly not as bad as some other hotel chains, although they do add a service charge and a 'tray tax' although again it was lower than the competition.
The one thing that did seem out of place was the TV which was small and housed in a unit that looked as though it had been made in somebody's garage! It also fixed the TV in one position. The problem with some flat screen TV's is they have to be viewed at the correct angle to see the optimum quality picture. Unfortunately you can't see the TV properly from the bed, and although they do provide a comfy chair (1!) it is way to low for the height of the TV resulting in a dim picture and a sore neck!
The bed was a super king and very comfortable, they also did not try to roast you alive through the night. My room was facing the front of the building which overlooking a very busy and active street, The only 2 interruptions I had were a Police car passing below using its siren and the a vacuum road sweeper at 5.pm. Not at all bad when you think it was a Saturday Night the street life was very active until the small hours.
I did not get a chance to sample breakfast as it was not served until 8.00am and I had to leave at 7.30, - they did offer a Continental Breakfast in a box on room service but they did not go into details of what it consisted of and it seemed expensive, - and that was before you added the extra charges.
Check out was simple and straight forward, and they also show they have a sense of humour, as instead of saying "Bill', 'Invoice' or 'Statement 'at the top - it simply says 'The Damage!'
This is the first time I have stayed at a Malmaison and I am impressed, - I will now try others in the chain.

Room Tip: Try and get a room at the back if you want to reduce street noise, that said they do a lot more than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveLD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

We were taking our son back to University and decided to treat ourselves, having had a poor experience in a large hotel chain previously. Staff were amazingly friendly, attentive and non-pretentious. The room was fine in appearance and functional but the bed, oh my, the bed was truly amazing and that was the best night's sleep EVER. Quality linens e.g. Towels, curtains etc as you would expect with Malmaison and free toiletries which encouraged you to take them - reverse psychology maybe - we didn't. We ate the rump steak (thin and therefore only served medium or well done), plus sirloin, rare. Both done to perfection with a good bottle of Malbec to wash it down. Be aware they don't have a late bar so be prepared to go out if you want late drinks. We had another bottle of wine and were not ushered out. Best of all a premiership football team (who behaved impeccably) were in residence during our stay but this did not distract the staff in terms of service to other residents, which has happened previously in restaurants/hotels . We didn't get to see or use the Gymtonic so cannot comment but overall an excellent experience. Centrally based for walking distance to the station, City Centre and other amenities.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Fifitinto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

My boyfriend arranged this surprise stay in Leeds. The Hotel was absolutely fantastic! The room was on the small side but there were only two of us. Loved the soap and other toiletries provided. The decor was ok, a little on the dark side. We had cocktails downstairs using a 2 for £13 vouchers then went out for dinner and we were loaned an umbrella by reception, which was nice. Breakfast was fantastic but the room was stifling - needs sorting out. Overall, we had an amazing time and would definately return.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veronny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the hotel over Christmas. We checked in on Christmas eve and had a warm welcome.Breakfast on Christmas morning was really nice and there was a festive atmosphere. Our room was spacious but the tv was too small for the size of the room. We checked out on boxing day after having a chilled couple of nights in a very comfy bed!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

I took my boyfriend here for his Birthday and we had a fab time. They had even put out chocolates and a birthday card in the room,a very nice attention to detail, made us feel very welcome.
Loved the room, most comfortable bed in the world. Has a nice luxury feel to the room.

We had a meal package at the restaurant and were given a great table. Food was nice, the nicest cheese cake I've ever had. Afterwards we finished our drinks in the bar area, nice beer and wine selections. and were planning on going out in Leeds but were having such a nice time we stayed here all night!

Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sdolphin81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Back from a fab weekend away with friends. Stylish hotel in a central location, handy for bars & restaurants etc. The rooms were clean, spacious & well equipped, but OMG soooo cold!! In fact all of the hotel was cold even the bar & restaurant. Bathroom floors would definitely benefit from underfloor heating!!! We had thought that the thermostat in the room was faulty, but having spoken to friends the following morning it seems theirs didnt work either.Top tip when travelling in the winter months, ask for a heater for your room as the staff will tell you its a very old & draughty building!! Breakfast was excellent and the room rate was ok. We all booked direct and paid £120 per room for B & B. Shop around though as you can get a much better deal if you pay in advance!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Legsov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Leeds
Dakota Deluxe Leeds
#1 of 87 in Leeds
409 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#25 of 87 in Leeds
2,183 reviews
Quebecs
#6 of 87 in Leeds
1,143 reviews
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Hotel

Address: 1 Swinegate, Leeds LS1 4AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
#14 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
Price Range: £75 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Malmaison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing