We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst stay I have had in a hotel ever.”
Review of Jurys Inn Leeds

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jurys Inn Leeds
Ranked #20 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I came to Leeds Saturday just gone with two friends. One of my friends arrived there early and was told by a nice gentleman that the room was ready and that she could take the key as we had already pre-payed. My friend and I eventually arrived after being given the wrong directions by one of the reception staff. When we arrived I wasn't impressed by the first member of staff that greeted us. She wasn't smiling when I smiled at her, She was quite miserable and wasn't very helpful. I felt like we had annoyed her by being there. Then as she was struggling to find our 2nd reservation under another persons name (as we had booked two rooms originally for 6 people bearing in mind cancellations were non refundable but 3 of the party couldn't make it), The assistant manager came over to help. She confused and stressed us out by saying that we hadn't paid and that our freind who arrived earlier has paid for her room and now we have to pay for this one even though we had already paid 3 months ago and it stated it was a non refundable payment and the rooms will have been paid for. She then stated she needed us to prove that it had been paid and asked my friend who had organized the booking to give her the last 4 digits of the card to which it was paid by. To which my friend had to ring her partner to check this information,

The assistant manager advised that if it is a non refundable it would have been paid but because its not we have to pay for the room on arrival, which wasn't the case after she realized after looking at our paperwork, while my friend was on the phone the manager said very rudely to my friend it has been resolved if you come off the phone I can explain it to you. She said this twice to my friend which I found very very rude, after all she had asked my friend to confirm the the card number.

So basically what they had done is let my first friend go to her room assuming that she was the main named person who had booked the confirmation that wasn't under her name. The lady on reception did apologized for the stress this had caused. Then we realized when we went up to our rooms that they hadn't put us together and we were at other ends of the corridor.Then we couldn't get into our rooms as they key cards wouldn't always work.

The rest of the day / evening went well until we went to bed. All night from 12am until 6.30 am we heard teenagers coming back to their rooms being very noisy. Banging on doors asking to be let in. Which my other friend who stayed in the room on her own, was rudely woken up by a bunch of girls who had got the wrong room. Later on woken up again by a group of lads that were banging on their doors banging on their windows in their room shouting out the window. By this point my friend and I were pretty miffed off to say the least, We phoned down to reception to speak to the night manager called Tan, who very quickly responded to our request to ask them to be quiet.

We did complain to the main desk to find it was the same rude ladies from yesterday. They both were a lot nice and sincere this morning probably because they knew we were complaining. We suggested that they put the teenagers on one floor and the adults on another, as this ruined the rest of our day. The response to this answer was next time we would put you on a higher level and that anyone from the age of 18 can book an hotel room. We were also offered vouchers to stay again. I don't think I will ever be staying at any of the Jury Inn's, as most of their staff are RUDE and look down on you (Even the bloody house keeping!!!!) My friends and I will will be taking this further as we were looking forward to this weekend for months, to be treated like this and it wasn't exactly cheap and does not include breakfast. I have never had this problem before even staying at the Premier Inns. We also suggest that all staff members go on a customer service course, if my receptionist spoke to our customers the way we were spoken to she would have had a disciplinary!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgina w, Manager at Jurys Inn Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Dear Zoe T,

Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay at Jurys Inn Leeds.

I am very concerned that you did not have an enjoyable stay and am keen to discuss this with your further as soon as possible.

Please contact me on georgina_wylie@jurysinns.com. I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Kindest Regards,

Georgina Wylie
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,097)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,915 - 1,921 of 2,097 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2013

I have a bit of an ongoing complaint about Jury's but mainly the Birmingham one. Staff in Leeds were really polite and helpful. Lovely cooked breakfast. The bathrooms are ok but nothing special. I agree the the walls are paper thin with regard to noise. Very pleased the couple next to me had a great night but to hear every detail is too much.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgina w, Manager at Jurys Inn Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Richard N,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Jurys Inn Leeds. I am pleased to see you had an enjoyable stay, and hope we will be able to welcome you back again in the future.

If I can help you with anything else at all please do not hesitate to contact me on georgina_wylie@jurysinns.com.

Kind Regards,

Georgina Wylie
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

The hotel room was booked by the mother in law for mine and my partners birthday, found the hotel very quick and its a lovely hotel inside. Just we were waiting quite a while to check in (im a patient and understanding lady) and then found the staff member so rude once we got to the desk. There a misunderstanding and felt I was looked down apon.
Getting finally getting into the room we found it to be a great size, just what we had expected and was quite happy until we saw the size of the bed ! It was tiny, myself and partner arnt large people but we found it when we laid on the bed there wasn't a lot of room.
Leeds was a great night out, the hotel is in a great location, everything is walking distance.
We decided to go back to the hotel for a couple of drinks at the bar, the young Liverpool girl was lovely and she was making us relax and really enjoy our stay, at midnight we decided to go get some food (nothing on the jury's menu took our fancy even though was impressed they were still providing food) the Liverpool girl was helpful in telling us were to go, coming back we was rudely asked by a door staff if we were staying at the hotel and demanded to see our room key and wasn't polite at all.
Got back to the room and we didn't hear anything other people coming home from their nights out which was brilliant just a rubbish nights sleep due to the size of the bed, it wasn't even a double I don't think so meant we were awake from 5am,
Im not sure if I would like to stay again. . . . .

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisa b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgina w, Manager at Jurys Inn Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear lisa b,

Thank you for your review from your recent stay at Jurys Inn Leeds.

I have read through your feedback and am sorry to see you were not entirely satisfied with the stay. I am very sorry about that and would like to discuss it with you further.
Please contact me on georgina_wylie@jurysinns.com.

I look forward to hearing from you soon,

Kindest Regards,

Georgina Wylie
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Stayed at Jury's hotel on business, check in was painless and efficient, room was decent size plenty of room to move about, excellent view over city skyline (I was on 8th floor, and my room wasn't as noisy as colleagues who were lower down) Comfy bed which saw me drift off into a deep sleep. Ordered room service on my second night, was told it would be about 25mins it was nearly 50mins of a wait, but I can't fault the quality of the food.

Breakfast was fairly standard self service type, but on second morning the restaurant area was extremely busy as there was a coach party (which may explain delay with room service the previous evening)

Slight walk to the car park, I struggled a bit due to mobility issues and a
heavy case, but that's not exactly the hotel's fault.

All in all, a good centrally located hotel, reasonably priced, decent food and a clean comfy bed, what more do you want.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr_B_Kelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgina w, Manager at Jurys Inn Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Dear Mr_B_Kelly,

Thank you for your review from your recent stay at Jurys Inn Leeds.

I am pleased to see you enjoyed your stay but am sorry your soom service took longer than anticipated, I will be relaying your feedback to our Food and Beverage department. If you would like to discuss anything further please contaxct me on georgina_wylie@jurysinns.com.

I do hope we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel again.

Kind Regards,

Georgina Wylie
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Stayed here for 1 night whilst down in Leeds on business, room had a double and single bed and was comfortable and clean.

Only negative was the reception staff who were not very welcoming.

Would happily stay here again on future visits.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
Thank innes77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgina w, Manager at Jurys Inn Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear innes77,

Thank you for your review from your recent stay at Jurys Inn Leeds.

I am pleased to see you had a comfortable stay however, I am sorry to see your comments on our reception team.
I would like to assure you this will be fed back to the team directly and if you would like to discuss this further please contact me on georgina_wylie@jurysinns.com.

I hope we will be able to welcome you back again in the fututre.

Kindest Regards,

Georgina Wylie
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

we stayed here for my birthday arrived at 9 am asked to leave luggage they gave us room, which didn't have to, room was on floor 2 where stags and groups go , moved us to larger room on floor 10, so was very happy.........
large bathroom, comfortable room, nice view , very comfy bed so much so we slept in till 12-20 called reception as have to leave at 12....explained was hungover for birthday and they were fab-no probs def recommend. staff great and very helpful
5 mins from center so great location

Room Tip: lower 3 floors ar for groups , hens and stage- higher rooms for good sleep although we had no proble...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracey118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgina w, Manager at Jurys Inn Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear tracey118,

Thank you for your review from your recent stay at jurys Inn Leeds.

I am pleased to see you had an enjoyable stay and hope we will be able to welcome you back again in the future.

Kindest Regards,

Georgina Wylie
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

everything was spot on. Only downside was not enough parking available and i had to pay to park outside. breakfast was nice and varied and they even had quite a nice healthy selection.

Rooms were very clean

toilets were nice and clean but the bath was quite shallow and i couldn't quite fit in comfortably.
The view from my room was quite rubbish but central leeds isn't that nice to look at .

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saim7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgina w, Manager at Jurys Inn Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear sammy10101,

Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay at Jurys Inn Leeds.

I am pleased to see you had an enjoyable stay and hope we will be able to welcome you back again in the future.

Your sincerely,

Georgina Wylie
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Holbeck
Clayton Hotel Leeds
Clayton Hotel Leeds
#11 of 87 in Leeds
1,560 reviews
Ibis Leeds Centre
#33 of 87 in Leeds
1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
#10 of 87 in Leeds
2,087 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#23 of 87 in Leeds
2,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Leeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Leeds

Address: Kendell Street 9 | Brewery Place, Brewery Wharf, Leeds LS10 1NE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Price Range: £53 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Leeds 3*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Leeds has an ideal city centre location just 8 minutes walk from Central Train station and a 25 minute journey from Leeds Bradford International Airport. Leeds business district and its vibrant shopping and entertainment districts are within a short stroll from the hotel making Jurys Inn Leeds the best location for either business or leisure stays. The hotel features an all day Costa Coffee bar, a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. You can enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our trendy restaurant which is open from 6:30am to 10:00am for breakfast and 6:00pm to 10:00pm for dinner. If you are arriving by car, public car parking is available at Q Park Criterion Place, Town Centre, Car Parking at Armouries Drive or RC Parking on Hunslet Road. Our comfortable bedrooms can accommodate up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. All bedrooms are furnished with large comfortable beds, en-suite bathrooms with complimentary toiletries and a hair dryer, a flat screen TV with Freeview, and Free WiFi. Guests who book direct with us can enjoy Free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and also earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme Jurys Rewards. Enjoy a warm welcome, comfortable bedrooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to Leeds with Jurys Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Jurys Inn Leeds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Leeds Hotel Leeds
Jurys Hotel Leeds
Leeds Jurys Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing