We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service and a clean comfortable room”
Review of Park Plaza Leeds

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Park Plaza Leeds
Ranked #39 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
GreenLeadersBronze level
Essex
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good service and a clean comfortable room”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Great service on the desk as we arrived, the room was clean and comfortable with some nice touches and good decor. We had good views from the 11th floor. The bar was good, great service.

Breakfast was good also, lots of selection and again good service.

I'd stay again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank goluckypenfold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,968 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,105
    840
    548
    274
    201
See reviews for
298
965
124
901
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (529)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
skipton
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Fantastic location, big rooms and bed and a fantastic view over the city. Breakfast was amazing to, catered for everyone. We had a massive plasma TV in the room and the hotel is right across from the train station! We were very impressed.

Room Tip: High floors, we were on 17
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jojoskipton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Having recently stayed at this hotel I must say it was perfect from nice comfy room, clean bathroom and fabulous breakfast with lots to choose from and only across the road from Leeds train station would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Park Plaza Hotels

Helpful?
Thank irenekenneth41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Really enjoyed our overnight stay at the hotel. Staff were very helpful, friendly and professional. Only had breakfast at hotel but very nice with a good selection. We will be staying at the hotel next time we stay in Leeds. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Park Plaza Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Andrew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Fantastic bed and duvet in a thermally cool room. Breakfast uncomfortable due to a high table and servery potentially dangerous - have to lift heavy tureen lids to see what is under and then balance the lid on tureen, serve food with one hand and balance plate on the other. Snazzy bar. (NB Praise sandwich)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Park Plaza Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Geraint B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donegal, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed here for 3 Nights on a weekend break with my wife. I had read a number of negative reviews and was a bit worried after i booked about going as my wife had asked me to pick somewhere central and fancy. The Hotel is rated 4 star but it would be more of a 3 star in my opinion. The decor is somewhat modern and we normally prefer contemporary decor. However these minor points aside we were very pleasently surprised when we arrived. The staff at reception and indeed everwhere in the Hotel were very courteous and helpful and we were offered three different rooms without any hesitation. The rooms were spacious and had a stunning view over the city and the bed was enormous.
The breakfast was excellent with a wide variety of food on offer. Our room was clean and we had a large LCD TV which seemed to be brand new. I could not fault the Hotel in any way and the Bar service and staff were very efficient. The only problem we had which seems to be a common problem in the Hotel is that we found it difficult to get hot water from our taps in the bathroom and shower, and we reported this to the reception on two occasions. I would like to dispel any myths about this Hotel and say that i would recommend it to anyone for its views, central location right in the shopping area and i would certainly stay here again in the future. We have stayed in lots of Leeds Hotels as we are regular visitors to the city and this Hotel ranks very well in our opinion.

Room Tip: Corner room on Top Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkDonegal_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We booked the hotel as a secret hotel through lastminute.com so didn’t have a chance to read the reviews before booking.
The hotel was worth the discounted price that we paid but, in our opinion, is not a 4-star establishment.
Having read the reviews by the time we arrived, however, we made sure to request a room on a high floor and were able to spend a very peaceful night on the 17th floor.

Location: The location must be excellent for guests arriving by train as it is directly opposite the station. However, guests arriving by car need to find the car park with which the hotel has an agreement that overnight parking is “only” £12.00. We tried very hard but faced with: “Q park” (as quoted by the hotel) is not the name of the car park we thought we were looking for but the company which owns most of the city centre car parks, the post code does not take you to a car park, the Leeds one-way system is a Kafka-esque nightmare to out-of-towners, we gave up and parked in a council-owned car park on a piece of rough ground in Sovereign Street (£11.00 for 8 hours+).
The entrance to the hotel is in Lower Basinghall St.

Bathroom: Cleaning seemed to have been carried out in a rather slap-dash manner. The basin emptied very slowly. The bath was larger than average.

Bedroom: Paintwork needs refreshing.

The lighting in the room was quite dim and the “bedside” lights were very strange – there was a card with information about the wonderful design of the overhead “bedside” lights, which was supposed to allow a person to read whilst not disturbing their sleeping partner. Unfortunately, as my switch was for my husband’s light and vice versa, I don’t see how disturbing one’s sleeping partner could be avoided. When we mentioned this to Reception on checking out we were told this was because the building used to be an office block (I can’t see the connection, really) and to rectify it would require pulling walls down.

There were only two rather thin pillows – and no spares - but a request via Reception for four more was complied with very promptly.

Thank you for the iron, ironing board, safe and the kettle etc.

Breakfast room: This is on the first floor. The tables are very old- and scruffy-looking – as if they ought to be covered with table cloths, but were not.

Breakfast: This was excellent. Perfect poached eggs were cooked to order; smoked salmon was a welcome addition (as we don’t eat pork-related products like sausages and bacon); the croissants were lovely – and had been warmed. (The only negative issue was the tinned fruit.) Service was very attentive.

The hotel's staff were all friendly and seemed to be trying hard to please.

To improve:
- Please provide two desk chairs in double/twin rooms
- Please provide hooks for hanging towels in the bathroom
- Please clean the bathroom more thoroughly
- Please provide at least four pillows in double/twin rooms (budget hotels do this!)
- Please provide bedside lighting which is controllable by the actual user
- Please provide fresh fruit for breakfast (budget hotels also do this)

Room Tip: Higher floors are very quiet (we stayed on the 17th floor).
See more room tips
Green Features: We were unaware of environmentally friendly practices. However, the bathroom needs hooks to hang up towels for re-use.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pollyanna909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
#10 of 87 in Leeds
1,991 reviews
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#22 of 87 in Leeds
2,048 reviews
The Queens - Leeds
#11 of 87 in Leeds
3,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Quebecs
#8 of 87 in Leeds
1,094 reviews
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Leeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Leeds

Property: Park Plaza Leeds
Address: Royal Exchange House Boar Lane | City Square, Leeds LS1 5NS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Leeds
#11 Family Hotel in Leeds
#21 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Leeds 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Plaza Leeds is a contemporary hotel in the heart of Leeds city centre, offering 187 guest rooms, modern function space, fitness suite, Scene! Lobby bar and the award-winning Chino Latino(R) Pan-Asian restaurant and cocktail bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Park Plaza Leeds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Leeds Hotel Leeds
Leeds Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing