We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good effort, but not quite there...”
Review of Riva Hotel Leeds

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riva Hotel Leeds
Ranked #60 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Reviewed 24 January 2006

Rooms are really nicely done, and great shower - but poor attention to detail! i.e. no cups for tea, no 'tooth cup' for rinsing, holes in ALL my pillows, very cold room. breakfast is pretty grim, self-service, in a building site as they're doing up the dining room. staff were friendly enough, although a bit dazed.
decent value though and central location - ok for a business trip.

  • Stayed: December 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zcrookes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
There are newer reviews for Riva Hotel Leeds
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2005

The Riva (formerly the Sleep Inn) is right in the centre of Leeds - handy for shopping etc. For the same reason, expect some noise from the street (I had intruder alarms going off outside for half the night).

My room was a good size, and in fair condition but with paint literally hanging off the ceiling in the shower. Apart from the paint issue, the shower was a highlight - a real power shower, unlike the feeble things you find in most hotels.

Hotel facilities and public rooms are limited - just a small and soul-less bar on the first floor.

Breakfast was a 100% self service affair (collect your food, make your own tea, even collect your own cutlery), served in a spartan function room with stacks of chairs piled around the room (I suspect this may have been a temporary arrangement). The hot items on the buffet had been hanging around far too long - the bacon was hard and the scrambled eggs watery. Fruit juice was watery and served from a machine.

So, the bottom line. If you want somewhere reasonably priced to rest your head for the night, particularly if you are on business, this hotel works ok. If you want a nice hotel with comfy lounges, lively bars and a nice restaurant, this is not it!

  • Stayed: December 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MikeC_2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
London
15
Reviewed 3 August 2005

Considering what we paid, (£65 a night) I wasnt expecting too much, and after previous reviews I was actually a little aprehensive. But we didnt come across any of the probems others had. Location as excellent. There was a lack of parking, but there was a good car park just down the road, which is convenient for an inner city hotel.
Check in was friendly and efficient, and the Hotel lobby was clean. Got to the room fine, which was spacious and clean. Bathroom was nice and modern, with one of the best showers I've seen. Loved the oversized towels. Bed was comfortable, and the aircon (noisy, but it is aircon in a budget hotel) was convenient given the heat.
TV was just terrestrial, sky one and some pay per view with internet acess, but there you go.
Went out to one of Leed's many restaurants (bibi's), which was just ten minutes walk, convenient because I wasn't up to driving.
Considering what noise is like in London, I cant see what the fuss is about, it was afterall right in the center of Leeds.
Breakfast was good, and considering some hotels charge £10 for something exactly the same not too overpriced.
Overall a great stay, would definately reccomend it, just dont expect perfection, you didnt pay for it.

  • Stayed: July 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2005

We endured an overnight stay at this hotel recently. First impressions were less than favourable as the hotel is situated in a run-down area very close to the city centre. It is surrounded by sleazy bars and boarded-up shop units on a very busy street.

Check-in was slow and the staff were off-hand and unwelcoming. Another worrying sight was a high number of stag and hen parties queuing up to check-in also.... Alarm bells were already ringing.

First impressions of the room itself were good - the decor was quite modern and "tasteful". The bathroom was white and clean. However, closer inspection revealed a tear in the duvet cover and in one of the pillow cases... As for the view, it was grim. The room overlooked a littered asphalt roof-top and the massive red brick side of a derelict warehouse.

But the real problems began at night. If you choose to stay at this hotel, get any ides of a restful night out of your head. The noise from outside - thumping "music" from clubs, drunken shouting ansd swearing and police sirens all conspire to make sleep almost impossible.

This becomes an even bigger problem if you need to lower the room temperature. The options are : open the window and let the street noise in or switch on the air conditioning unit and endure the noise of that. (By the way, the entire unit is sited IN the room - the large "box" housing the motor- which is normally on an exterior wall - as well as the grille. ) Small wonder it is noisy.

And then in the very middle of the night - about 3.30 a.m. - the hen parties and stag night revellers return to base.... Then the noise comes closer - into our corridor in our case.


Breakfast next morning was poor.The staff who are wafting around are clearly not there to show guests to a table or to offer them fresh tea or coffee. The one thing they do ensure they do, however, is get your room number so that you can be charged for the experience of the Sleep Inn breakfast....

To describe it : it was buffet-style, in a room which doubles up as a bar area during the day/evening. The supposedly hot food was lukewarm and pretty basic. There was no proper selection of juices, cereals, fresh fruit, conserves, pastries, etc. It was uninspiring and unappetising - and truly bad value for money.

Check-out was slow and as unfriendly as before.

Leeds is friendly city which is reinventing itself. I'm sure the Sleep Inn should be doing better than this. What happened to the wonderful Yorkshire hospitality? Sadly absent here.

11  Thank Anonymous53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
14
Reviewed 1 June 2005

Just got back from a bank holiday weekend in Leeds staying in the Sleep Inn, Leeds. Found the hotel to be clean, the staff to be very helpful and friendly and the location to be perfect. The beds were very comfortable and the rooms were spacious.
We didn't have breakfast so can't comment on that but we had three rooms all of which had showers in full working order unlike those mentioned in previous posts and the towels provided are huge!!
Check in and check out were both quick and effortless and the hotel was very easy to find. The staff were very accommodating, allowing us to check in early. providing space for our bags between check out and catching our train home and then arranging a taxi to take us to the station.
All six of us enjoyed our stay and were all very pleased with the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2005

I stayed at the sleep inn on a Saturday night whilst meeting up with a group of friends.

All of our rooms were quite grim. Though simply furnished (as you would expect from a travel inn / premier lodge style hotel), the rooms were not particularly clean nor problem free. The lamp was broken on one side of the bed and taped up (as though that now sorted the problem), the windows were filthy and overlooked a grubby, littered roof top. The bed sheets and bathroom however seemed clean

The restaurant area was actually also the bar and smoking was permitted (even it would seem at breakfast the next day). We actually avoided breakfast as it looked very basic for the extra price.

Reception were indifferent and on check-out quite rude. I think we were 'ripped' off at £65 per room per night!

Ideal base if on a stag / hen weekend when all you really need is a bed. Otherwise, avoid like the plague.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank carton.08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2005

I too was staying at the hotel on the weekend of the 25th Feb '05 and found none of the problems which the other people found. In fact, i would definately consider staying there again. The staff were nice and helpful, the rooms were big and warm - although one downside was the air conditioning unit was noisy! The bathroom was clean and no problem with the shower drain. We must've been lucky.

The location was ideal for anyone who wishes to explore the city - 5mins walk to the shops!

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Theweeyin007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Quarry Hill
Travelodge Leeds Central Vicar Lane Hotel
Quarry Hill
Ibis Styles Leeds City Centre Arena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Leeds City Centre
Mansio Suites Headrow
Mansio Suites Headrow
#30 of 87 in Leeds
117 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Leeds
Dakota Deluxe Leeds
#1 of 87 in Leeds
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riva Hotel Leeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riva Hotel Leeds

Address: 107 Vicar Lane, Leeds LS1 6PJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Price Range: £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 132
Also Known As:
Leeds Riva Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing