We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely B&B”

Southend Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Leeds
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Southend Guest House
Ranked #17 of 25 Leeds B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 April 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed the night along with another couple while we were in the area for an engagement party. Jackie made us feel at home right away, going out of her way to ensure we had everything we needed and to make us feel comfortable. The rooms were simple but excellent value for money and we didn't need anything more. We had a lovely double room with a small ensuite whereas the other couple had a twin room with a shared bathroom. They said that wasn't a problem at all, they just pushed the beds together and they said the mattresses were very comfortable. The freshly cooked, full English breakfast was delicious and just what we needed to wake up to! This lovely 400 year old cottage is very quaint and full of character, the owners were very friendly and I wouldn't hesitate to return or to recommend this guesthouse to anyone. Thanks Jackie!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jacqueline s, Owner at Southend Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

thank you very much for your review it is appreciated we do our best to offer good value for money and provide a comfortable clean and relaxing enviroment
all of you were lovely people and we look forward to welcome you back in the not too distant future
take care
regards jackie and kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (8)
There are newer reviews for Southend Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 8 of 8 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2013

I arrived late Friday due to distance (from Dorset), traffic and getting lost! Jackie and Kevin were very understanding and gave me a warm welcome when I arrived exhausted! The cottage is 400 years old and so of course it has that feeling about it, lots of character - odd wobbly floorboard is part of an old house and I have experienced that in the past on holiday in an old farmhouse in Devon. I was looked after v. well. My room was clean and homely. The breakfasts were v. good. My family were nearby but I needed somewhere to stay for the long weekend and the guest house proved a homely base. I always prefer staying in people's homes as opposed to swanky hotels, you meet people on a more intimate level. Overall it was v. good value and would recommend. If I ever require a place to stay again in the area I would return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Beverley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jacqueline s, Owner at Southend Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us i am delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future best of luck with your new venture

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

A fairly priced Bed and Breakfast with quick access to nearby bus stations. The owner is very friendly and helpful. The rooms themselves are clean and the beds comfortable. The bathroom, though shared, is spacious.

Would recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rykha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jacqueline s, Owner at Southend Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

thank you for your comments of our guesthouse i am so pleased you enjoy staying with us and hope that next time your in england you will stay at our guesthouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Not clean ,shabby decor cheap & nasty definately would not recommend step hazard by shared bathroom dog hairs on the reheated breakfast!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lairyshep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jacqueline s, Owner at Southend Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

we were only made aware of the concerns you raised in your review by another guest we have been running our business for over 13 years and always encourage our guests to raise any problems with us at the time of their stay so we can do our best to sort them out. we are striving continually to offer good value for money at £23 per night all rooms have clean bed linen clean towels and flannels daily utility tray with tea coffee milk tv free wifi and free on street parking the well being and safety of our customers isf of utmost importance to us the "hazardous step" is not broken or cracked and the carpet is well fitted and is not torn the landing is well lit and there are signs to bring attention to this step and i always point this out when showing guests around we have a listed 400 year old cottage we cannot structually alter it and in any event it would loose its charm the breakfasts are always cooked fresh each day to order if you disatisfied i would have gladly cooked you another
i am sorry you were not happy with your stay but more distressed that i was not able to address the concerns you raised on this page personally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
0.6 mi away
Corn Mill Lodge Hotel
Corn Mill Lodge Hotel
#47 of 87 in Leeds
511 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Leeds Centre
2.2 mi away
Ascot Grange Hotel
Ascot Grange Hotel
#1 of 9 in Headingley
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre
2.2 mi away
Haley's Hotel and Restaurant
1.9 mi away
Headingley Lodge
Headingley Lodge
#3 of 9 in Headingley
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southend Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southend Guest House

Address: Southend Avenue, Leeds LS13 2AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Leeds
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our charming 400 year old cottage is in the vibrant village of bramley four miles from leeds centre good bus services plenty of cafes restaraunts public houses and easy access to leasure complexes or rural countryside ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing