We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly, clean and good location for university”
Review of The Kingston Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Kingston Hotel
Ranked #20 of 25 Leeds B&B and Inns
gloucester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“friendly, clean and good location for university”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Stayed here last night for our daughters graduation - great location being so close to the university, two very spacious double rooms, clean bathrooms all for a very reasonable price. Very helpful staff and great to have parking available. Only down side was that it was very hot and no air-conditioning but we are in the middle of a heatwave!

Room Tip: Only gave it average for sleep quality because of the heat but beds were extremely comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alice v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    39
    40
    45
    58
See reviews for
32
68
24
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ayrshire scotland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

This felt more like a B.B. than a hotel ,firstly it is only a 20 min walk to the Center or if you prefer a bus then the stop is at the main entrance £2 will take you there.The building has 3 floors my double room was on the third floor,the bedding was comfortable and very clean ,the ceilings are sloped above the beds and you have to be careful when you bend to use the bedside drawers I twice hit my head on the edge,the table in the room was a bit old and the chair would fall if you looked at it the wrong way,the small milk pots provided for the coffee were off and had to be binned,the shower room/ toilet had been renovated to a decent standard although the electric shower was poor,dusting is obviously not a priority here,the dining / sitting room furnishings are very Asian and a bit dated.All together it was ok for my two night stay and was value for the money I only paid £85 for two nights through Booking.com you won't find much cheaper than that,the staff were courteous and helpfull ,would I stay here again? Probably not but if you a looking for a budget hotel close to Leeds Center give it a try you could do a lot worse.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steviekt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Compared to other Leeds Budget Hotels (IBIS, Premier Inn) this hotel comes up trumps on price, location [better here than in LS9 etc], free car parking [none of the others offer this within 10 minutes walk of the centre] and the spacious of the rooms. If you really don't want to walk take the frequent buses from opposite the University Engineering Buildings 2 minutes walk away.
Also if you want to go for the cheapest room options there is always the possibility of a free upgrade to a better room. This happened to myself where you get a very spacious double ensuite room.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I booked a room at The Kingston Hotel because it was a stone's throw away from the university where I needed to be for a meeting. I booked on laterooms.com, £45. My room was spacious and clean. There is a shower, tv, kettle with tea and coffee, and blowdryer. And free wi-fi!. What else do I need for a one-night stay on a budget? The young man at reception was efficient and friendly. I would definately return and wouldn't hesitate to bring my family along.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

I stayed in a single room, which had a double bed and was certainly a lot bigger than many double rooms. For £35, the Kingston was excellent value. The staff were extremely polite, very helpful and friendly. It is located 30 min walk from the train station, a little less for the shops. It is directly opposite the university. Breakfast costs £5, either a Full English or Continental. Apart from an OK Indian restaurant, there was only a selection of greasy takeaways nearby, but the staff are happy for food to be delivered to the hotel. For the money, this is a good place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

It all depends what you expect from a hotel but for £30 a night I got more than I expected, I booked a single room but was put in a double so plenty of space, I had free internet so better than most Holiday Inn's in the UK and the room was clean (except for the light fitting which looked like hadn't been dusted for years), I didn't eat there so can't comment on the food, the parking is limited though, I was lucky and managed to park in the hotel car park but I've no idea where you can park if it's full.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2013

What I saw on there web page is not what I got plus there was no choice for breakfast as for the room I was upgraded to a bigger room which was fine but it wasn't very clean in the bathroom the sink had a crack in it the people who worked in the hotel kept talking in there own language with which I don't agree with so all in all very bad

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Womblegizmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Ibis Leeds Centre
#29 of 87 in Leeds
1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Roomzzz Leeds City
#5 of 87 in Leeds
512 reviews
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kingston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kingston Hotel

Property: The Kingston Hotel
Address: 5 Kingston Terrace, Leeds LS2 9BW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kingston Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Kingston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing