We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cheap, clean and very welcoming”
Review of High Bank Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
High Bank Hotel
Ranked #71 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“cheap, clean and very welcoming”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

It was such a lovely hotel to stay in, we stayed here last Saturday for one night so we could have a night out in Leeds and it was perfect for what we needed. it is a bit out of the centre of Leeds but for the money its brilliant, it’s about £8 in a taxi to get into the centre. We stayed in the quad room, it was spacious and had enough room, the bathroom was clean and the beds were so comfy and clean. It’s still needs a bit of work doing to it, but overall it was clean enough for us. We didn’t taste the breakfast as we didn’t get up in time.
I would defiantly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    32
    20
    12
    24
See reviews for
11
27
18
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dartmoor National Park, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,297 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4,258 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed for one night whilst visiting family in Leeds. Picked this hotel as good price and knew parking included whereas in the city centre you have to pay. Bit of a odd location for the hotel, but it was clean and the room comfortable enough. The continental breakfast was fine. Five minutes walk to the bus stops and shops. Overall good value, would happily use again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chammp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

So glad we stayed here and were not put off by the reviews of years ago long before the current owners took over. The hotel was welcoming, the bed was really comfortable and the ease of getting to and from the Arena better than we could have hoped. The continental breakfast was great value for money and the coffee excellent.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilly21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The hotel is a couple of miles from the city centre but walkable in about 45 mins. I had a single room with shared bathroom. 5 nights for only £115. Nice room, small but all you need. Good to have a private (free) car park. Friendly staff and accommodating when I had to check out early and had trouble with the internet (also free). Would have been 5 stars but the shower didn't have much pressure and was quite low down. They're still renovating the hotel so I assume this will be fixed soon. Would stay again definitely.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JTurts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Large spacious and clean room, private car park, en-suite bathroom, lovely breakfast, relatively quiet hotel.

Hotel is not in the city centre, it's about a 10 minute taxi ride in for about £7 if you book with Premier. But just ask the receptionist to book it for you, if you go with a black and white cab they apparently charge you a lot more!

We needed an early check in and they made sure they got in to clean the room within five minutes of the previous guests leaving so we could then get in :)

Worse thing is that whenever you have a shower everything ends up getting soaked in the bathroom because of the condensation.

Other than that you can't really complain. Very helpful and accommodating staff as well.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed here for two nights with my girl friend the room was very nice the staff could not have been more friendly and the breakfast was really nice and there was a good choice available when you consider it was free the hotel had free parking free internet and was so clean

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elblo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Photographs and comments on here were very misleading and hotel is at least 10- 15mins away to town centre in a taxis! Bus stop was a 20min walk down / up a hill. Our room for four of us was basic with a small fan to warm room. Part of the hotel has been updated but overall needs more than a lick of paint! Continental breakfast was a joke as when we went down for it there was no Danish pastries left, no fruit, coffee tasted of cardboard with bits in, orange juice was so bitter must have been cheap. Hotel had tiles, tv lying on the floor in breakfast area, mess on the floor, wasn't a good look. Hotel as potential just requires a full refurbishment. Sorry but I can not recommend this hotel as one its too far away, two the area is very rough with scary people around and three it was to basic for us. What you would save on taxis you could spend on booking a nicer hotel within walking distance into town, we would not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Leeds hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
0.3 mi away
The Avenue Hotel
The Avenue Hotel
#54 of 87 in Leeds
129 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ascot Grange Hotel
Ascot Grange Hotel
#1 of 9 in Headingley
405 reviews
2.7 mi away
Britannia Leeds Hotel
Britannia Leeds Hotel
#70 of 87 in Leeds
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Leeds Centre
2.0 mi away
Discovery Inn Leeds
Discovery Inn Leeds
#41 of 87 in Leeds
846 reviews
4.2 mi away
Travelodge Leeds Colton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Bank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Bank Hotel

Property: High Bank Hotel
Address: 83 Harehills Lane | Chapel Allerton, Leeds LS7 4HA, England (Formerly Topview Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — High Bank Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High Bank Hotel islocated in the well-known city of Leeds. This property has been fully refurbished to a good modern standard by its new owners in 2013. Each room is individually decorated and is quite unique boasting features including high ceilings, scenic views of the city, tiled en suite or non en suite bathroom for those who would have lower budgets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your High Bank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highbank Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing