We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed my stay, just a little more attention to customer care would be appreciated” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Ranked #12 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Enjoyed my stay, just a little more attention to customer care would be appreciated”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed in room 239 from Saturday to Monday and generally was happy with the hotel. I had read a few reviews online which led me to request a room with external facing windows as I hate the feeling of being closed in. This was acknowledge by the hotel before I arrived. A positive was that whilst I arrived at midday, two hours before check in, I was advised my room was ready which was great news. When I arrived at my room my first impression was it was very dark. It was at this point I noted this room had no external windows as per my request so I contacted reception. A very attentive man attended the room to find me an alternative. Firstly I was offered a room, next door to my final room, that was equipped for someone with disabilities. Whilst this room was large the staff member noted how cold it was and after playing with the air con decided to take me to my final destination. This room was smaller but suited my needs. Very traditional, maybe dated, but clean and comfortable. Bed and pillows were a little softer than I would like would not uncomfortable. Air con was a problem in this room too as it just wouldn't blow cool so I gave up on this if I am honest as I really didn't want to move rooms again. Rooms were well equipped with everything you would need. Reception staff were quick and efficient, sadly the same could not be said for the bar area. We took drinks there on Saturday afternoon and Sunday evening. Although the bar was quite empty and two staff members were working wait times were far from acceptable at 10 minutes plus. I would hate to think what wait times would be should the bar be full. Overall I think I would stay at this hotel again based on its location and level of cleanliness, I would most probably take my drinks elsewhere. I would hope customer requests are normally actioned and this was purely an oversight.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeedsGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us.

I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that the reception team dealt efficiently with the problems you had with your room. I would like to apologise about the issues with the waiting time at the bar and I will bring this to the attention of our Food and Drinks manager to ensure that this is rectified for future guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely
Valerie Donaldson
General Manager
reservations.leeds@radissonblu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,573 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    617
    536
    239
    112
    69
See reviews for
194
644
56
355
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Booked Junior Suite for £159 via Radisson site. My wife then showed me LateRooms.com site with Radisson Blu Leeds hotel. Listed room with breakfast, free movies, Esporta Health Club access, Nespresso coffee machine, newspaper, bathrobe and slippers. In fact exactly the same as listed for Junior Suite on Radisson site, but for £136.

Sent in the claim form and rejected as LateRooms calls room with same descriptions an "excecutive" rather than "junior suite". So this lowest price guarantee in my opinion is just a scam.

Now I have been fortunate to travel to various countries and hotels. Some 'deluxe' and 'executive' rooms have been a disappointment, barely larger than the bed. Other standard rooms have been a joy with space, storage, facilities and views. So I no longer judge a room by whatever the marketing/sales department calls it, rather what I actually get. It would appear Radisson can't even recognise the same room type given identical description even if given a different name by another site. Very underhand and shoddy.

Which is a shame as the hotel staff are very helpful. The hotel itself is rather tired (missing ceramic on floor, damaged shower/bath taps) although clean and pleasant.

Room Tip: What Radisson call business class rooms are larger and have coffee machine. Beware of the 'Best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeedsGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us.

I am very sorry that you were disappointed with the rate that you got, however although the amenities in the junior suite and the executive rooms are indeed the same, the junior suite is much more spacious and is a corner room with a view of the city. Laterooms are referring to one of our business class rooms which they call an “executive room” not a junior suite, which why you paid £159, rather than £136 which would have been for one of our business class rooms.

I apologise for any confusion you may have had and I will be reviewing this with Laterooms.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely
Valerie Donaldson
General Manager
reservations.leeds@radissonblu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Got here before 2pm and my room was ready.Check in was easy friendly staff no que got in right away, really helpful as I was first time traveller went to an easter concert at city varieties. They gave me a map of area and directions a bit tricky to find but got there!! As a solo traveller location was perfect for me to walk to and back from to Hotel. There was a bath which I do prefer, free wii fi and breakfast in the special rate I got. Will definately return.Breakfast was from 6.30 to 10.30 and I had a cooked one very nice. Check out is at 12 perfect for me! Took 4 attempts to use lift with swipe system. Leeds I will be back love Radisson Hotel. Thankyou.

Room Tip: Only minor thing light sleeper may want a higher up room on 2nd floor and can here traffic noise and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clangers1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeedsGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us. I will ensure that your kind comments are passed on to the team.

I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely
Valerie Donaldson
General Manager
reservations.leeds@radissonblu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Stayed one night with three colleagues in April 2014 on business. Room compact but functional and very comfortable and very clean. Bathroom was excellent with everything you could need. Slight humming noise from air con units.

Had dinner in restaurant and we chose the £35 a head taster menu, took close to 3 hours to eat but we were not in a hurry and everything was excellent including the service .

Breakfast was good with an excellent choice and all was of good quality

Will certainly be using Radisson Blu hotels whenever possible in the future.

Checkout was fast and easy

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maurice o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeedsGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us. I will ensure that your kind comments are passed on to the team.

I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely
Valerie Donaldson
General Manager
reservations.leeds@radissonblu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
198 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

The check in procedure was really smooth and the staff was really friendly.
The room was located on the 6th floor - business class.
The room is really spacious but it looks old fashioned.
All that you need is in that room, from the iron to the Nespresso machine - you do not have to ask for anything.
The WiFi is excellent as well.
The breakfast was just fine.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DanR31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeedsGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us. I will ensure that your kind comments are passed on to the team.

I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely
Valerie Donaldson
General Manager
reservations.leeds@radissonblu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Checkin was quick and easy. Lovely room but the bathroom was missing a bath, only a shower
(not a full on power shower either). Lots of added extras for the room with clean crisp bedding, coffee machine and large flat screen tv to name a few. The hotel breakfast was perfect, setting us both up for the days shopping ahead. The hotel was quiet itself whilst all the buzz of Leeds right outside on the doorstep. Would come back if the offer was right!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Boney74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeedsGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us. I will ensure that your kind comments are passed on to the team.

I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely
Valerie Donaldson
General Manager
reservations.leeds@radissonblu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Myself and 3 others decided to check into this hotel for a 2 night stay. The hotel location is fantastic, right in the middle of the city center.

We were greeted by a very friendly receptionist who unfortunately told us he could only find 1 room reservation, not 2 (we booked via booking.com). Despite providing a booking confirmation receipt, the booking could not be found. He did, however, manage to find us a room anyway.

The rooms were large, clean and modern. The mini bar was well stocked. The hotel staff were all very friendly, especially the cleaner who was very cheerful.

Overall we enjoyed our stay.

Having checked out and settled the bill I discovered an additional charge of £89.10 on the bill. Despite numerous phone calls and emails to the hotel, this was not resolved in a timely manner. and my account remained in debit for 11 days after check out.

Unfortunately this ruined what was an otherwise, enjoyable trip.

Tip for Radisson - when a customer raises a complaint - take it seriously! In my case, I sincerely feel let down that such a small administrative error can waste such an inordinate amount of my time trying to resolve.

I have raised this with the hotel management - I have yet to hear back. I will not hold my breath.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeedsGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us.

I am glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us; however I’m disappointed to hear that the mix up with your booking was not dealt with promptly after you checkout out from the hotel.

Please could you contact me directly on 0113 236 6000 or via email valerie.donaldson@radissonblu.com so that I can personally look into the matter.

Yours sincerely
Valerie Donaldson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
The Queens - Leeds
#10 of 87 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,048 reviews
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#23 of 87 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,924 reviews
Malmaison Hotel
#13 of 87 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Address: 1 The Light The Headrow, Leeds LS1 8TL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds > Leeds City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Leeds
#9 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant and stylish, Radisson Blu Leeds is located in the heart of the culture-rich city. The meticulously restored building once served as the main office of the Leeds Permanent Building Society and has kept its original art deco style. Located in the Light complex, the hotel offers easy access to bars, restaurants and shopping plus attractions like the First Direct Arena. Each of the 147 chic bedrooms and suites is complete with amenities such as a mini bar and flat-screen television. Enjoy the creative fare of Fire Lake Grill House and Cocktail Bar, with an open kitchen and a great selection of grilled dishes, unique starters and handcrafted drinks. Guests also receive a discount at the Nuffield Health Leeds Fitness and Wellbeing Gym nearby. The conference space houses 10 meeting rooms over 2 floors which can be used for all types of meetings and social occasions for up to 70 people. The historic ambiance of this Grade II listed building adds a touch of sophistication to any gathering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Rezidor, HotelsClick, Agoda, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds Hotel Leeds
Radisson Leeds
Leeds Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing