We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“junior double rooms are actually singles” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Weetwood Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Weetwood Hall
Ranked #29 of 86 Hotels in Leeds
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
“junior double rooms are actually singles”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Not a 4* hotel, barely 3. Between bed and wall is barely 12" space to walk up. Only 1 chocolate and 1 packet of biscuits - that definitely means room only meant for 1 person - not 2 adults. Area in Dining room around fridges on floor is very dirty with a sugar lump that must have been there for a long while and lots of other grime. No butter at breakfast - just margarine. On checking out we were told we should have paid extra for a superior room. Eggs on breakfast buffet were all hard each morning. Breakfast foods seem to stand around for a long time and were not hot.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a superior room if there are 2 adults or stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collette_Hurley, Customer Service Manager at Weetwood Hall, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Joe G,

It is extremely disappointing to read your feedback regarding your stay with us. We offer a range of bedroom types ranging from compact junior double rooms to feature rooms with four poster beds. We offer further details including images of all our rooms on the accommodation section of our website.

We pride ourselves on the locally sourced food served throughout the Hotel including at breakfast; our kitchen team replenish our hot breakfast buffet throughout the morning to ensure this is of a consistently high standard. Please be assured your comments have been forwarded onto the relevant departmental managers to ensure your feedback is investigated immediately.

We hope to welcome you back to Weetwood Hall in the near future so you can experience the improvements we have made.

Kindest regards
Collette Hurley
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    255
    127
    48
    33
See reviews for
121
253
16
218
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

I stayed two nights here in connection with a course at Leeds Univ. The hotel is located quite far away from the city centre (about 20-30 min by bus). The roads are quite busy so there is no point in driving to/from the centre. The location was a negative factor for me and collegues distance wise, but it is located in the middle of a park and therefore very quiet. The hotel is otherwise OK. Clean and well kept rooms and bathrooms and good breakfasts. The Brasserie lacks charm, but service is OK. You have to walk 15 min to get to the closest restaurant. Can recommend the Olive Tree!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collette_Hurley, Customer Service Manager at Weetwood Hall, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Alice K,

Thanks for your recent review following your visit to Weetwood Hall whilst attending a conference.

Whilst we appreciate we are not a "city centre" hotel being in North Leeds, we are served with excellent public transport links via the A660 Otley Road with direct buses to and from the city centre. We also have extensive free car parking on site for guests and residents.

I am pleased to hear you thoroughly enjoyed the locally sourced food served at breakfast along with the high standards of cleanliness throughout the Hotel.

We hope to welcome you back in the future,

Kindest regards
Collette Hurley
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilsland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

It's only 3 months since my last review of this hotel. Then, I loved it. Unfortunately, now we've met room 16. I can honestly say it's the worst nights sleep I've had in a hotel for years. The mattress was so old that I could feel each of the 5 springs through the sheets - and even without lying on it there's a sunken pit in the middle that I spent all night trying not to roll in to. The room was roasting hot, and opening the window (which has no catch on it) meant that it swung back & forwards all night. Much the same then as the corridor door to reception, which squeaked & banged merrily all night. Add to that the constant flow of high pitched party-goers (right past our door, until 2am), and the bright orange floodlights which streamed in through the badly fitting curtains, and you get an idea of why to avoid this room at all costs. Don't avoid the hotel - just the room.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heavenl1y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collette_Hurley, Customer Service Manager at Weetwood Hall, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Heavenl1y,

Thank you for your most recent post.

I read with concern your feedback regarding the room you were allocated on your most recent stay with us; it is rare we would receive such comments about our ground floor rooms however please accept our sincere apologies for the impact this had on your stay with us. Please contact me directly so I can ensure we have your requirements noted for future visits.

I look forward to hearing from you,

Collette Hurley
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Had a very disappointing early evening meal at the Stables. The food was served promptly but even its presentation was unappetising. I had ordered a steak pie -topped with flukey pastry. This was a triangular sheet of pastry which had not been adequately cooked and was cold. This was placed atop a very small dish of tough beef chunks and a few slices of carrots. The gravy was served in a small pan but had been made from a packet -the taste was of oxtail soup. My husband had the haddock which was so over cooked it was like a board and lacked any flavour.
The stables will need to up their game when it comes to serving food. Other pubs in the area are upgrading to meet the needs of the locals so hopefully a bit of competition might force some improvement.
This is clearly not a one off experience as there is an almost identical review of the same meal from 2012. Time to improve!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank dugganbooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collette_Hurley, Customer Service Manager at Weetwood Hall, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear dugganbooth,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the Stables pub.

It is extremely disappointing to hear that your visit fell below your expectations in terms of food quality. I would like to assure you that your comments have been immediately forwarded to our Head Chef for an investigation.

We pride ourselves on the locally sourced food served throughout Weetwood Hall including the Stables pub. We take all feedback very seriously and utilise it in a constructive manner in order to further our on-going training.

Please do not hesitate to contact me personally should you wish to discuss this matter further.

Kindest regards

Collette Hurley
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

I stayed here while attending a conference. The hotel does have a very 'conference' feel and is very well located with good road links to the city and surrounding areas. Firth impressions were very good although some of the decor is ready for an update.

The bedroom I was allocated (see picture) was absolutely tiny. The picture is taken from inside the bathroom door which was located at the end of the bed. I was staying alone in the room but it was still cramped. The room was clean but the furniture is starting to look a little dated. My room had a stone window frame which looked very nice but in January meant the room was very cold, there was only a roman blind covering the glass section. The bed covers were very thin and once the heating went off in the evening I resorted to putting a bath sheet over the bed to stay warm.

The bathroom was nice and clean but sadly the water didn't drain away properly so showering involved standing in 4 inches of dirty water.

The conference facilities were excellent and I can't fault the staff who were friendly and helpful. The food we had as part of our conference dinner was pretty dire (cold chicken and raw vegetables) but I cant pass comment on the restaurant food.

All in all this is a pretty average conference hotel on the outskirts of a city, it wouldn't be somewhere I would rush back to.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrs_p81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collette_Hurley, Customer Service Manager at Weetwood Hall, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear mrs_p81,

Thanks for your recent post regarding your stay with us and visit to our conference centre.
I am pleased to hear that you found the conference facilities excellent along with the customer service levels of the team; they will be thrilled with your lovely comments.

It is however disappointing to read your feedback regarding the quality of food you experienced; I must say it is rare we would receive such feedback therefore please be assured I have passed this on to our Head Chef to review.

We offer a variety of room types with compact junior doubles, such as the room in your image, suitable for an individual on an overnight stay. In addition to this we offer standard and superior rooms which offer further floor space and superior rooms also have king or queen sized beds.

I do hope you reconsider your decision and return to Weetwood Hall so you can experience the improvements we have made.

Kindest regards

Collette Hurley
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
189 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

Weetwood Hall is a great place to stay and if you are a return visitor the staff really make you feel valued and even more welcome. The added bonus can be complimentary upgrades if you are known through their own booking sytem. The 'superior' rooms are a really good size with ample space for work. The area is secure and pleasantly landscaped and access around Leeds is really good here with exits onto the ring road or the town streetscape. There are complimentary gym/pool facilities at a near-by centre with a shuttle bus if you need it. Booking can be a bit hit and miss as they have lots of weddings here and the hotel gets booked up at weekends especially in the summer but there is a free cancellation facility with a time limit prior to arrival so book and be organised. Buffet breakfast is really good.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the service delivery yard are noisy from abut 6am on weekdays.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collette_Hurley, Customer Service Manager at Weetwood Hall, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Pamela L,

Thank you very much for your excellent feedback following your return stay with us. It is fantastic to hear about the rapport our team build with our regular guests; they will be delighted with your lovely comments.

I will ensure your feedback regarding the breakfast quality is also passed on to our kitchen team.

We look forward to seeing you again soon,

Kindest regards

Collette Hurley
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

I stayed at this hotel for one night on business. I had contemplated staying before but the prices were always too high. When I got a deal on late rooms I thought fine lets try it. The hotel is situated in a quiet location and the initial impression was that it was quite plush. However the room I was allocated was very small and dated. I was not impressed that the desk area had ants on it!

I would not stay again and feel that the hotel lacked something.

Room Tip: Don't get the one with the ants. Room 30.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GiovanniYeldarbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collette_Hurley, Customer Service Manager at Weetwood Hall, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear GiovanniYeldarbo,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

It is disappointing to hear that you would not stay with us again; we offer a variety of room types with compact Junior double rooms being suitable for an individual on an overnight stay up to Feature rooms with four poster beds. We have detailed information and images available on our website therefore please feel free to take a look.

It is concerning to read that you found ants on your desk however please be assured your feedback was forwarded to our Maintenance team immediately to investigate further.
I do hope that you reconsider your decision so you can experience the improvements we have made.

Kindest regards

Collette Hurley
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
2.1 mi away
Mercure Leeds Parkway
Mercure Leeds Parkway
#44 of 86 in Leeds
3.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
0.3 mi away
Village Hotel Leeds North
1.4 mi away
Haley's Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Village Hotel Leeds South
12.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Milford Hotel
7.4 mi away
Thorpe Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weetwood Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weetwood Hall

Property: Weetwood Hall
Address: Weetwood Hall Hotel Training & Conference Centre Otley Road | Headingley, Leeds LS16 5PS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Leeds
#15 Business Hotel in Leeds
#17 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Weetwood Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within nine acres of woodland and gardens and built around a 17th Century Manor House, Weetwood Hall offers extensive four-star hotel services and facilities, along with a conference centre. There are 114 en-suite bedrooms, offering a variety of different styles of accommodation from junior double to feature bedrooms. Weetwood Hall also offers three dining options: Woodlands Suite, Brasserie and the award winning Stables Pub which has Cask Marque accreditation for its real ales. There is extensive onsite free parking and high speed internet. Complimentary leisure facilities are available to our residents at the nearby Cookridge Hall Health & Fitness Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Superbreak UK and Odigeo so you can book your Weetwood Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weetwood Hall Leeds
Weetwood Hall Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing