We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best in Leeds but very central location”
Review of Park Plaza Leeds

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Park Plaza Leeds
Ranked #37 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
GreenLeadersBronze level
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
“Not the best in Leeds but very central location”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I would, if possible, rate this hotel at 3½. Room not entirely clean. Had a good sleep, Fairly small room. Very nice view (stayed at 14th floor). Good gym. Very central location, close to the train station and main shopping area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 367Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkPlazaOps, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Leeds, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear 367Traveller,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some constructive feedback. Comments from our guests are always used to help improve the services we provide.

I am glad to see that on the whole you had an enjoyable stay.

Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,926 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,093
    830
    542
    268
    193
See reviews for
292
951
121
891
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (525)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

First time in this hotel, good location although difficult to find in car and no parking except expensive local parking. Breakfast typical fare but most of the food is at best warm. Rooms have a un clean feel, really do not want to walk barefoot on carpet!. Gym ok but had broken equipment. Overall expensive for what you get

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank ronedwards14250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkPlazaOps, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Leeds, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear ronedwards14250,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I will look into your comment regarding broken gym equipment. As far as i am aware, all machines are in full working order.

Your comments regarding cleanliness will be addressed with our housekeeping team.

Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Midlands, UK
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We stay in Leeds on average once a month and usually book way in advance to take advantage of various hotel sales and loyalty clubs keeping it under £50 a night but this was a last minute trip on 29/3/14.

All of the hotels we usually use were full and there was nothing under £80 anywhere (I spent a week looking!).

However on 27/3/14 I looked again on Lastminute.com and a top secret hotel popped up at £54.50 which after some investigative work I narrowed down to this hotel.........and booked it hoping I was right as it looked lovely, ideal location and half price!

It was thank goodness and everything went perfectly from early check in to concierge services to the lovely 18th floor room itself and smooth swift check out.

For the moaners, the lifts were a little busy at certain times as 3 service 18 floors, the room was a little dusty in places with a very old, small tv set and the shower lacked the forceful power we like but everything else was fantastic. If I had of paid the £110 a night they usually command my review would probably be 4/5 as correctly those areas would make it well worth that kind of money especially due to superb location so close to the train station and city centre.

We thoroughly enjoyed our first stay at the Park Plaza and will be returning if we can ever find it on a deal again - hopefully testing the bar and award winning restaurant.

Any questions - please just ask

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emskiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Have stayed here a few times in recent years as an infrequent visitor to Leeds; first time I've reviewed. Excellent location, as others note, for train station, shops, restaurants etc. and the rooms appear to have been done up a bit since last visit but the Superior (this is their standard room) Room we had seemed smaller than those shown on video on their website and whilst clean, tidy and modern the negatives are limited tea/coffee making facilities (quantity supplied) and insufficient hanging space for wet towels - needed to use over the bathroom door and over the shower screen!
Staff in all departments friendly and helpful. At weekends, despite 3 lifts, it can take a while to get up and down if your room is on a high floor and it can get very noisy in some parts of the hotel.
Good choice for breakfast, although the serving dishes don't keep the cooked offerings that hot - and one had the most annoying squeak every time it was opened and closed, which over two days grates. Do the staff not hear/notice these things?!
Perhaps a bit pricey, overall, for what one gets.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penster1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkPlazaOps, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Leeds, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Penster1968,

Thank you for your review.

It is great to see that on the whole, you had an enjoyable stay.

Any constructive feedback raised will be actioned with the relevant departments to enhance the customer experience. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Well located, not just for the station and transport but also for such great places as the Brewery Tap and the main square, this is a decent option in Leeds albeit quite a fancy one (it's not cheap). The room was spacious with terrific views.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoehmBawerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkPlazaOps, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Leeds, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear BoehmBawerk,

Thank you for your review.

It is great to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

I do hope we can welcome you back soon.

Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

My room was freezing cold and glacial. I switched on the air at 30 degrees and it was like being in the arctic. Awful and unpleasant stay. Moreover, the room was not very clean: dirty walls and bathroom (pictures attached).

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LULA L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkPlazaOps, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Leeds, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear LULA L,

Thank you for providing us with your feedback. I do hope you raised your issue with the A/C to our reception team to allow us to resolve for you? Sometimes it is just a wrong setting which can be changed with the touch of a button.

Your issues regarding cleanliness will be investigated with our housekeeping team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol England
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I stay in hotels two or three nights a week for business and at the moment this hotel at the price point is my favourite in Leeds. The location is very central, it is close to the railway station shops and restaurants.Some of the competitor hotels are quite a way from the centre of things. The building is a small tower with about 12 rooms per floor, the lack of foot traffic past your door combined with good glazing makes it quiet.
My room was spotlessly clean, the décor was inoffensive, the bed (although not the very best) was big and comfortable, there was a generous bath with a powerful shower over it. The old Philips "Hotel" CRT TV was a bit of a let down and the free wifi service was not up to the standard offered by many hotels nowadays. There was a minibar, frankly I think they are a bit old fashioned and would prefer a hotel room without a minibar that came with a bottle of spring water and more than two tea bags and couple of sachets of instant coffee for in-room refreshment.
Breakfast was of a good standard although the décor of the restaurant was more like a night club and I found the canned music intrusive and possibly aimed at the 20 something age group (another guest commented to me about the music so I was not the only one who disliked it).
Don't let my grumbles put you off unless you are prepared to be less central or pay quite a bit more this hotel should be a good choice.

Room Tip: I had a room on the 6th floor which was quiet. I guess the higher you go the quieter it gets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkPlazaOps, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Leeds, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Dear Bill089,

It is great to read that you find our team and facilities at Park Plaza Leeds to be good.
Our location is spot on for business or leisure stays.
Any feedback received that may improve our services is always taken seriously and we thank you for providing us with your comments.

Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
The Queens - Leeds
#11 of 87 in Leeds
3,210 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#23 of 87 in Leeds
2,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Quebecs
#8 of 87 in Leeds
1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Leeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Leeds

Property: Park Plaza Leeds
Address: Royal Exchange House Boar Lane | City Square, Leeds LS1 5NS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Leeds
#11 Family Hotel in Leeds
#20 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Leeds 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Plaza Leeds is a contemporary hotel in the heart of Leeds city centre, offering 187 guest rooms, modern function space, fitness suite, Scene! Lobby bar and the award-winning Chino Latino(R) Pan-Asian restaurant and cocktail bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Park Plaza Leeds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Leeds Hotel Leeds
Leeds Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing