We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spectacular restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Leeds Art Gallery

Leeds Art Gallery
Ranked #37 of 149 things to do in Leeds
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Please note that Leeds Art Gallery will be temporarily closed to visitors after British Art Show 8 ends on 10th January 2016. This is to allow for major repairs to the Victorian roof of the building. The building will reopen in 2017. The beautiful Tiled Hall cafe will remain open to visitors whilst these works take place as will the Gallery shop. We apologise for the disappointment this will cause.
Useful Information: Stairs / lift, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Spectacular restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

The restaurant here is well worth a visit. All tiles and brass. Spectacular for a council owned building. Paintings not bad either.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    82
    37
    18
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great cafe and great Praxitella”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

I agree (like other reviews tend to reflect) the café of this gallery is a lovely place to have a snack and a coffee - the food is nice and some of the portions can be small but good value for money and it's easy to find a seat except at really busy times - huge area to sit and the window seats are great in particular. The gallery has lots of interesting paintings including Stanley Spencer but also Sutherland, Nicholson and I love Wyndham Lewis's Praxitella.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank sarah1234562014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“5 stars due to cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Lovely building and some interesting pictures but to me (so shallow) it was the lovely old tiled cafe that made it for me. Food was very tasty and such a nice environment to sit in. Now when I "shop" in Leeds this is where I will eat

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TinaFlintham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
334 reviews
245 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,386 helpful votes
“Leeds City Museum is better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Not very interesting from the artists point of view: no real great names are among them except for Henry Moore. There is a strange smell in the rooms and the cornices are full of dust. There seems to be little care given to the place. The cafe' though is nice and hospitable. I found the City Museum to be much more interesting and varying.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JeanPaulBelmondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Leeds Art Gallery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Beautiful building & easy to find in the city centre. It's smaller than a lot of big cities' principal art galleries but had some very nice pieces. I'm more interested in classic work but there was a modern installation by Bruce McLean entitled 'Beyond the Pose' which was interesting & insightful.
The book shop was fantastically well stocked although we all felt the gift shop was a little lacking & let's face it - we all love a good gift shop.
We didn't make use of the cafe facilities although it looked clean & bright. None of us have kids but there were plenty of children's activites which we also made use of.
All in all a good visit & would do so again.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank masie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Leeds Art Gallery also viewed

 

Been to Leeds Art Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing