We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great girly spa break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Thorpe Park Hotel & Spa
Ranked #4 of 86 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great girly spa break”
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Just got back from staying at the hotel. We stayed on the dinner bed and breakfast package which was £109 on a Thursday night - was informed at checkout that there are different prices for different days which may have been nice to be made clearer when booking as the advert says £99 sun - thur, however this was not a problem. The hotel was very nice and clean. We had lunch which was very tasty, the only problem was the service did seem particularly slow but I would like to point out that all the staff were EXTREMELY pleasant and it is noticed and appreciated :) Our room was very nice and clean, good selection of tea, coffee etc too. We had a treatment at the spa (ESPA taster back, neck shoulder massage) which was brilliant, very very pleasant staff and totally relaxing. We then used the pools which were great too. Overall a good pleasant trip and I would come back again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShireHotels, Gordon Jackson - General Manager at Thorpe Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and I will be passing on your comments to my team. With regards to the confusion over the price, I will be revisiting our literature to ensure that our advertised prices are clear and accurate.

Kind regards,
Gordon Jackson - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    695
    259
    61
    16
    15
See reviews for
176
308
15
239
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

I was fortunate enough to be place at the Thorp Park Hotel by my employer, just for one night.

While I can't give a total review, I found car parking to be well proportioned, reception very polite and helpful and the general appearance of the Hotel almost as new, with high quality fittings and furnishings throughout, and excellent service.

The Spa side of things is also good and clean, no complaints here!

Now for the room: Interesting, as it's based on the standard American design, but with added touches, such as the step down to the window, with a subtle night light LED for safety. BOSE sound system, a little dated, as no iPod dock, but sounds wonderful all the same, a decent TV and all manner of nice bits such as the Mini bar, Iron/Board, Dressing gowns and Tea/Coffee facility with quality supplies. Bible bashers fear not, Mssrs Gideon & Co have also been to every room...

Bathroom unexceptional size-wise, but not small either, with a Steel bath, separate walk-in shower with adjustable head and well lit vanity unit with a comprehensive selection of decent supplies.

The other facilities all appeared to be just as high quality, although I have failed, in this case, to perform a comprehensive review! Sorry! Also, the company paid, so I can't comment on prices, but I would expect the usual 'Hotel rates' in terms of food and drink!

I would undoubtedly stay again, it's minutes from the M1, and an absolute pleasure to visit.

Room Tip: I was on the top floor overlooking the car park, and had no issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShireHotels, Gordon Jackson - General Manager at Thorpe Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 24 May 2013
A lovely review, thank you and whilst you had to be away for work it sounds like you were very much able to enjoy the comfortable surrounding that the hotel has to offer. I hope that your next visit will be sooner rather than later, and perhaps this time you can stay for a bit longer to be able to enjoy the full experience that the hotel has to offer.

Kind regards,
Gordon Jackson - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

The hotel staff and events team were brilliant!

My company runs management skills training for doctors and I must have gold cards for every hotel, as we run around 3 events a week, at various venues throughout the UK. I'm used to everything being a bit of a fight really as there is so much scope for the third parties we work with to get venue details wrong.

We carefully brief our requirements for every event, and do site visits where possible, and when these measures don't work, we rely on getting to each venue the night before the event, to make sure everything is set up as required. This is the bit where the fight usually happens, and the hotel staff want to charge us for absolutely everything! We are used to hearing NO and " we haven't got any extra flip charts to give you " and " that's not on the function sheet" etc... Usually, after much discussion, an agreement is reached, but it always feels like a fight!

This hotel was a breath of fresh air.

The company booking the hotel had somehow misinterpreted cabaret style for up to 30 delegates to mean booking cabaret style for 10. When I arrived on Monday afternoon I asked to check the room and details, and that our box of notes had arrived. We quickly uncovered the mistake and my levels of anxiety rose. I needn't have worried - Thorpe Park Hotel's brilliant and flexible team sprang into action and sorted everything out. Not only did they sort it out, but they demonstrated by their actions and reassurance that their professional approach was of the highest calibre. It was like getting into a warm bath!! They understood exactly what was needed, and organised it.

As a result, I was able to focus on running the training, and delivering the event my client wanted, and the day was a huge success.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FirstClassLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShireHotels, Gordon Jackson - General Manager at Thorpe Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 24 May 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. I will ensure that these are passed on to the team, who will be delighted to receive positive feedback.

Kind regards,
Gordon Jackson - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
548 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We stayed only one night, the room was modern, with a bath and walk in shower in the bathroom, Crabtree and Evelyn toiletries. There was complimentary tea tray, with biscuits and hot chocolate, you had the option of a complimentary newspaper. The room was a twin room and came with a comfy sofa. The only thing missing was a safe, the tv was quite old as well.

The halls, lobby and public rooms were very nice, clean, bright and airy, although it was a new building it had character and bags of style.

We dined in the restaurant which was excellent the food well cooked and very hot, the wine list was extensive and the staff were really helpful and friendly. Particularly good was Michael who gave us excellent service with a smile.

Breakfast was the usual mix of continental and cooked. The hot beverages were self service from a machine which was nice and they were very high quality. The choice of continental was reasonable but the cooked was a buffet served to you, what was disappointing with this was it was cold despite the service method.

The location is great as its just off the M1, not that you'd know once inside, there re some terraces adjacent to the restaurant with beautiful landscaped gardens, but we didn't get outside due to the weather. The spa and pool looked fantastic we would definitely like to go back to try both.

Room Tip: Ground floor was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 186400Caroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShireHotels, Gordon Jackson - General Manager at Thorpe Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 24 May 2013
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay. I will be sharing all of these with the team, and will certainly been looking at the area were we seem to have fallen down, to ensure that we can develop and improve where possible. I do hope that you'll be able to join us again soon, and perhaps this time make use of the leisure facilities.

Kind regards,
Gordon Jackson - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

As Usual with hotels this size, profit is everything, customer service is nothing.

Ordered an expensive bottle of fizz which was flat, sent it back only to be told by the manager that it was ok. No apology, no attempt at resolution, only interested in his bottom line, as per usual. Be warned.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank porky p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShireHotels, Gordon Jackson - General Manager at Thorpe Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 24 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments online. I am obviously disappointed to read your comments, and concerned that the way in which your comments are portrayed differ to those of the manager at site, who dealt with yourselves. He recalls serving your Prosecco, when topping up your glass to finish off the bottle you felt that the fizz was flat. I would be happy to discuss your comments with you in person, as you can appreciate from the majority of comments we receive on Trip Advisor, these are certainly our of kilter and not the norm, so I am keen to ensure I get to the bottom of these.

Please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel to disucss the matter.

Kind regards,
Gordon Jackson - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersham
Level Contributor
200 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013 via mobile

A good overnight business stay at this Shire hotel. Everything that you expect is available and some extras eg bathrobes and fresh milk for coffee. Reception was I felt a little brusque but was probably understaffed - telephone constantly engaged if you try to call.

Restaurant menu was a little "cheffie" but there is choice enough. My crispy duck starter was very good but my fish and chips main disappointing, hard chips and grey mushy peas. Buy 3 course on line £25 is cheaper than daily menu, breakfast bought online is £2 cheaper too.

Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank hazy_amersham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShireHotels, Gordon Jackson - General Manager at Thorpe Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your recent stay, the fresh milk is something that many people enjoy, it's just not the same having a cup of tea or coffee without it! In relation to your comments about reception and the Restaurant menu, and food served, I will be addressing these with the team to review.

Kind regards,
Gordon Jackson - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
188 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

I stayed with several colleagues for a couple of days away. The stay was very pleasant and the staff assisted with everything we needed. Food was good and the facilities were a nice way to relax after our meetings. The hotel has a nice outside area but the car park end feels like an industrial estate. The hotel has lots of business people but this was the purpose of our visit so it worked well.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oleadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShireHotels, Gordon Jackson - General Manager at Thorpe Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
It is alwats a chore being away from home for business. I fully understand and appreciate, but it is pleasing to know that the staff have looked after you and hopefully you managed to relax a bit whilst you were staying with us. Perhaps though next time, you will be able to come and enjoy a weekend away with family and friends.

Kind regards,
Gordon Jackson - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
The Queens - Leeds
#10 of 86 in Leeds
3,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Crowne Plaza Leeds
#15 of 86 in Leeds
1,603 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thorpe Park Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thorpe Park Hotel & Spa

Property: Thorpe Park Hotel & Spa
Address: Thorpe Park | Thorpe Park, Leeds LS15 8ZB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Leeds
#3 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
#3 Family Hotel in Leeds
#5 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
#6 Business Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Thorpe Park Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thorpe Park Hotel and Spa is a popular 4 star hotel in Leeds. We're perfectly positioned to discover all that the cosmopolitan city of Leeds has to offer along with the delights of Harrogate, and the Yorkshire Dales. We're a stylish, contemporary hotel known for our attention to detail. With a stylish spa and One Rosette Restaurant there's plenty to keep you busy in our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Thorpe Park Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thorpe Park Hotel And Spa
Thorpe Park Hotel Leeds
Thorpe Park Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing