We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Malmaison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Malmaison Hotel
Ranked #12 of 86 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Average hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2009

Stayed in here for 1 night with high expectations following good stays at other Malmaison hotels. The location is good for the shops etc but the service wasnt great, the room was pretty small and nothing special. After a walk round the shops we wanted to watch a dvd in the room before going down to dinner in the restaurant. Dvd player didnt work, engineer called who couldnt get it to work so he brought us another one, which didnt work either! We gave up at this point. On the plus side the meal we had in the restaurant was delicious which made up for it.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tessah25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    525
    491
    154
    59
    38
See reviews for
87
600
42
274
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2009

Went for my Mum's 60th Birthday. The food was wonderful (and local) and so to was the service. The rooms are comfortable and well equipped. All the staff were friendly and attentive. The Sunday supplement rate is brilliant!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GammonBaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2009

While the location and rooms are good (not excellent), whenever we stay there is always something wrong. Either the keycard doesn't work or the room is noisy. They also take the room charge plus £50 deposit as a 'hold' from your account without telling you this is what they are going to do. Along with this 'held' amount they take the room amount - more than doubling what you thought would be taken (and therefore unavailable) from your account.

I thnk they seriously need to "up" their game to compete with other Hotesl of similar pricing.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuLuKittyBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2009

Something about this hotel makes is 'just ok' for me.....sounds funny but I can't put my finger on it but everything is simply ok. I have stayed in better hotels.
I don't think it's all it's made out to be, however is central and good for shopping. Breakfast is served until 11am at the weekend which is a plus. Contrary to other reviews on here, we found the reception staff to be most helpful and friendly.
Would suggest a stay at the new City Inn instead.

(NB free internet is only for 30mins, otherwise it costs £7.50 for 8hrs (not wifi - you need to plug in) City Inn is wireless and free internet

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthamptonMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2009

We got a reasonable room rate of £70 including breakfast.

The breakfast was excellent, good quality, good choice and well cooked. On the Sunday we had a short wait as 'everyone has come down at the same time' but it wasn't the end of the world.

The property is typical Mal style - dark furniture, lighting, decor. Its nice quality though, comfortable beds and good toiletries.

The reception and door staff were professional and friendly, exactly as you would like them to be.

What let the hotel down a little though was the cleaning. There was thick dust on a lot of the furntiture and on the walls in the corridors too, and the skirting boards, they need to employ more cleaners, and instill higher standards.

This didn't put me off staying again however. Overall we had a good stay.

The parking is expensive in the nearby Q carpark but it was a very well lit and modern and I felt comfortable leaving my SLK there for the weekend! They even provide complimentary umbrellas, to be returned when you return to your car.

For the room rate I would stay there again, but I wouldn't pay more than that.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mini-breaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
287 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2009

This hotel is typical of the Malmaison style and charm.

The rooms were large and spacious but still luxurious.

Discounted parking at the nearby NCP car park available.

Small bar area wth busy restaurant.

Very close to the town centre.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2009

My wife and I stayed here for 1 night and we were looking forward to a romantic dinner. Unfortunately we were let down. The hotel is very nice and the rooms are clean and luxurious. However, they're not very spacious. The reception staff are marvelous. Very professional and helpful. The bar area is pleasant but the night we were there, they had live music and it was quite busy and no way of finding a seat. The restaurant was not so pleasant. Very, very small. Tables almost on top of each other. The tables themselves were very small which made it very cramped when food was brought with side plates etc. The food was extremely average but expensive. I don't mind to pay more for nice food but if I have to pay more for 'pub grub' then I don't think it's acceptable. Our dinner was cold and presentation was without thought. The desert was not even edible. Our 19 moth old daughter can make a much nicer black forest gateaux! The restaurant staff didn't seem to care that much, or if they did, they weren't sure what to do. When I asked for the discretionary 10% service charge to be taken off the bill, nobody questioned why. It's a shame the food/restaurant let the hotel down as the rest of the stay was lovely.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorenzo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
The Queens - Leeds
#10 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,046 reviews
Quebecs
#7 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Roomzzz Leeds City
#3 of 86 in Leeds
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Hotel

Property: Malmaison Hotel
Address: 1 Swinegate, Leeds LS1 4AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
#14 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Malmaison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing