We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go with friends if you are not in a hurry!”
Review of Nabu Cafe Bar & Diner - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Nabu Cafe Bar & Diner
Restaurant details
guiseley
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Go with friends if you are not in a hurry!”
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Visited with party of friends one evening. Staff very limited in number, but excellent - very friendly, but service very slow,probably due to only one waitress to cover everyone. This did not matter as we were there for the evening, but no good if you are in a rush. Menu varied - not very extensive, but at least not outfaced with large choice. Main course very good but vegetables very poor - should have been supplied with twice the amounnt. Nice local atmosphere - would visit again. recommended for age 40 plus.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank leoleodis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    4
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Excellent and varied menu”
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Group of 7 friends on a Friday night... we were spoiled for choice of excellent and interesting mains and deserts. Attentive and friendly service, and complimentary limoncello to finish. But vegetables were rather disappointing, and there was quite a delay before the food appeared on the table. So - not recommended if you are in a rush, but for a large group with good conversation, the waiting was tolerable. Very recommendable in the neighbourhood.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thetwomuskateers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Visit marred by poor service”
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We have visted this establishment on numerous occasions and when the restaurant first opened we really liked it and the service was excellent and the owner could not do enough for you (e.g. if we wanted something from the breakfast menu for lunch such as an omelette this was no problem at all)
On our last few visits the owner has not been around and we have found the waitress to be not very helpful. We took an elderly relation whose diet is limited but were told that we were 30 minutes too late for an omelette and the chef would not like it if we asked. As regular customers who have taken many visitors we did not like this reply but obviously the chefs opinion is more important. We were also not impressed with the attitude which in our opinion was surly.
The service on the last few occasions has also been really slow - up to 40 minutes which is no good when you are on a 1 hour lunch break from work.
We have in the past enjoyed the lunches but we have visited on an evening and were disappointed with the quality of food for an evening meal. The prices are not particularly cheap and the food was not to the standard I would expect e.g. frozen vegetables.
It is a real shame in that such a nice place is spoilt by the unhelpful service and poor attitudes and long waiting times as otherwise we would have been recommending this place. We have recommended it to numerous people in the past but will not be doing so again and will also not be visiting again ourselves unless the place reverts to how it was when it first opened.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Absolutely !!! eccellente very ,very good !!”
Reviewed 21 September 2011

with my family we had a perfect meal >>>>: steak very tender and perfectly cooked . Lobster with Linguine as good as top restaurant in London . Perfect servise and friendly staff luigino

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank luigino447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, UK
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Nice food, reserving judgement on the service”
Reviewed 30 June 2011

Have been here twice now, once with colleagues for lunch, and more recently with friends for breakfast. On the first visit, it was all nice and good: the service, the food, the ambience and the decor. On the second visit, the experience was let down by really slow service. It may have been an understaffing problem as the one waitress on duty seemed busy. But we has to wait ages for someone to take our order and ages for three relatively simple breakfasts to arrive. I want to go again, and I hope this last visit was a blip. It deserves to be successful as we need a nice cafe in this part of town. I'll report back after my next visit and update this review.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank canningtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nabu Cafe Bar & Diner also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing