We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing business trip”
Review of Park Plaza Leeds

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Park Plaza Leeds
Ranked #37 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
GreenLeadersBronze level
Thirsk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Relaxing business trip”
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Parked my car and was ready to relax. Check in was swift and pleasant, the staff were most helpful. The interior was much to my liking, calm and relatively modern. My room was spacious and very comfortable, everything worked perfectly, although the t.v remote was a little confusing. Sitting in the bar I found the barman very sociable and we had quite a laugh, this extended up to the restaurant staff who made me feel comfortable and important, which is very nice to feel when staying in a hotel alone. The restaurant itself was great, the food incredible, my hat off to the chef for a splendid display of culinary skill and love. I will certainly go back and stay very soon, sitting in the downstairs bar people watching is a must, awesome venue. Park Plaza, I thank you all.

Room Tip: Corner suites are probably the best for a good view and plenty of light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkPlazaOps, Manager at Park Plaza Leeds, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Thank you for the positive comments regarding the hotel, I will forward onwards to the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,853 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,059
    812
    531
    260
    191
See reviews for
284
926
118
872
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (524)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

OK, went here years ago initially, they used to do a lot of specials on LateRooms - Dinner Bed and Breakfast for 2 on a Friday for £85 which was a great treat for a normal weekend given its location if you think that you can spend £50 on a meal usually, that means you are getting B and B for £35 in lieu of a cab home.

That used to be great and the Chico Latino dining is great, contemprary and stylish - Drinks are pricey, but you are literally in a hotel in the centre of the city - so it is to be expected.

Since then in subsequent visits for work and pleasure - it has become a little tired and a bit of a victim of its own success for lads weekends and groups staying - so it has compromised special and standards for stack em high and sell them cheap in my opinion - it has become tired and warn and it shows a little now.

As another reviewer said though, brilliantly striking building from the outside and the view from your rooms, albeit urban is impressive the higher you go.

Room Tip: Go as high as you can afford and dare.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We have certainly stayed in better hotels, although the staff were very pleasant and helpful the hotel let them down. The first room we had was scruffy and in need of a make over. Due to the fact the tv didn't work we were moved next door. This wasn't much better. We discovered that the hotel has been partially revamped but found ourselves in rooms that were still waiting .

There is very limited parking and you need to book far in advance to get a place at the hotel. The walk from the Q car park is about half a mile through some unpleasant streets. On arriving at the hotel you discover you are in the middle of a building site, with huge cranes that operate until about 23:30 at night. The gym was out of use. At 08:00 we were awoken by the fire alarm, which continued to go off, this was due to the sprinkler system being set off which caused floods in the dining room. The saving grace was the delicious food served, although you have to be patient and enjoy the wait between courses. We enjoy city centre locations and expect the usual sounds and problems that come with it, this was however not one of the best. We wont stay again, but would eat there.

Room Tip: ask for one that has been already renovated, book early for a car parking space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calsonDoncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkPlazaOps, Manager at Park Plaza Leeds, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
We appreciate your feedback, in response to the comments made

We have now completed all of the bedroom refurbishments
Q Parks is a 3 minute walk from the hotel, we do have limited pre bookable parking onsite
The new shopping centre is being developed next door although generally there is minimal impact of noise from the site
Unfortunatly we had an incedent where the sprinkler in one of the rooms was activated recently, naturally casuing damage and issues with the fire systems.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We stopped off at the Park Plaza on the way home from dropping our daughter at the Download Festival (long story!).

It had been a long day of driving, and we were looking for a nice room and a relaxing night - and the Park Plaza delivered on that.

We'd upgraded to the Plaza Plus deal, which allowed us a couple of hours free drinking, and a sample plate of food from the Chino Latino restaurant. This worked out really well for us, it was a really good start to the night. The food was excellent, even although we decided on a simple Italian meal for dinner.

The staff were all extremely helpful, and gave us a great recommendation for dinner at Carluccio's just round the corner, where we had a great meal for a very reasonable price.

We ended the evening back in the bar at the Park Plaza.

If I was back in Leeds, I wouldn't go past this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ritch_Nelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkPlazaOps, Manager at Park Plaza Leeds, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
Why not try our award winning Pan Asian Restaurant Chino Latino restaurant?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinlough, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2012

we were a family group returning from Ireland for a family wedding,A mixed age group ,we found it ticked all our boxes.Great location for shopping, access to public transport & great dining.As the senior member,I was fascinated "peoplewatching" in City Square from the lounge area.Great atmosphere as Euro2012 was in full swing!Staff were most helpful & friendly.Will be back !!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 0maureen70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkPlazaOps, Manager at Park Plaza Leeds, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
We have two bars overlooking city square, one of which is due to be expanded very shortly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Stayed at the park plaza in June with a group of friends. Staff were very accommodating and friendly at check in and the room was lovely with amazing views of Leeds. This hotel is brilliant for shopping and night life as both where within walking distance. i cant wait to visit again and i couldn't recommend this hotel highly enough.

Room Tip: corner rooms have duel aspect windows with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manserj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

I found Park Plaza Leeds to be easily accessible, with close proximity to the train station and nearby restaurants and pubs. When I got into the room I discovered my cloths were rumpled only to discover an iron and board available. It was a neat and spacious room, and I was at the 15th floor so I had a good view of part of the town. I stepped out for dinner else where, only to discover that Park Plaza inhabits the best city restaurant. Well, I wasn't informed on time, maybe customers should be informed after making bookings. For the price, I feel it was a good buy and I will definitely visit again. I couldn't use the swimming pool or gym due to renovation work going on

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uchenna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
The Queens - Leeds
#11 of 87 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,152 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#23 of 87 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Leeds City Centre
Cosmopolitan Hotel
Cosmopolitan Hotel
#22 of 87 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,386 reviews
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Leeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Leeds

Property: Park Plaza Leeds
Address: Royal Exchange House Boar Lane | City Square, Leeds LS1 5NS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Leeds
#11 Family Hotel in Leeds
#20 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Leeds 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Plaza Leeds is a contemporary hotel in the heart of Leeds city centre, offering 187 guest rooms, modern function space, fitness suite, Scene! Lobby bar and the award-winning Chino Latino(R) Pan-Asian restaurant and cocktail bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Plaza Leeds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Leeds Hotel Leeds
Leeds Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing