We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the Money”
Review of The Wrens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Wrens Hotel
Ranked #17 of 25 Leeds B&B and Inns
Billingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Not worth the Money”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Although the staff were friendly enough, we were disappointed with the room, for £55 a night you would have at least expected breakfast. Very noisy, had to walk down a back ally on the night to get back in through a side door and up a staircase, not good if you are alone or elderly.
Would not stay there again!

Room Tip: Book somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 220ValA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    39
    23
    27
    46
See reviews for
21
71
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
St. Annes-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I stayed at the Wrens with my wife on 4th September. It's location is very handy for the First Direct arena (only a few minutes walk) but be warned about this hotel.
The hotel/pub serves no food other than afternoon tea despite several boards and posters around the hotel advertising food.
The hotel claims it provides toiletries but they don't (small issue but false advertising)
The hotels location is by a major road junction but the traffic noise is not too bad. The windows do not keep out loud noise and there is a nightclub very close that plays VERY loud music until 4am and do not ask patrons to keep noise down outside. Therefore it is impossible to sleep until after this time. With checkout by 11am you don't get much time for rest.
When the bar is closed access to rooms is via the back gate, passed the bins and up the fire escape to the first floor. They hope the door is correctly closed afterwards, safety risk with this.
As you have to pay when arriving and leave before the bar is open there is a constant banging of people going in and out of the fire escape door to enter/ leave the building.
When we arrived in the afternoon 50% of the real ale being advertised was not available, for an experienced real ale bar they are not very good at ensuring products are available for opening time. If you have difficulty with stairs do not bother staying here as the stairs from the bar to the rooms are quite steep

Room Tip: high floor and take ear plugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Leeds hotels

1 review
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Visited 6 months ago and was very happy, paid £55 per room...totally different story this time round. Booked 2 "family rooms" for 8 of us...arrived to only 7 beds. As the hotel was fully booked they couldn't provide any additional bed/room, just extra sheets and pillows to sleep on the floor. We were then charged £75 per room... after our night out we had other issues. After hours the pub is shut..which means to access the rooms you have to unlock the yard, use the fire escape and unlock the fire door...which we did know from our previous visit and wasn't an issue. We found that the keys for the yale lock on the yard gate wouldn't open the lock...after trying both sets of keys and asking passers by to try we had to ring friends that were also staying in the hotel. She came down the fire escape to let us in and explained that she'd had the same issue, although as they didn't have anyone to let them in...they'd had to climb the 8 foot gate into the yard!! After speaking to someone else who'd had the same issue it now appears that the lock had been changed the day before and the latch had been dropped inside...manager quite argumentative...decor very shabby... for the money, you could stay in a travel lodge!!! Its a shame as its in a fantastic location!!! Definitely won't be returning!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yeltarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I went to the Wrens with a voucher, there were four of us, and the staff were very helpful, a bit on the slow side, the food was very nice and fresh, but would have liked Brown bread instead of White, would have nice for them to have a choice, the manager was very good, I had a taste of a Vodka I had not heard off.
We would go back again, maybe nice to try for lunch

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We stayed 2 nights in the £45 per night room which was terrible, the pub is on a 4 lane main road therefore noisy, a club was playing bass music till 3am and people talking outside it made it impossible to sleep, I would rather have slept in the car.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank janenewton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
270 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We visited here with a deal of the net. It has been totally upgraded, I remember it being an ale house years ago and it has an attractive dining area where the lounge used to be. Lovely ambivalence, food fine and good service. Very reasonable prices, without the deal. Will definately return when in that part of the city.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennyandmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Excellent, had got a deal monster two courses meal. We will be back excellent food at good prices, service fantastic and an awareness of our theatre booking meaning the gave us the bill in a timely manor but also said no hurry we know you are off to theatre and don't want to make you late - fantastic

Room Tip: Didn't sty the night
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lou65a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Quarry Hill
Premier Inn Leeds City Centre (Leeds Arena) Hotel
The Queens - Leeds
#11 of 87 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Roomzzz Leeds City
#4 of 87 in Leeds
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#23 of 87 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wrens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wrens Hotel

Property: The Wrens Hotel
Address: 61A New Briggate, Leeds LS2 8JD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wrens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small hotel and bar in the centre of Leeds close to the Leeds Arena and the Grand Theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Wrens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing