We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food but restaurant uncomfortable”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Pizza Express

Pizza Express
Ranked #918 of 1,805 Restaurants in Leeds
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Bright and modern, Pizza Express offers an exciting reinvention of Italian classics. A vibrant menu includes wholesome Romana-style pizzas with adventurous topping combinations, as well as fresh salads, an impressive range behind the bar and aromatic coffee blends. Family-friendly Pizza Express gives kids the chance to design their own pizzas.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good food but restaurant uncomfortable”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Good always good here, although not always presented great when busy. However, the restaurant atmosphere lets this place down. It is always too cold, the tables are cramped together and there are huge damp patched all over the ceiling. Glass wear and cutlery often smeery - all in all ok for a quick bite but place needs work!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    18
    15
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Love this place!!!!!!”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Always 100% every time we visit - well done. The food is excellent & the staff cannot do enough for you at Pizza Express Headingley. This is a great place to dine if you are in Headingley as a family with children. Most of the pubs don't allow children in after 9pm

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank IDS72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Tired and slow service”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I have been going to Pizza Express since my first one in the early 1980s in London. I recently took a part of 8 for my daughters 18th. Service was SLOW. Only one chef and two serving staff on duty. Another table walked out and the restaurant was half empty yet they were turning people away. I took three hours to finish our meal. Several dishes did not have all the ingredients. Has Pizza Express lost its way????

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank FamilyPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice attentive and friendly staff”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

I like Pizza Express, you know what you are going to get and it is always of a good standard. The difference for me to each restaurant is the staff. The position and the atmosphere of this restaurant is very nice too.

In this Horsforth restaurant I found the staff to be very helpful and friendly. My son was recently diagnosed diabetic and although they didn't have the carbs on the menu the maitre d'/manager went out of his way to try and find an old menu or takeaway menu to track down what he could.

Unfortunately he didn't find anything but said he would report back to the head office the need to add this dietry requirement which I thought was very considerate.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Meal”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

I'm a big fan of Pizza Express in general and as I've recently moved to Horsforth, I thought I'd check it out.

Me and my wife were seated quickly by a friendly waitress and served promptly.
The food was great as it always has been in other branches and all in all was a great experience.

I will be returning regularly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pizza Express also viewed

 

Been to Pizza Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing