We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GOOD LOCATION HOWEVER ROOM WAS FILTHY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Ranked #15 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
GreenLeadersBronze level
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“GOOD LOCATION HOWEVER ROOM WAS FILTHY”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Location of this hotel couldnt be better.
We arrived on Tue 8th July and as a treat i had booked my husband and i into a business class room, The room was terrible; very little natural light, cigarette burns in the curtains, stains all over the carpets, 2 spot lights out; neither the desk lamp or the standard lamp were working, bed throw had grubby stains on it too.
When i mentioned this to reception they simply said that they would mention this to the housekeeping team, which to be honest is not acceptable - this hotel claims to have a 100% customer satisfaction policy which i dont believe for one second was adhered to on this occasion

Emailed the hotel direct last week and havent had any response.

Very dissapointing

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeedsGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following your recent stay with us.

I am disappointed to read that you did not have a pleasant stay with us and that your comments were not handled or actioned upon during your stay.

I would encourage you to contact me directly to discuss your experience so that I can look into the points you have raised. Please contact me directly via email Valerie.donaldson@radissonblu.com.

I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Yours sincerely
Valerie Donaldson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,640 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    657
    551
    243
    115
    74
See reviews for
205
677
57
367
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

I arrived too late and thay upgrade my business room to business suite for 2 nights and late check out, I highly recommend this hotel.. And it's in the middle of the city ... There is many places around the hotel. Shopping malls Restaurants coffee shops

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ayman A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeedsGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us. I will ensure that your kind comments are passed on to the team.

I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely
Valerie Donaldson
General Manager
reservations.leeds@radissonblu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We have booked two business class rooms for three nights.
The rooms are comfortable but details, like burnt light bulbs, are not attended to.
That is not a major problem, but the treatment we received last night is.
Four of us returned to the hotel last night, Saturday July 12th at 22:15.
We were all famished after a full day at a busy venue.
I asked at the reception if the restaurant was still open. I was told, sorry the chef has gone already, but room service would be available if we could not find food in the centre.
We returned to the reception around 23:15. I asked if we could have room service at the bar.
The response was:
No, we cannot serve room service at the bar!
I asked why not?
The answer:
There is only two people working at room service, and if the other bar guests see you eating, they may also want to do so!
Incredible answer number 1!

The four of us decided to go to our rooms and organise room service there.
When I then looked for the number of room service, it was nowhere to be found. There is reference to "one touch" dialing for all services. There is no "one touch" button on the phone in my room!

I then went down to the reception around 23:30 to order food and drinks for the four of us.
I was told it would be half an hour.

I called back around 00:34 asking what was happening.
The answer was: Room servica has been busy by a large order, they would attend to ours next so it should be another 10-15 minutes!
Incredible answer number 2!

Needless to say, I cancelled the order.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Belgiananddane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeedsGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following your recent stay with us.

I am disappointed to read that you did not have a pleasant stay with us and that the service that your recieved was not up to our usual high standards.

I would encourage you to contact me directly to discuss your experience so that I can look into the points you have raised. Please contact me directly via email Valerie.donaldson@radissonblu.com.

I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Yours sincerely
Valerie Donaldson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Our first trip to Leeds couldnt have gone better. Short flight from dublin, small airport, bus outside the door to get into town (3.80 pp tickets can be bought on board) drops you literally outside the door of the hotel (Headrow Road) .Staff at the hotel were friendly and efficent at all times. Allowed us to check in at 9.30am because rooms were available, which was fantastic after a very early start. Had room 613 which was amazing.. big room looking out onto the main street and art gallery (also worth a visit) Very quiet, very comfortable bed, requested foam pillows instead of the feather ones- nothing was a problem. Staff very friendly. Breakfast delicious and plentiful. Couldnt fault it.Also only a 10 min walk from the Arena and 10 mins from main shopping thoroughfare which is huge! plenty of bars and restaurants in the vicinity too..great trip..would recommend

Room Tip: Room 613 is lovely if you are choosing business room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FionaMaguire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeedsGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us. I will ensure that your kind comments are passed on to the team.

I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely
Valerie Donaldson
General Manager
reservations.leeds@radissonblu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Stayed for just the one night. We got a reasonable deal, the booking was easy, the information was good and the car park was right next door. The staff were pleasant, helpful and efficient and the room was fine - very quirky, colorful and clean. Unfortunately, the air con didn't work (it was unbearably hot) and the bed was very uncomfortable - I can honestly say it was one of the worst nights sleep I have ever had in a hotel. The bar wasn't staffed very well so when everyone poured out of the Arena and wanted drinks, some were waiting up to 40 minutes - there were at least 4 beer taps but no beer on tap and no facility to take cash - all very strange! I gave an honest frank feedback in their follow up questionnaire and got no response - perhaps they don't care if their customers are left feeling somewhat short changed - never a good sign!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clair E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeedsGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us.

I am disappointed to hear that the air condition was not working in the room and that the bar was understaffed when you returned from the Arena. I have taken up your comments with my Maintenance manager and Food and Drink manager to ensure that these issues are resolved. I would like to ensure you that we do take our guest feedback very seriously, and only through this can we improve the service that we offer.

I do hope that this experience will not deter you from returning to the hotel.

Yours sincerely
Valerie Donaldson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I picked this hotel based on the Trip advisor reviews and the location , the hotel is even better than my expectations. The location was perfect for the Pearl Jam gig at the First Direct arena , this was an epic gig for us and the hotel was just perfect. Go for a business class room if you can, our room 315 was on the third floor and was huge, with all of the amenities you would expect. We slept like logs after what was an epic, concert from the superb Pearl Jam.
Breakfast was immense, delicious and so much to choose from. The staff were so helpful and genuine.
Thanks once again for making our stay in Leeds superb, we will be back.

Room Tip: Go for a business class room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Winnie101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeedsGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us. I will ensure that your kind comments are passed on to the team.

I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely
Valerie Donaldson
General Manager
reservations.leeds@radissonblu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Stayed here for three nights. Convenient central location, with parking in the same complex (The Light). The room was on the 3rd floor and the view through the window was into a central "atrium" which had a covered roof. Therefore little point in opening the window for fresh air as there was none.The lighting in the room was very dim with only a standard lamp, desk lamp and two over bed reading lamps, it has to be the worst form of lighting I have encountered. Beware the miniscule duvet and pillows that are just a bag of air and totally unfunctional.The room was adequate.

Breakfast buffet was very good, but the service was not brilliant,as is usual in a lot of hotels nowadays the staff seem disorganised and unprepared for the fact that the majority of guests will be taking breakfast before 9am !!.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brianh999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeedsGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following your recent stay with us.

I am disappointed to read that you did not have a pleasant stay with us and that your comments were not handled or actioned upon during your stay.

I would encourage you to contact me directly to discuss your experience so that I can look into the points you have raised. Please contact me directly via email Valerie.donaldson@radissonblu.com.

I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Yours sincerely
Valerie Donaldson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
The Queens - Leeds
#11 of 87 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,152 reviews
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#23 of 87 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,971 reviews
Malmaison Hotel
#13 of 87 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Address: 1 The Light The Headrow, Leeds LS1 8TL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds > Leeds City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Leeds
#10 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant and stylish, Radisson Blu Leeds is located in the heart of the culture-rich city. The meticulously restored building once served as the main office of the Leeds Permanent Building Society and has kept its original art deco style. Located in the Light complex, the hotel offers easy access to bars, restaurants and shopping plus attractions like the First Direct Arena. Each of the 147 chic bedrooms and suites is complete with amenities such as a mini bar and flat-screen television. Enjoy the creative fare of Fire Lake Grill House and Cocktail Bar, with an open kitchen and a great selection of grilled dishes, unique starters and handcrafted drinks. Guests also receive a discount at the Nuffield Health Leeds Fitness and Wellbeing Gym nearby. The conference space houses 10 meeting rooms over 2 floors which can be used for all types of meetings and social occasions for up to 70 people. The historic ambiance of this Grade II listed building adds a touch of sophistication to any gathering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Rezidor, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds Hotel Leeds
Radisson Leeds
Leeds Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing