We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely couple of hours”
Review of Thwaite Mills

Thwaite Mills
Ranked #42 of 155 things to do in Leeds
Attraction details
Wakefield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A lovely couple of hours”
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Cycled to Thwaite Mill from Wakefield along the Aire Calder navigation , it took nearly 2 hours to cycle there, and you have one bridge to carry your bike up 2 flights steps. we had a cuppa tea and a guided tour, very informative and a lovely couple of hours and being a Yorkshire lass we didn’t spend a tenner, great value for money. Cycled back to Wakefield all in all a lovely day and would recommend to anyone likes industrial history

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wendy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    20
    4
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful interesting place to take the kids.”
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We take the kids here often, it`s a nice place to picnic and just chill out with the them, there are loads of interesting things to see and there is even a working water wheel, a fantastic piece of history, my three year old grandson loves it here especially, because he can go round with his dad and learn, he is steam mad and loves the steam crane, the attraction days are really good, you can have boat rides and there is a craft fair sometimes, plus get hot dogs burgers ect.. There isn`t a cafe here, ( it would spoil it ) but you can get drinks.
It is a shame this lovely place isn`t advertised more, and that Leeds council has removed the old website, where you could find out what was going on month by month by just clicking.
All in all a cracking day out for everyone.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A Local Gem!”
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We have been on several occasions to this wonderful attraction, (my Wife and 2 Grandsons), and have never been disappointed. We often start by having a stroll down by the canal before going into the mill.

We`ve enjoyed the event days,and just the tour days. It is a pity that the mill no longer maufactures the putty (is it still used nowadays?) as the smell often brings back childhood memories of Dad having to put a new pane of glass into a broken space!

The Engineering shop, is a fascination for young and old. Well done to the staff in all departments!



Regarding the comments by "toneypiefacejunior" food is available on some event days, or you could take a picnic! ...what do you normally do? computer games?

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Davidw367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“A pleasant couple of hours”
Reviewed 30 June 2012

We went As part of the Waterfront Festival. There was a free open top bus from the wharfs in the city. It's a pleasant enough place on a sunny day. Lots of boats to see and you can look round the mill and a house kitted out in 40's style. It's nothing remarkable but I think worth a look.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gary488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Amazing history on our doorstep”
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Very well preserved and some of the items which seem so old are in living memory - worth a visit.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank CatK2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thwaite Mills also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Thwaite Mills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing