We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good but with a few buts.”
Review of The Kingston Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Kingston Hotel
Ranked #19 of 26 Leeds B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We recently stayed here. A group of seven girls. We were on the top floor. Overall this was a very reasonably priced hotel with ample facilities. Hairdryer in the room. Iron and board was brought to our room when requested. Staff very pleasant. Now for the buts, showers has a mind of its own and went from stone cold to burning the skin off your body. Walls were extremely thin and snoring could be heard from a room across the hall. Breakfast. They don't tell you but a cooked breakfast does not mean an English one. No meat at all! Veggie breakfast. So a very beautiful hotel for the price but certain areas. You certainly get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jagger16112013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2013

My brother and I stayed here as going to a concert at the arena. Not too easy to find but when got there we were very happy. Friendly staff who apologised that the single rooms we had booked were not available due to a problem with the water but they had changed them to 2 massive rooms on the top floor. The hotel was clean, had all things required for a nights stay and the location is excellent. I would use again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sleep33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Very disappointed with this hotel. The shower head in the cubicle had no cradle and was left hanging loose; a really unacceptable way to leave a room in preparation for guests. Thin walls, really tired room in need of a refurb, bright fire escape light disturbed sleep all night. No hair dryer though this is listed on website. The single star I've given applies to the staff, as they were friendly and helpful (apart from when I reported the shower in the morning - my earliest opportunity given timings during my stay - when weak excuses were made and nothing else). I paid £45 for standard room only, and still felt ripped off to be honest. If your rooms matched your staff's pleasant attitude, you'd be doing much better guys! The shower thing was really avoidable and unacceptable, above everything else. Won't stay again.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MissCellaneous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Bad things..... not easy to find;paper thin walls; slow shower; a little need of a revamp. Good things.....close to the Uni; very cheap; good breakfast; clean room; and most of all the staff were brilliant. Decorated our room when we went for a meal as it was my husbands birthday. very thoughtful. A big thank you.

Room Tip: ask for the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bounty2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This hotel was very hard to locate from the road. The sat nav knew where it was but the street was very difficult to spot while driving as it looked like a back alley. The sign for the Hotel is black and at least 15ft in the air so cant again be seen while driving. There was two of us and even the passenger couldn't see the sign. When we found the hotel it looked lovely from the outside and we were pleased with our choice. We were greeted at the door by a very polite man who took us to the reception/breakfast room to sign in. We opted for the room and breakfast package and paid acordingly. We had a dog which the man only charged us a minimum amount to stay aswell. We were then given our key and told that the room was downstairs but no offer to help with our bags was given. They told us our room number and pointed us in the right direction. When we entered the room we were pleased with how it looked at first. The room had a flat screen tv which worked fine and tea making facilities were there too. As we were attending a weddding we needed to get ready quickly and get off to Leeds town hall. Whilst getting ready we discovered that they provided a hair dryer which was a bonus but sadly there were 2 big mirrors in the room but the plugs were no where near so we couldn't use the hair dryer as we couldn't see to style our hair. The en-suite was small but functional to a degree as the toilet was too close to the sink and the shower door opened towards it aswell and if opened without noticing it would smash on the sink itself. The sink has a massive crack and should have been replaced. the grouting in the shower was poorly done and there was a loose tile by the door aswell. The trim around the floor tiles was higher than the tiles and was very painful when stubbing toes on it. The ceiling light wasn't screwed to the rose fully and the top of the wardrobe and mirrors hadn't seen a duster in a long time. The windows secondary glazing was broken and had cigerette ends in it so looked like it had been like that for quite some time. There were marks all over the walls which should have been washed or painted over. The theme of the room was trying to be moroccan but this failed badly. When we came back that evening from the wedding we were up all night as the bed was horrible to sleep on. It felt like the matress was very thin and the bedframe was very hard. When we got out of bed we went to make a cup of tea and the one of the UHT milk pods was sour and had curdled. We decided at this point to go for breakfast. When we entered the breakfast room we noticed that the seating was at a communal table which wouldn't have seated everyone if we all had come for breakfast together. The continental breakfast was on display and looked very appetising but appearances can be very deceptive as the juices and pastries were not fresh but supermarket basic range. We booked and was offered a cooked breakfast but again we were dissappointed as we were informed that they don't do sausages or bacon only eggs, hash browns, beans, mushrooms and tinned tomatoes. We were told on the phone that it was a full english breakfast but this was not the case. When we finally received our cooked breakfast it was flat cold and the eggs were well overcooked. The toast came after we had nearly finished and looked like it hadn't seen the toaster or grill. We went back to our room and left very dissappointed and we felt that we should have had more for what we had paid. Sadly our visit was marred by the hotel and we won't be staying there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Stayed here on a Sunday. Booked in late last minute. Having eventually found the hotel I was surprised to see what £30 pays for. Initial reaction was good with a nice and tidy parking area. The reception was clean and tidy as was the room I got. The bathroom was better than some considerably more expensive hotels Ive stayed at.
I didnt get a good look round the hotel or sampled the food because of time constraints but have to say if I needed a hotel in Leeds that isnt expensive I would definitely use the Kingston again.
Looking at previous reviews I agree that it is excellent for any people from out of town visiting the Leeds Arena.
RECOMMENDED

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hibbileeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

Me and my wife stayed here, we went to see a band at the O2 Academy, this hotel was the perfect location as it was less than a mile away from the venue, upon arrival, we got greeted by the manager Who very kindly sign does in and offered to carry our luggage to our room, we was offered a key in case we came in later than the lock-up time, breakfast was 5 pounds per person extra which we took advantage of, The breakfast was very nice with plenty to choose from but my only problem was with the full English breakfast, there was no bacon, The rooms are quite spacious, there is a large TV, hairdryer mirrors shower, there is a few grubby marks that I noticed but as I'm from Derbyshire I'm don't really care.. I've been brought up to be a hard case not like the city pussies

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flashbobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Ibis Leeds Centre
#33 of 87 in Leeds
1,225 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Leeds City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Leeds
Dakota Deluxe Leeds
#1 of 87 in Leeds
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kingston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kingston Hotel

Address: 5 Kingston Terrace, Leeds LS2 9BW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Leeds
Price Range: £49 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kingston Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your The Kingston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing