We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Let themselves down” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park Plaza Leeds

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Park Plaza Leeds
Ranked #34 of 86 Hotels in Leeds
GreenLeadersBronze level
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Let themselves down”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

I've stayed at this hotel for business many times before and generally been happy, but I am disappointed tonight. I ordered room service only to be told I had to go down and give reception a copy of my card. The bed was not made properly - I had to make it to get in it. The fridge isn't working! And I'm supposed to be in a superior double room, I'm sure this is just a standard double room.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Giframac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,776 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,036
    791
    514
    253
    182
See reviews for
278
893
116
847
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (520)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

A couple of issues beyond the hotel's control marred our stay due to lack of communication. However, the staff were all polite and the facilities adequate so I would give them a second chance in the future.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Park Plaza Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Let's start with the pro's...

In the city centre, a stones throw away from the train station, and trinity centre. The staff were very warm and welcoming. And the hotel itself is very clean and modern. Booked it on last minute.com for £123 for two nights.

The cons...

£14.95 each for breakfast. Premier inns all you can eat is £8.25 each. There is a Yates just across the road and a weather spoons in the train station that basically offer the same thing for £4.99.

Mini fridge. £4 for a can of carling and £2 for a mars bar or a can of coke. We went to pound land where you can get a pack of Mars bars for £1 and 3 cans of coke for £1 and just stocked it up instead.

The noise. We were on the 16th floor and the view was breath taking. However we have no idea what was causing it, but there was a CONSTANT variety of squeaking, whistling and creaking noises in the walls and ceiling that lasted the entire stay. They were bearable to start of with not really noticeable but became unbearable at night, had to go out and buy some earplugs.

The rooms. The room itself was very clean and a good size, good size TV, ironing board and iron (which by the way leaked water everywhere when used) plenty of draw space and gorgeous bathroom, but the room could use some maintenance like re-painting to cover up lots of scuff marks over the walls. The furniture was also a bit worn for a four star.

All in all a nice chilled out stay but a little disappointing. Maybe revise the prices to attract more people but I would stay here again just not in room 1604 as the noises were so irritating.

Room Tip: Not 1604 really noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

In the past year I have stayed at this hotel with my family (wife, 1yr old and 4 yr old) and always had a good experience. Any issues experienced have been quickly remedied. Requests made whilst making a booking have always been carried out ie extra towels

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Park Plaza Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Mandeep B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Lovely 1 night weekend stay, lovely room, great views, great bathroom. Service and staff was perfect. Breakfast was spot on with great choice and very helpful friendly staff. Reception staff very informative with areas to visit

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

My friend paid 110 pounds for our room whereas I had stayed at the near by Novotel for about half of that the previous week. I guess you are paying for the location which is right next to the station, shops, bars and restaurants. The 70's looking building feels dated and is slightly dark inside. Our room looked similar to a nice private hospital room I had stayed in a few months previously. On the plus side it was super clean and we slept well. My friend says he has heard good things about the bar and restaurant at the hotel but I did not have chance to try them. The check-in staff were pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Planetkimchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Great service on the desk as we arrived, the room was clean and comfortable with some nice touches and good decor. We had good views from the 11th floor. The bar was good, great service.

Breakfast was good also, lots of selection and again good service.

I'd stay again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank goluckypenfold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
The Queens - Leeds
#10 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,047 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#24 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds City Centre
Cosmopolitan Hotel
Cosmopolitan Hotel
#21 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Leeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Leeds

Property: Park Plaza Leeds
Address: Royal Exchange House Boar Lane | City Square, Leeds LS1 5NS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Leeds
#11 Family Hotel in Leeds
#19 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Leeds 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Plaza Leeds is a contemporary hotel in the heart of Leeds city centre, offering 187 guest rooms, modern function space, fitness suite, Scene! Lobby bar and the award-winning Chino Latino(R) Pan-Asian restaurant and cocktail bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Park Plaza Leeds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Leeds Hotel Leeds
Leeds Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing