We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a beautiful arcade”
Review of Thornton's Arcade

Thornton's Arcade
Ranked #27 of 152 things to do in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
127 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“What a beautiful arcade”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

This arcade has the most amazing Victorian architecture. It was a real surprise. When crossing the city centre I used this as a shortcut just so I could enjoy it again and again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    81
    14
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
leeds
Level Contributor
429 reviews
172 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“For kids of all ages.”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Okay, I admit it - even as an OAP I still like to time my passing through the arcade to see the clock do it's thing. Been going since 1877 I'm told and the best free show in town.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank imacbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barton upon Humber, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“So unusual”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Good to kill a few hours in, or to shelter from the snow :) lots of different things to look at, some rather unusual

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hayley Louise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Classic!”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

A stunning Victorian Arcade,with superb architecture and a fantastic selection of Mid To up market Niche retailers.
Lovely places to have a wee coffee etc.
A must if your in Leeds and just down from Harvey Nicks-----Go on treat yourself!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank northernroamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a Gem”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

This is a really beautiful arcade. The decoration is to be marveled at. We had a cup of tea in the HN arcade cafe, and it felt very special. Wonderful shops for those with some disposable income. Definitely the place to buy a beautiful gift, or to spoil yuorself.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyndielooops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thornton's Arcade also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Thornton's Arcade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing