We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Filth”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Kingston Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Kingston Hotel
Ranked #20 of 25 Leeds B&B and Inns
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Filth”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

If you like DIRT DUST SEWAGE SMELL And FILTHY bathroom then this hotel is for you. We could not stay here and chose the long drive home instead. Don't be fooled by the nice photos on their site. The only nice bit is the reception. That's where it ends. The water would not go down in sink or shower, plug in shower totally clogged with previous peoples hair. Shower head was orange with muck. Dust and cobwebs everywhere, dirty windows. Trying to get a refund now. Totally disappointed on my birthday weekend

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amytaylor86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    35
    38
    42
    55
See reviews for
31
63
22
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

The hotel is good for the money. The staff is very friendly. The room we stayed in was very large, which was great considering we had our two dogs. That they allow dogs is also another great bonus. The rooms are not very up-to-date, and could probably use a little tlc in terms of being a bit cleaner, but nothing is dirty, and it has everything that you would expect in a hotel - coffee, tea, soap, shampoo, hair dryer, etc. The location was great for us, since it was across from the University, but it is also very close to the city center, which is about a 10 minute walk away. Overall, I would recommend it to anyone visiting Leeds who wants a cheap place to stay that is close to the city center. However, I would recommend they get better signage - we were able to find it using our gps, but if we did not have the gps, I don't know if we would ever have found it!

Room Tip: If you have a dog, being in the basement is great because it has its own door outside, so you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

The Kingston Hotel in Leeds is perfectly located in relation to the University of Leeds and would be great for a visit or any business in this area. The problem is, it's almost impossible to find! The hot water on tap is murky and the tap spits at you! Shower is electric and his easy to use but it's hard to get a decent temperature that doesn't burn you. Breakfast was limited, there did not seem to be meat on the cooked breakfast although I did not eat one. A selection of cereals is available as well as tea, coffee and juice. It's really good value with our room for 1 night costing £45. And 1 or maybe 2 nights is the max you'll want to stay as it lacks many features a popular hotel chain would have. WIFI access is limited to one floor for an iPhone but a laptop should be able to pick it up.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Lewis U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Booked a two night (mid-week) stay recently. Requested a ground floor twin as Mother not mobile. Turned up and was showed down a flight of stairs (clearly not a ground floor room) mistake corrected. The rooms were spacious and had the usual, tea/coffee making, TV, Hair dryer, two towels (rather thin but clean). The room was tidy but not the cleanest it could be, nothing ghastly but it looked as if it had just had a quick flick round rather than a good deep clean.
The staff were very polite and cheerful and the hotel was very close to the centre, took me about 10 minutes to walk into the city. The hotel is directly opposite the university and has its own parking.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

My boyfriend and I were meant to be stopping at the hotel last night for two nights over valentines. First arriving at the hotel it seemed an alright location. However, entering the hotel we were greeted by an unpleasant smell of smoke and take out. The receptionist wasn't great nor awful but did not attempt to make any conversation. After checking in we were given a room a right next to the main entrance, no privacy. The room itself was nothing like the photos. It was big and empty with dated furniture. We had originally booked a double room but looked like we were in a family room. There was only one towel and damaged curtains. We complained about the room and asked to move but were told we couldn't be accomdated. After complaining again and asking for a refund we were told we could be moved to the too
Floor but we just wanted to leave as we weren't happy at all. We were offered half the rate back (£50) and were left to find another hotel. Safe to say our weekend away wasn't off to a good start.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCoupland94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Leeds hotels

Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

Very close to Leeds university. We were travelling at night and had some difficulty finding the hotel. The entrance is from the main road but the building itself is located slightly inside. Comfortable and spacious room with basic amenities. Free parking was available right in front of the building. Good places to eat outside at walking distance. Breakfast started late, so we could not have it from the hotel. Overall a good experience and value for money.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itshitchhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

Lovely welcoming, helpful staff. Beautiful old building. We had two rooms at the top of the building with a little adjoining passage which give my friends and I privacy which was nice. We liked the light fittings. The beds were comfy enough, and the bedding seemed up to scratch.
But. The bed had no mattress protector under the sheet. Which might be fine in ones own home, but is horribly unhygienic in a hotel. People get up to some yucky things in hotel beds!
And the shower fitting in one of the rooms was literally dropping out of the wall, and the actual shower didn't work, which as we had the shower in the other room, wasn't too much of a problem. However, if we hadn't had that shower I would have been livid. Also, neither of the showers were clean enough. They needed some one to go in there with an old toothbrush and bleach. We didn't eat there, we used the cafe (Froth and Fodder, really good!) down the road because we wanted a cooked breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blondemushroom69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Quarry Hill
Premier Inn Leeds City Centre (Leeds Arena) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
The Queens - Leeds
#10 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,093 reviews
Roomzzz Leeds City
#3 of 86 in Leeds
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kingston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kingston Hotel

Property: The Kingston Hotel
Address: 5 Kingston Terrace, Leeds LS2 9BW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kingston Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Kingston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing